We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel with tour group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
May de Ville City Centre
Ranked #187 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Scarborough, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“average hotel with tour group”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Came with Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) which mainly uses lower cost three star hotels with decent locations. Rooms were nice and clean and buffet breakfast was average. Hotel had limited services but was with walking distance of many items of interest.

Room Tip: higher floor in back away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzillp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    76
    34
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
46
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is in the French quarter of Hanoi and is very well located for getting around. It is an easy walk to the Old Quarter if you have 20 minutes and don't mind crossing a few streets. Breakfast was only fair, with less selection than other hotels on our trip to Vietnam. Rooms are clean and large. Great walking in every direction, starting with the street vegetable market right next to the front door. Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSB018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel was fine, but I managed to leave some clothes in my room. Three days later and hundreds of miles away my tour guide from Overseas Adventure Travels gave me the things I'd left. The hotel went out of it's way to get the clothes to our tour guide. I was amazed.

Staff was friendly and hotel was well situated near museums, restaurants, and in walking distance to old quarter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UhlBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nice quiet hotel with a great, friendly staff. The breakfasts options were excellent, rooms were spacious and free wifi! It may not be the closest to old town, but really it isn't a difficult or lengthy walk to just about everywhere you'd like to go. One the the absolute best perks about this hotel is the local support you receive from the street vendors right outside the hotel doors. Our entire group had a great time visiting and shopping with Rose and Anne who were veteran guides and could find anything you might want for a souvenir. Not only could they provide you with specific directions to any destination (no charge), and not only could they find any random thing you might want (try "intestines"), but they had an excellent grasp of English and the sarcasm and sense of humor that should have them employed by a tourism group.
We would definitely stay at this hotel the next time we're in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcareer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Location is not great. Room was not great --- very, very, very dark. We had a connecting open wall with in the bathroom with another couple. . . not pleasant. We were on an tour and 2 other rooms had night visitors or "pets" that ate the welcome food. Nah . . . don't think I would have chosen this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver-Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Located in old quarters of Hanoi, the hotel is simple, no fuss and convenient. Breakfast is limited, but satisfying, the front desk only has 1-2 people but they are helpful, friendly and full of smiles. It's so easy to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irving R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Nice modern hotel but it is a little far out from the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake. Taxis are cheap but it's a little difficult to flag a taxi near the hotel sometimes. Room was large and spotless and had a wonderful walk-in shower. Good wifi and room safe. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Adequate selection at breakfast but the dining room needed a through cleaning

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.9 mi away
May de ville City Centre II
1.0 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
0.1 mi away
De Syloia Hotel
De Syloia Hotel
#179 of 586 in Hanoi
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
#104 of 586 in Hanoi
729 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nesta Hanoi Hotel
Nesta Hanoi Hotel
#207 of 586 in Hanoi
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#152 of 586 in Hanoi
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May de Ville City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May de Ville City Centre

Property: May de Ville City Centre
Address: 24 Han Thuyen St | Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May de Ville City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a quiet street just kept eyesight to the bank of Red river, May de Ville City Centre is a stylish new addition to thousand year old capital. Incorporating an unique combination of contemporary style and Vietnamese traditional materials which created 81 elegant appointed rooms including 4 suites. May de Ville known as an elegant luxury hotel where comfort and service are accorded the highest priority. Located in the beautiful French colonized part of city center, within walking distance to many historical places and fashionable shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your May de Ville City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May De Ville City Centre Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing