We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value clean hotel with very helpful staff”
Review of Prestige Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prestige Hotel
Ranked #279 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great value clean hotel with very helpful staff”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked the Presige Hotel since we were arriving in Hanoi late and leaving arly on a Halong Bay cruise. The hotel was minutes from the pick up so we thought we would try it. Before we arrived i was a bit concerned that the hotel would be very basic but I was pleasantly surprised. The Staff were delightful, they could not do enough. The room was perfectly adequate and spotless. We ordered room service and the food was not great but edible. I cant comment on the location but it was ideal for us.

Remember this is not a 5 star Luxury resort hotel, if you want one of those you will pay four times the price. however if you are looking for a quality budget hotel this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    65
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
39
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel rooms more of the standard hotel size, bathroom is roomy with a separate shower. The only downfall is that the carpet in the rooms could have been steam cleaned to remove past stains.

Staff are friendly and try to assist with your every need. The bar staff could not cope with a group of 15 quickly but we were on holidays so it was not an issue.

Pool on the roof too is vey small but in winter we didn't use it or the pool bar.

Location is fairly close to the old city quarter. Breakfast buffet has a broad range of fresh food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Just left Prestige and on the road now to a different city. Location wise, this is a good hotel although I wouldnt really know how far this hotel is from major tourist destinations as I am joining a tour group. I just know that it is pretty near the spots.

Room is clean and has the usual needed amenities. My room didnt have a view but its okay. Elevator service was acceptable. Stayed in floor number 4. Pillows and beddinga were clean. Water pressure is great! Bathroom is more suitable for couples because it has glass walls visie from the room.

Breakfast is just okay. Nothing special. I didnt find anything delicious.

One of our tourmates lost his room key. Be warned that they charge 6usd for lost keys. It might be because they utilize rfid tech. Not the usual insert keycard access type.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheftonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,788 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Perhaps I was expecting too much from Prestige, considering some of the very positive recent reviews. As a result, my stay there was generally disappointing.

The best thing about Prestige is the staff. From top to bottom, the staff are friendly, attentive and helpful. No complaints there.

Some aspects of the rooms are also nice. The amenities provided are quite good; free bottled water is provided; flat-screen TVs are new and sharp and the channel selections are excellent. Complimentary fruit and wifi appreciated. A good functioning room safe useful. And the beds and linens are very comfortable -- might even say luxurious.

But, there are also lots of flaws in the rooms. As noted by several other reviewers, the glass partition between the sleeping area and the bathrooms is weird (although shades can be pulled down to minimize the effect). The room I was assigned was rather small, with a small closet and no drawers for socks, underwear, and other small items of clothes. The carpet was dirty and had burn marks in a couple of places. The furniture was somewhat cheap and poor quality; the desk chair in my room nearly collapsed under me when I leaned back in it. Worst of all, was a very unpleasant odor in the shower -- not just musty, but more of an ugly sewer smell. Not pleasant at all!

The complimentary breakfast offerings were good, with a reasonable selection, but inconsistent. The morning of the first day I stayed, the bacon was perfect, but succeeding days, the quality went down dramatically. The omelet I had one morning was pretty good, but didn't include the onions I had asked for, and they had no mushrooms to include (how can you make good omelets without mushrooms?). Nice selections of fruit and cheese provided.

The hotel is located a bit far from Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarters of Hanoi, so you pretty much need a taxi to go anywhere, although the fare will be only a couple of dollars. Or you could walk if a bit ambitious and energetic.

One thing I really DO like about the place is that they very efficiently arrange taxi service to the airport for departing customers, using a voucher/coupon system that eliminates hassles, and for a very reasonable 250,000 dong (approx US$12.50). Bravo to Prestige for not gouging customers for transport to the airport!!

I'm a harsh critic, but I really don't like to give poor ratings to a place that seems to be trying hard, like this one. I waivered between rating Prestige "average" or "poor" but decided to give them the benefit of the doubt, mainly because the staff are so pleasant and seem to be trying very hard. Perhaps I also just had bad luck and ended up with one of their poorer rooms. Overall, I think this hotel has excellent potential, but they need to seriously invest in renovating some of their rooms (e.g., the one I stayed in!), absolutely get rid of unpleasant ordors, and continue to improve the consistency of their breakfast service. Building on the strong staff skills, and with additional investments and upgrates, this could be a very nice hotel and even warrant an "excellent" rating. I'll probably give it another chance on a future visit to Hanoi and hope for a better room. But a repeat stay like this one would undoubtedly kill my willingness to stay there again for good, despite the excellent staff. The way things look, this hotel seems on the cusp and could move up to be truly excellent or slip into oblivion.

Room Tip: Perhaps they have some renovated rooms; if so, try to avoid older ones not renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Everything is great about this place except the following 2

1. They claim to be a 4 Star property but not really more than a 3!!
2. Buffet Breakfast is absolutely terrible. Couldn't muster enough courage to go for breakfast beyond just 2 mornings in my total stay of more than a week :(

Friendly staff, Comfortable clean /hygienic rooms, Decent Room Service, Good Location along with a mini swimming pool & fitness club :))

Good only for a short business trip! Definitely not if u looking for Relaxation, Honeymoon or a Leisure Trip!

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms facing the Street & Bargain a deal through E-Mail before arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debjyoti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Mr. Debjyoti S,

Greeting from Prestige Hotel Hanoi and hope this email finds you well.

On behalf of Management Team, I would like to thank for your time spending on writing us comments. In order to improve the service day by day, it is highly appreciated to get the knowledge from valued customers. We will take it seriously and work out with our team. We do hope to have another chance to welcome you and make your stay memorable at Prestige Hotel Hanoi.

Once again thank you very much and best regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a reliable place to stay if you travel for business or pleasure. Staff are friendly and responsive to every request, ambience is attractive, breakfast has plenty of choice, rooms are spacious. The hotel is walking distance from markets and bookshops. Service is better than other 5 star places I've been to.

Room Tip: I've stayed here several times and never had a nasty surprise. Every room has been clean and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The prestige was our last stop on our tour of Vietnam and it was by far the best hotel we'd been to. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and didn't feel hotelly? If that's a word! The staff went out of their way to help you and spoke english very well. From the bell boys and maids to the front desk and restaurant staff, EVERYONE had a smile on their face and was happy to help in any way they can! The beds were my favourite part of the hotel, so comfortable and soft! I hadn't had a proper sleep since I arrived in Vietnam!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellastredwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#151 of 589 in Hanoi
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#76 of 589 in Hanoi
1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#284 of 589 in Hanoi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#69 of 589 in Hanoi
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lapis Hotel
The Lapis Hotel
#104 of 589 in Hanoi
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#96 of 589 in Hanoi
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Hotel

Property: Prestige Hotel
Address: 17 Pham Dinh Ho, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Prestige Hotel, a new four-star international standard hotel tucked away on a tree-lined street in the heart of Hanoi. Just 15 minutes walk from the buzzing lanes of Hanoi’s Old Quarter and the enchantment of Hoan Kiem Lake, the Prestige Hotel offers the perfect combination of modern luxuries, impeccable service, and excellent value for the business or pleasure traveler. The hotel features 80 guestrooms including elegant suites and an executive apartment, dedicated conference facilities and a business center, a full-service restaurant offering the best in international cuisine, a fitness center and a rooftop swimming pool and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Prestige Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing