We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Homestay in rural Vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Garden Homestay
Ranked #49 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Luxury Homestay in rural Vietnam”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a couple with 3 kids - 9,11 and 1.5 yrs. We stayed in the Stilt house which is a tribal communal house on raised platform retrofitted with glass windows and air cond. It was wonderfully decorated with tribal paraphernalia. The beds were placed on the carpeted floor and each sleeping space partitioned off by curtains from the next so be warned - there is very little privacy! Fortunately we were the only group there at that time so we had run of the house. Bathrooms (2) are off to one side and is fitted with glass shower area, WC and very clean. There are other living options in different types of houses. Check out their website. And the dining area is a 200 yrs old wooden church transplanted from another town beam by beam! Fans of architecture will have a whale of a time here although purist may turn their noses at the haphazard way these buildings have been set next to one another. I am just glad I don't have to trudge through the whole of Vietnam to see these.
This place is priced to include 3 sq meals, various activities and guides. We only had to pay extra for the drinks and the laundry. Overall, it worked out to be a very cheap luxury stay. And the staff did their outmost to see that we had all that we needed. Communication in English can be a problem but that is the case in most places in Vietnam.
Our aim was to learn more about rural Vietnam and its people and it was achieved here. And the great thing is after a day of trampling in dirt paths and occasional mud, we come back to clean beds, warm baths and a good meal. Food served is traditional Vietnamese but they did make a batch of fries for my kids who had fast food withdrawal.
Note this is not a resort even though it is decorated like a resort. Don't expect butler service, there is no activity after sundown and no bar. Only beer and limited wine. Service is provided with a lot of sincerity and that is something I appreciate.
On hindsight, the countryside in summer is not a great place to bring a toddler but we survived and now the locals have a new phrase - Crazy Tourists! - after my cycling tour with a hatless toddler in a child carrier (she had refused to wear a hat!)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HuiBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you are after luxury then this place is for you. They accommodate and cater from singles/couples right up to large groups. The staff are warm and will ensure that you enjoy your stay without being too intrusive to private/quiet time. Our days were scheduled well, not too crowded and allowed time for quiet reflection within the manicured gardens at Moon Garden. This is a place you just don't want to leave. Don't expect it to be a homestay in the literal meaning of the word as it is far more luxurious than the average Vietnamese home, however you could imagine several families or perhaps a large family pulling their resources and creating something similar, perhaps not quite as grand. Despite this, the staff certainly endeavor to treat you like family, and ensure your stay is your finest in Vietnam.
A few people have mentioned uncomfortable beds, personally I found them more comfortable than what I sleep on at home. If you're used to cushy western mattresses they you'll likely find them a little hard, but I loved them.
Plenty to see and do around Ky Son. If you have children, or even if you don't, try heading to the temple in Ky Son village which doubles as an orphanage. Take a seat in the garden and watch the people for a while, and if you look friendly enough you'll likely be approached by the most interesting and friendly orphans that make the temple their home. The two we met were well versed in English but were initially shy about it.

Room Tip: You pay for what you get here, but if you think you'd like more luxury then book a more expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _ashram77_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caylus, France
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I echo previous comments. This really was a highlight of the holiday, especially the bike ride to local villages. But the beds...aaagh the beds. There's more give in concrete. Everything else was perfect...cooking course, a buddhist ceremony, the food, fishing, the care and attention of the staff, even exercising at 07.30 in the morning. They have created a home from home, but of course it isn't a homestay, unless you think everyone lives in 5* comfort!

Room Tip: Bring an air bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHard2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Elegant restoration work, beautiful grounds, gorgeous rooms. Good food, fantastic staff, guides, biking to old temples. Not a real home stay - more an elegant inn unless you shay in Stilt House which is like a pretty dormitory Once we saw it we switched to a house and loved our stay
Definitely a Vietnam must

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The moon garden homestay was great, except for the bed. We couldn't sleep at all because the beds were so firm. Everything else was wonderful - the food, the people, the accommodations, the bikes, the tours. If the beds had just a little cushion, it would have been a great stay. I understand that the Vietnamese prefer very firm beds, or prefer to sleep on wood slats. Not me, I prefer a little bid of padding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

You simply have to visit the Moon Garden if you go to Vietnam. Apart from the rather firm matress absolutely everything else was faultless. We had a cooking class, bike ride to a local village and a fishing trip where we ate what we caught! The food was absolutely amazing both in presentation and flavour as well as being some of the best we had in the whole of our two weeks in the country.

The rooms where stunning - traditionally styled in polished mahogany and the rose petals on the bed when we arrived were a lovely touch.

The staff we met were the most friendly and genuine people we met during our time in Vietnam. English was spoken well by two members of staff which was all that was necessary. Our guide lived in the local village so we went to his house for tea with his wife on our tour.

We stayed for two nights which was a perfect relaxing start to our holiday. As luck would have it we ended up there by default as our accommodation in Mai Chau wasn't available. I will always be thankful for that!

Room Tip: I'm not sure of the number but we had a beautiful room facing the paddy fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topaz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Moon Garden is a great place to relax - a perfect first stop in Vietnam to recover from jet lag. The staff are all quite friendly and attentive. There is not much English spoken (one staffer is proficient in French) but it is such a well-oiled machine with well-planned activities for guests (a short cooking class, some quiet pole-fishing, biking through neighboring villages), that there is little need for better communication. All modern amenities are available (wi-fi, cable tv) and the food, oh the food! Come hungry because the meals are plentiful. The mattresses and pillows are quite firm, and the rooms are well-appointed with Vietnamese decor.
If there's any chance of rain, best to bring a book, because you will have little else to do during bad weather. But it's so relaxing, it's a great place to just unwind and get away from the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
28.0 mi away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#219 of 586 in Hanoi
13 reviews
24.3 mi away
Luxeden Hotel
Luxeden Hotel
#238 of 586 in Hanoi
25 reviews
28.4 mi away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#340 of 586 in Hanoi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Ping Hotel
Ping Hotel
#217 of 586 in Hanoi
28 reviews
28.2 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
26.2 mi away
Lake Side Hotel
Lake Side Hotel
#403 of 586 in Hanoi
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Garden Homestay

Property: Moon Garden Homestay
Address: Ky Son village | Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon Garden Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you really care about Vietnamese culture and want to experience yourself the life of a traditional Hanoian, this is really the tour you can not afford to miss. Here comes a uniquely exciting tour for you to explore the true beauty of ancient Hanoi.A perfect place for family stay, weekend holidays and anyone who is in a big love with countryside and wants to get a real taste of Vietnam rural daily life and culture.Moon Garden HomeStay is located in Ky Son Village, Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi, Vietnam. It is 55 km far from Hanoi Center and 4 km from Duong Lam Ancient Village and Mia Pagoda. There are two types of wooden houses in which:- 4 Ancients Wooden houses which are elegantly and comfortably restored with 8 rooms privately. - 1 Wooden House on Stilt - a Pile dwelling, typical house restored elegantly and comfortably which is a shared big house of 9 shared rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Moon Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing