We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Dragon Pearl Junks

Dragon Pearl Junks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Halong Dragon Pearl Junk is a brand new Chinese wooden junk crewed by a professional, loyal and dedicated team. Spread over 3 decks she has 11 en-suite fully equipped cabins, a bar with soft seating and plasma TV, gourmet restaurant, outside dining area and sundeck Come onboard The Halong Dragon Pearl Junk . Be charmed by her exquisite luxury, intimate setting and unrivaled home from home service. An unforgettable way to witness the serene, calm setting of Halong Bay's exceptional natural beauty.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent one night on the Dragon Pearl 3 , staff were absolutely lovely, so friendly and accommodating. Phuc (happy) our hostess was very friendly and knowledgeable about Halong Bay. A young fellow who is nicknamed Harry Potter did a delightful magic show for us after dinner , it was a really lovely little touch to the evening. unfortunately for us the weather was freezing and quite miserable which heavily impacted on what I believe would have been an amazing overnight cruise. Would defiantly recommend Dragon pearl 3 if you decide to book with Indochine Cruises.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shellie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    23
    2
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beware of bait and switch”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'm not sure why there so many great reviews of Dragon Pearl. My only explanation is that the company changed owners and that it's different now? Regardless, all 14 people who took the Dragon Pearl cruise that I was on agreed that it was a crappy experience.

1. Bait and switch - the agency where we booked pushed her company's boat - the Dragon Pearl. She showed us a picture of a nice, clean deluxe boat with a full Sunderland with over 10 lounge chairs. When we got to the boat, it was not at all like the picture. The sun deck was tiny and only has two lounge chairs. The 14 of us all squeezed around and shared those two lounge chairs. The plus is that we got to know each other a lot better :) they had also said to some of the people that there would be free wifi - there wasn't wifi. They told someone else there would be kayaking and swimming every day - there wasn't. I asked the tour guide about all these discrepancies and he just shrugged apologetically and said that this is what his company does, but you are still getting to see Halong Bay.

2. Poor sleeping quarters - the bed was actually firm and comfortable, but besides that, the sheets were pilly, stained and had rips. The shower was not separate from the toilet so we did not end up showering. The worst part for me was smelling the exhaust from the engine in our room. Everyone complained of the same thing so it wasn't just our room. I felt like my lungs were clogged just from a few hours.

3. Not the same route they promised - the agency showed us a long route that the boat would go on, but in actuality we only made a small loop around Halong Bay (probably so they could save on gas).

4. Not enough food - they squeezed more people on the bait than there were sleeping quarters so for the first couple of meals, there wasn't enough food and breakfast the next day was just toast and bananas.

5. Different prices for everyone - everyone on the boat shared how much they paid for the 2 day, 1 night trip. A few people paid $65, two paid $90, two paid $80, one paid $100. So you can definitely bargain them down.

All in all, very disappointed in the trip, but especially with the dishonesty. The silver lining? Halong Bay is beautiful and we did meet some great people on the trip. I have a snap shot of the business card of this company so I can send if you want.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
16 Thank BeachieCA05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING experience!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Honestly can not rate this cruise high enough, spend a bit more and go for a few days of luxury in the most serene location, staff were so great Joe lead our tour and he was just so much fun and made the trip so enjoyable for us and the crew were fantastic. Knows the area very well. Was so nice to not be in the wake of all the other junks in the harbour only a few other junks were around us at any time and from the same company. Dinner in the cave was an experience of a life time! (They gave us a special gift as we were there on our honeymoon). We also had an amazing group with us so meet so many nice people! Highly recommended! PS FOOD the best we had in Vietnam!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We recently booked a trip to Halong bay.

We chose Dragon pearl with Indochina junks and had a great time. The bay itself was beautiful not too crowded and no rubbish anywhere. The boat was fantastic and the food on board far exceeded our expectations. I believe we were on dragon pearl number 3 our guide's name was Phoc (sorry for the mis spelling), she was very helpful and well informed. All the other staff were very friendly and Harry potter (a staff member who did a little show after dinner) always smiled and had us in tears of laughter.

Do not hesitate to book this cruise.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice And Spacious Room”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The cruise has its own itinerary, different from most of cruises in Ha Long bay. So you will enjoy going on it. The Food is very nice and amazing. the roof is very nice for relaxing. there's a carving of fruit in the morning activity, only that it doesn't have activity on the night. we did meditate at night and its very great with the sound of the sea. This classic junk is ideal for parties for larger groups (up to 20 people) or even incentive groups. definitely return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ezharuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Pearl Junks also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Tuan Chau Island, Halong Bay
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to Dragon Pearl Junks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing