We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excexcellent price for stay”
Review of Camel City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camel City Hotel
Ranked #25 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tokyo
2 reviews
“Excexcellent price for stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and my friend stayed together here for a night.
It was cheap but a fine stay. It ứa right in the centre of the city, which made the access to everything very easy. Fortunately, our bike rental place ứa right around the corner. Also they knew a place to kêp our bikes overnight for 5000 VND. It ứa good all in all.
Hanoi í full of vigor, and ì you`re looking for a place to stay with a friend, ít a good bet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saigonhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    148
    41
    16
    17
See reviews for
58
213
98
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed in May for four nights. This is a clean well located budget hotel with decent staff. Situated in the old quarter close to everything. The owner/manager and his wife are a lovely couple & very helpful. The room size was spacious. We booked our Halong Bay tour through them. The manager took time going though the options with us and was fair with the price negotiations. Halong Bay was a great experience. All in all we found this to be a basic clean and reasonable hotel. This place is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was my second trip to Hanoi, but this time it was after a much longer stay and travel through other parts of Vietnam. Too much traveling can wear you out, so I spent most of my time lounging around the hotel. It was quite comfortable. I spent about a week in the area and after a day or two the place began to feel like home, but cleaner! The hotel staff are super friendly and seem to know how to find just about anything.

They have very good recommendations. I don't drink but they convinced me to go to a bar around 9:30pm when the live music starts (I ordered coffee). That was one of the most fascinating experiences I've ever had; to see an amazing violinist, talented band, and well respected older man lead the whole bar in a classic Vietnamese song.

Thank you Camel City Hotel! I don't understand your name, but if I need another vacation from my vacation, I know a place of peace and quiet I can stay for cheap, with breakfast included, and a staff that is more like a family (the kind that doesn't hate each other).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerkrade
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our stay in Vietnam and Hanoi was a succes, also because we had a nice "home" to return to.
First a friendly pickup at the airport, then after 3 weeks motorbiking in the north, we felt we came home. At the hotel we booked a travel to Halong Bay and again we came home.
In the middle of the old quarter everything is almost arrond the corner.
We (a group of 4) surely recommand Camel City Hotel !

Room Tip: the cityview room was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douwe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location of this place is great, in the middle of the action! The staff is helpful and friendly, they organised our trip to Halong Bay which was the highlight of our Vietnam trip! The boat was very nice and comfortable with great food options!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekyButerfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

They did everything to help us, like booking trips for a good price. Once, we arrived at 5AM in Hanoi. We went to Camel City and they gave us the possibility to sleep a few hours and to have breakfast for free!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruudmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Gully Road, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Ok- we stayd here a few years when it was the Indochina Hotel ago now again with new owners and manager group.

Same funky but neat, clean and very well appointed but fully tidied up $25 a night large double bed freezing aircon room with all channels TV, great people watching balcony and a good fridge in a totally central and quiet lane with everything an inch away. Including very good morning soup and all day coffee. 2 minutes walk from 'Beer Corner'.The main dude downstairs is great and so are all his comrades, English very fine, but the issue arises in down times. The facilities are just fine but they unleash the families children upon them outside of school hours which was cute 10 years ago but is bloody annoying today. When you go downstairs for the computer you should not have to chase off squealing 8 year olds in 2013. No key slip power control for your room - you decide what to leave on and turn off. AC off, fridge on. Fine laundry service, airport options at a significant discount to market rates and very reliable and an old and reliable connection to a reputable street level travel agency, Flamingo Travel. The place was safe - we left valuables in the room all the time, lots of local neighborhood flavour to the stay, absolutely no hard sell for tours and the like though all arrangements available, very popular breakfast with other western travelers and the feel of an old Ha Noi family home to a fair extent. We'd happily stay there again - for our 13th Ha Noi visit - if they sorted out the downstairs facilities experience in the evening. If you're not to fussy as us 55 year olds give them a go!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#10 of 604 in Hanoi
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Little Hanoi Diamond Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi 3B Hotel
Hanoi 3B Hotel
#7 of 604 in Hanoi
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Gate 1 Hotel
Hanoi Gate 1 Hotel
#30 of 604 in Hanoi
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel City Hotel

Property: Camel City Hotel
Address: 08/50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camel City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on No 8/50 Dao Duy Tu Lane, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi Old Quarter – 1000 years old, is one of the best place for leisure& Business Traveler. Camel City hotel is between the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the traditional Dong Xuan night market. Only foot steps away to many famous attractions such as Ngoc Son Temple, the Opera House, the Water puppet Theater, the Temple of literature, the Vietnamese Art Museum, and St. Joseph's Catholic Church etc,...With a total of 30 quality rooms are well making up according to international standard. Standing shower are also available in the room, and bathtub are also in deluxe and suite room. Non-smoking rooms are also available, harmonious decoration. Tourists will feel very warm and comfortable when they are staying here. Equipped facilities, modern, including: air-conditioners , computers with high-speed Internet access (WiFi), Satellite TV, TV LCD 32 " , fridge, and standing shower etc,...The staff at the hotel will be delighted to help you, and assist you to offer a staying without worry about nothing and you will feel like at your home.For your traveling and your business solution as well, Camel City Hotel is definitely the good choice whenever your arrive in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camel City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing