We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep walking”

Lucky Bar - Restaurant - Cafe
Ranked #1,545 of 2,240 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Keep walking”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch here by mistake. The food is completely bland, tasteless vegetable pho and a 'set meal' of sweet and sour pork with a spring roll. The pork was either chewy or in chunks that contain 90% rind/fat and the spring roll was greasy and minuscule. Keep walking, there are better places.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worst food ever! Definitely NOT value for money...”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We were really hungry by the time we left our hotel and go search for food. Decided to drop by this restaurant as we see people sitting around and drinking.

We walked to the second floor which oversee the road of Hanoi, and ordered their pancake with chocolate and vanilla to try. The staff was super in happy that the 2 of us only ordered ONE pancake. His service was terrible and he just kept giving us the sour face look, which greatly pisses me off. But oh well we decided to just try the pancake first...

Uh oh.. Big mistake! It's the worst pancake I've ever had in my life!!!! It's just flour with 2 scoops of ice cream! I took 2 mouths and stopped, ready to leave the restaurant. Now I see why people are not ordering food here and just drinking beer.

So... If you want good food, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! If you want cheap drinks, everywhere in Hanoi is cheap, and you can find restaurants with better views, better service and cheap beer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iceicemilktea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bad food... ok for a beer”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We got a deep fried fish cake advertised as something more tasty, the worst sweet and sour chicken imaginable. Probably good for just beer on upper balcony.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cheap price and cheap food....”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stopped here for lunch - they have a nice balcony where you can watch the world go by and drink cheap beer but be aware the food is poor - my sweet and sour chicken was the worst I have ever eaten and the chicken curry was OK...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubastephb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cold food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you can go somewhere else!
The location is really great as well as the balcony. But that is about the only thing which is nice about this place. This place might be good for Asian food but after a couple weeks of rice we decided to go for a burger. We had to wait over 30min to get our food and when it finally arrived it was cold and the portions extremely small. On the burger, you could not even find the meet because it was so little!
When we complained we got at least a 10.000 Dong discount...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lea_Rana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Bar - Restaurant - Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Bar - Restaurant - Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing