We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #249 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Ms Tran and her staff are exceptionally helpful, friendly and speak English. Free airport pickup because we booked online. Staff personally escorted us to our night train to Sapa, avoiding the 'ticket scams' we'd previously experienced. Also met us on our return at 5am and provided a room to rest/shower in before own rooms were available. Superbly located next to St Joseph's Cathedral and in close proximity to excellent restaurants, cafes, bank and other shopping. Upgraded to large honeymoon room 401 with balcony overlooking cathedral - bells were not a problem. Balcony large enough for group to gather on for drinks. Having a computer in the room was very convenient. Breakfast selection was good and included in tariff - thoroughly enjoyed the freshly brewed lemon tea with ginger and honey. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 401 honeymoon room is very spacious with large bathroom (shower, bath, toilet, basin). Excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brontebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    27
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
71
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We just stayed in the Sping II Hotel and we are planning to go back! Great service from the airport pick-up to the organization of our trips. We got back from our Sapa trip at 5AM and while most of our fellow trip passengers had to wait for check in. They offered us a room to sleep and shower in - for free - until our room was ready. Good breakfast, nice staff, well organised travel agency.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boukje N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Highly recommended for the outstanding service by all staff. Their English was great and nothing was too difficult for them to organise - staff accompanied us to the station to ensure we got the right tickets and carriage to Sapa thus avoiding ticket 'scams'. They were extremely helpful with prices we should pay for transport costs and any other requests. Superb central location in old quarter, clean, and lower floors easier to access. Breakfast was included and reasonably priced twin share rooms. Every room had a laptop which enabled us to use skype and email in the room. Great value for money for 5 nights stay.

Room Tip: If you are very 'noise' sensitive take earplugs but remember you are in the old quarter &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I just stayed in the Spring hotel. The location is great. It is right behind the Cathedral and so it is easy (as long as you don't mind dodging motorbikes!) to walk to all the sites. We walked and say everything in Hanoi from our hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they all spoke great English. The room was clean and even had a computer in case you wanted to check out the Internet. The morning breakfast (included with the room) was also delicious.

I would go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel has been very good to us, they are very friendly and helpful but not overly obstrusive, we arranged our transfers to and from the airport as well as train tickets and accomadation in Sapa. All was done very smoothly with no pressure to book tours etc. Our room was also very nice, we are travelling with 2 young children and had the family suite which was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The only downside to our room was the cathedral bells that go off very loudly at 5AM however this is apparently only an issue if you are in a cathedral view room ( which we were). Other than the proximity to noisy church bells the location is fantastic, right in the heart of all the action in the old quarter but on a relativley quiet side street. All in all, I would highly reccomend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HobartBear40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sping2, Manager at Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Spring Hotel II,
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to Vietnam. We would like to thank you for choosing for Hanoi Spring Hotel II as the place to stay. We thank you for your kind comments. We are really happy to know you have enjoyed your trip with our services. And especially loved our breakfasts, we will make to the most use of your comments to continuously improve our services and facilities.
The hotel had installed soundproof windows. Often on Sunday or special event, people ring the bell at 5am about 3minutes. I am very sorry to hear that church bells have bothered you.
All in all , thank you for recommending us to your entourage, and we are looking forward to welcome you and your son here again.
With kind regards, Hanoi Spring Hotel II
General Manager
Ms Tran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The good:
Central location in the old quarter, quiet street - from our room at the back of the building couldn't even hear the sunrise church bells from the Cathedral which was very close by, good breakfast, great laundry service, staff very helpful organising airport transfers and taxis.


The bad:
No elevator, door to balcony didn't properly seal, a strange smell in the pillows (the linen was clean but the pillows themselves need to be replaced), loud air conditioner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sping2, Public Relations Manager at Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Warmest greetings from Hanoi Spring Hotel 2!
We were proud to be at your service during your visit to Hanoi. We would like to thank you for choosing for Hanoi Spring Hotel 2 as the place to stay.

We thank you for your comments, these are very valuable to us. We will make to the most use of them to continuously upgrade our services and facilities. Please accept our apologies for our no elevator and that it did not meet your needs. We apologies for any inconvenience caused to you by the loud air conditioner, strange smell in the pillows. Our housekeeping manager and I myself will keep an eye on these problems. Our engineering team has rechecked the air conditioner and after that the conditioner fan was made clean. It is good now. We haven't had any similar complaints but we would like to thank you for pointing it out, and we will keep monitoring it. We hope you consider staying with us again, we would be more then happy to prove you our upgrades.

With kind regards,
General Manager
Ms Tran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel was recommended to us, and I would recommend so highly. Book direct, Miss Tran will organise airport transfers, tours and for anything at all you need, this delightful young lady will look after you. We plan to travel to Sapa next year, and will have Miss Tran organise everything for us. The rooms in this 'location, location' hotel are superb, with all you need including a laptop in your room!! Why stay anywhere else??
We were two married couples and myself and the rooms, rates, brerakfast and personal attention was just fabulous.

Room Tip: Depending on your fitness, first floor for wanting to get fitter - top floor for determined to get f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EstherDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel
Cinnamon Hotel
#99 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#45 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.0 mi away
Joseph's Hotel
Joseph's Hotel
#38 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Cathedral Hotel
Address: 38 Au Trieu Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2010, The Hanoi Spring Hotel is conveniently located in the very heart of the charming historic Hanoi Old Quarter. Our hotel is situated in a quiet peaceful street which offers you a perfect retreat from the vibrant and buzzing Old Quarter. All shopping and banking facilities, as well as eating and entertainment options are located conveniently on our doorstep or just a few minutes walk away. The Rising Dragon Hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing stay in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing