We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money in French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Boutique Hotel
Ranked #370 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money in French Quarter”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a small hotel located in the French Quarter. It's about 5min walk from the Opera House, and 15 - 20min to the Old town.
We stayed here for 4 nights altogether, and found the room to be big and spacious, and very tidy. The rooms we stayed had balcony to the outside, a nice addition to standard hotel rooms where you're enclosed behind a glass window.
We found the location to be fairly convenient, lots of nice cafes and restaurants within 5min walking distance.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was basic, but I would save it to eat a traditional Pho Bo on the street instead.
The only negative is there was something wrong with the hot water when we stayed, the water was lukewarm, and went cold after 5min, hopefully that's been fixed now.

Overall, the stay was pleasant, we had a room facing the back street for the first 3 nights, then a room facing the main street when we came back for one last night. I would suggest try getting the front facing rooms, as currently there is a building being constructed next door, and may be too much for those who are noise sensitive. Both sides had a nice outlook tothe city if you are high up.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank send2phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Although the location is not central to the main hustle of Hanoi, it is not a long walk to anywhere central. The rooms are excellent for the price, light, modern and well equipped. The bathroom is a wet-room with shower and large jacuzzi tub.
Breakfast is simple, mostly local fare but with option of continental, bacon and eggs. Staff are friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without windows. Ask for an upgrade if possible to windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoalfaceFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Really friendly and helpful staff although only a couple of them speak good english. A couple of times we had trouble not being understood and they phoned Thai (the Manager) I presume at home which I didn't like. We booked all but one of our tours through the hotel. Excellent tours! Breakfast had everything we needed. Buffet style. We dined in regularily for dinner though the menu got quite boring but boy was it cheap! Quite a distance to walk to the Old quarter. Tea was our drink of choice as the coffee was very hard to go down. I can't fault the hotel for cleanliness and for giving the best service to us that was possible taking into account the language differences. I would recommend people stay here if they don't mind being a distance from town. (and walking was quite hard. Footpaths lined with scooters and people) We stayed here 8 nights.

Room Tip: On arrival were taken to our room. Really disappointed as was enough room for the extremely HARD bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaBOPnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Location of this hotel is convenient for tourists to explore areas around Hoan Kiem Lake which is a tourist area. We stayed in a superior room on the third floor which does not have a window. There are only three rooms per floor. The nicer ones are those fronting the strret. Rooms in the middle area are quite small but bed sheets are clean including toilet. Basic amenities provided like hair dryer, safe, bath robes, coffee-tea thermo, free bottled water, and of course wi-fi in the room. Breakfast is buffet but not so much choices. We stayed for three nights and breakfast menu are much the same everyday except for the fruits. Reception desk staff are attentive and helpful but most of all can speak & understand English which proves to be very helpful.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stay at this hotel if you are willing to walk to the tourist spots or take a taxi.
We stayed here over Christmas.

Room: We took the deluxe room for USD66 (including service & VAT). The standard/superior rooms are much cheaper but smaller & without windows. Deluxe room was attractive with a jacuzzi tub but however, the shower was not very practical. Once you use the shower the whole floor bathroom will be wet. But overall, the room was nice and new with a small balcony.

Service: We did not use any of their tour service. However we did order some room service from their restaurant and have to say it needs improvement. Club sandwich was ok but fries were over-fried and cafe latte tasted terrible (definitely not a cafe latte). Well, the nearby restaurants have much better food.

When we wanted to pay our bill, the receptionist wanted to charge us for 4 days stay when we only stayed for 3 nights. She was quite persistent and said because we checked in before 2pm... we arrived earlier and another receptionist allowed us to check in at 10am as the room was available. I had to ask to speak to the manager over the phone to solve this.

Breakfast was nothing to shout for. We opted to eat out after the first morning.

Room Tip: You will want to take the deluxe room as the standard/superior rooms are small and have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glogurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have come back home from our trip in Hanoi now and completed our stay with Silver Hotel. While the room was great and the balcony absolutely beautiful, we have a few complaints that have made us very disappointed:

1. We arrived in the evening and the hot water was not working all the time we were in the hotel. We were unable to take a bath or even a shower because the water was too cold and when we informed your receptionist at night that we had no hot water, she told us that it was too late to call the engineer to fix the problem. We were unable to clean ourselves the whole time we were at the hotel because the water was cold.

2. we asked for a wakeup call in the morning because we had an early flight back to Singapore, but there was no call in the morning

3. we asked if we could bring our breakfast up to our balcony in the morning, and while your receptionist said ok when we checked in, we were unable to order and only told the next day we had to come down because it was a buffet breakfast

4. we asked to call for a taxi twice and were ignored and almost missed our flight as a consequence.

While we liked the location and room layout, it is unlikely we will return or even recommend the hotel to our friends or fellow travellers as the level of service and standard is simply too low. There are a lot of better hotels in Hanoi in our opinion. This is a real disappointment and we truly hope that you will consider improving their standards for their own sake, and for the sake of the people that choose to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have come back home from our trip in Hanoi now and completed our stay with Silver Hotel. While the room was great and the balcony absolutely beautiful, we have a few complaints that have made us very disappointed:

1. We arrived in the evening and the hot water was not working all the time we were in the hotel. We were unable to take a bath or even a shower because the water was too cold and when we informed your receptionist at night that we had no hot water, she told us that it was too late to call the engineer to fix the problem. We were unable to clean ourselves the whole time we were at the hotel because the water was cold.

2. we asked for a wakeup call in the morning because we had an early flight back to Singapore, but there was no call in the morning

3. we asked if we could bring our breakfast up to our balcony in the morning, and while your receptionist said ok when we checked in, we were unable to order and only told the next day we had to come down because it was a buffet breakfast

4. we asked to call for a taxi twice and were ignored and almost missed our flight as a consequence.

While we liked the location and room layout, it is unlikely we will return or even recommend the hotel to our friends or fellow travellers as the level of service and standard is simply too low. There are a lot of better hotels in Hanoi in our opinion. This is a real disappointment and we truly hope that you will consider improving their standards for their own sake, and for the sake of the people that choose to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lapis Hotel
The Lapis Hotel
#167 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Syloia Hotel
De Syloia Hotel
#185 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
May de Ville City Centre
May de Ville City Centre
#188 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#84 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Boutique Hotel

Property: Silver Boutique Hotel
Address: 45 Phan Chu Trinh, Hoan Kiem | Hoan Kiem District - Opera House, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Boutique Hotel is the new 3 star hotel with international standard in Hanoi. Hotel furnishes clean and modern wooden floor, comfortable pillow and mattress, working lamp and desk, fridge, separate. Located in the French Quarter, from the hotel it takes only 5 minutes to Opera House, 7 minutes to Hoan Kiem Lake, Water puppet Theatre and the famous Old Quarter. All the rooms offer you Plasma TV 32 or 42 inches, Jacuzzi bathtub (except superior room) and massage standing shower. Especially the Silver house is equipped fabulous bathtub, private garden with coffee table. The large and modern elevator with 12 pax occupancy to all floors helps you save time and is convenient. Silver Hotel provides the comfortable accommodation, stunning city's life and completely quiet accommodation.Bussinessman. The Silver Hotel takes you home away from home through the friendly and well-training of our staff and professional of our service. Our 24h reception, concierge and customer care staff are always willing to meet up your inquiries. Our hotel also offers a variety of services including travel desk, business center, airport transfer, housekeeping, laundry, breakfast buffet, car rental, ticketing, etc. Silver Hotel is the best choice whether you are a traveller or bussinessman ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing