We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and cleanliness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camel City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camel City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Location and cleanliness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of Hanoi, close to the lake, the theater and so on. It was very very clean and the room they assigned us was very pretty, very well decorated and comfortable.
They can be a bit pushy about tours, true, but try to use that in your favour because you can actually get better prices than on the internet (much better) and, for instance, I paid a standard room but because I bought a tour to Tam coc with them they upgraded me to an excellent room.
I also use their cleaning service that was cheap, good and efficient. The breakfast was decent, but in Vietnam one should eat in the street. They were kind enough to keep my big backpack while I went to Sapa for a few days and then returned there. After returning from Sapa at 6 am they allowed me to check-in, which was very good.
Other tahn being a little bit pushy for tours, the staff is actually nice if you manage to be friendly and make a few jokes with them.
We booked airport pick-up, a driver was waiting for us and the service was cheap.
Considering that the wife and I paid 17 euros with breakfast included I have to say that it was overall an excellent experience.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank João A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    147
    40
    16
    17
See reviews for
56
208
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in budget hotels our whole trip and this was my least favourite. from the moment we walked in the door, clearly exhausted from our day of travelling, the staff tried to sell us tours. Now this is quite normal in Vietnam but we felt like we couldn't even go to our room, we would have been happy if he just gave us some quick info about the tours but found him very pushy. I was travelling with my fiancé and also felt the male staff members would barely even say hello to me as I was female and just started speaking with my partner and totally ignored the fact I was there. The wifi didn't work in our room on the 5th floor. Also there was loud mechanical noises coming from the loft above us throughout our second night there so we hardly got any sleep. They stopped the machine when we called reception but it started up again later in the night. They apologised but thought they might compensate us in some way. The room was stuffy and damp smelling- i dont believe we were given the superior suite we booked and paid for. The breakfast was good but that was about the only thing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Meggsyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights here, after randomly choosing it first night I arrived Hanoi. I immediately fell in love with my french style looking room. Also, staff working there is really kind, easy going and funny. Its clear they really like to work there, because they were there all the time! Sometimes I wondered do they sleep at all. (Later other guest told me that hotel is family bussines)

Anyway, if U want to have nice hospitality in original interior, also in a very good location - close to anything, but enough far of Old quarter nightlife - this is your place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mudrinjo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location of the hotel was fantastic! The driver they got picked us up from the airport with no problems at all. The hotel staff was so helpful and friendly, it made getting around easy. We dod have a loudspeaker next to our room that was dome kind of propaganda newspaper at 7:00am. We use a sleep ap, but we were up anyway, so we just found it funny.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

You could be in a small hotel in the quarter Montparnesse and pay about 150.00$ a night.
Or you stay here, and pay 18.00 for the same thing.
The hotel was built by the French probably in the 1920s- and then renovated by different owners over the years. But the bones of the hotel are the same: great winding marble staircases with old wooden banisters, high ceilings, wood furniture, good beds and as quiet at night as a dream in space. With
breakfast included. And attentive and great staff.
For my money, this is where I want to be. And I'd come back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank esteban55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Rooms are very clean. The interior is quite charming and staff is helpful and friendly. The owner speaks english fluently and is very helpful when it comes to giving directions.
Our breakfast was good as well. The price is unbeatable. I would always come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Decent place with reasonable rooms (clean, comfortable, secure) for the price although shower left a little to be desired. The breakfast wasn't up to much but not a huge issue given everything you've got in the vicinity (and especially the street food!). Friendly staff who will book tours, train tickets, etc. for you. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#4 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#12 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel City Hotel

Property: Camel City Hotel
Address: 08/50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camel City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on No 8/50 Dao Duy Tu Lane, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi Old Quarter – 1000 years old, is one of the best place for leisure& Business Traveler. Camel City hotel is between the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the traditional Dong Xuan night market. Only foot steps away to many famous attractions such as Ngoc Son Temple, the Opera House, the Water puppet Theater, the Temple of literature, the Vietnamese Art Museum, and St. Joseph's Catholic Church etc,...With a total of 30 quality rooms are well making up according to international standard. Standing shower are also available in the room, and bathtub are also in deluxe and suite room. Non-smoking rooms are also available, harmonious decoration. Tourists will feel very warm and comfortable when they are staying here. Equipped facilities, modern, including: air-conditioners , computers with high-speed Internet access (WiFi), Satellite TV, TV LCD 32 " , fridge, and standing shower etc,...The staff at the hotel will be delighted to help you, and assist you to offer a staying without worry about nothing and you will feel like at your home.For your traveling and your business solution as well, Camel City Hotel is definitely the good choice whenever your arrive in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camel City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing