We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base for Visiting Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
May de Ville City Centre
Ranked #178 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Gaithersburg, MD
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Base for Visiting Hanoi”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The is hotel is quite nice, with a very friendly staff, an excellent breakfast, quite clean, and even has free WiFi. There are dozens of hotels in Hanoi, but this one stands out for reliability and is supported by several foreign tour companies for use by their groups.

Room Tip: Anywhere in large Asian cities, request an upper floor (avoid street noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anbrugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    77
    35
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
48
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and one was enough. The hotel is located about 10 minutes from the old quarters ($2.00 USD cab ride). There are lots of good local restaurants within walking distance.

I was given a small single room and the hotel couldn't move me to a standard room because they were sold out. On my second night I found a cockroach in the bathroom (better the the rat someone else in my tour group saw walking around in his room). The guy at the front desk didn't seem very surprised when I told him about the cockroach, but he sent a maintenance guy who really didn't do anything. I asked for a new room, but the hotel was sold out and I wasn't moved until the next day.

The hotel windows are extremely extremely thin. My first room was on the fourth floor and my second room was on the ninth floor and I heard the morning communist propoganda loudly and clearly every single morning at 6.30am (it goes on for about 30 to 45 minutes. Longer on the weekends). During other times of the day you'll hear incessant scooter horns.

The hotel breakfast is awful. The only acceptable thing was the fresh chicken pho and fresh vegetables. The bread was stale and there wasn't much selection.

On the bright side, the hotel wifi is very good and strong and works througout the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floor so you're away from the street noise, but you can't get awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed three nights as part of tour. Location is convenient, but street noise offset it. We stayed on the 10th floor and actually checked our windows to make sure they were not open because it was so loud. Room was spacious and though dated, was clean and comfortable. Twin beds were small, but mattresses were very comfortable. Showering could be challenging because of the bathtub/shower configuration. A step stool is provided to step up and into the bathtub to shower.

The breakfast buffet did not have much variety, especially western foods. Still, the food was good.

Staff was pleasant and courteous and were very helpful. Would shop around before choosing to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in a Premium room & the room was spacious & clean. Hotel location is not far from the Hon Kiem Lake and also a good walking distance to the restaurants, cafe's, night markets etc. Staff were helpful & friendly and always had a smile on their face.
Enjoyed our stay very much........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is well located close to one of the lakes, the Hanoi Hilton (the real hotel) and the Opera House. The rooms were clean. Avoid any room ending in 01 as they are strange shapes and the double bed is against a wall on one side. The other room are spacious and clean. Because of its location there is some outside noise. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room number ending in 01.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_judymynott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in June. Although the staff was helpful the hotel was a bit run down. We arrived early from a long flight from the US and were left to sit in the lobby for three hours as "our room" was not ready. Judging from the activity I found it hard to believe there was not a room they could have given us to shower and rest. The room designated as "deluxe family room" was a double (beds were smaller than US double) and a mattress and box spring on the floor. We had no room to move in the room. The buffet breakfast was less than spectacular, and the uninvited guests (cockroaches) running across the food was quite disgusting. Our a/c was not working properly but it was finally repaired after a while.

Room Tip: The spa was closed as was the roof top bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viet2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

May de Ville is very nicely located: close to the centre of Hanoi but in a relatively peaceful place, aside from the most intensive hassle. The rooms are quite nice. The only thing that frustrated me was the shower. During one shower session the water could turn from very cold to boiling hot, without touching the tap. The breakfast was alright but rather average. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Aim high, especially if you stay there from Friday to Saturday. On Saturday morning at 6.30 pm the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.9 mi away
May de ville City Centre II
0.2 mi away
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
#104 of 591 in Hanoi
743 reviews
1.0 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De Syloia Hotel
De Syloia Hotel
#187 of 591 in Hanoi
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#147 of 591 in Hanoi
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#101 of 591 in Hanoi
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May de Ville City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May de Ville City Centre

Property: May de Ville City Centre
Address: 24 Han Thuyen St | Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May de Ville City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a quiet street just kept eyesight to the bank of Red river, May de Ville City Centre is a stylish new addition to thousand year old capital. Incorporating an unique combination of contemporary style and Vietnamese traditional materials which created 81 elegant appointed rooms including 4 suites. May de Ville known as an elegant luxury hotel where comfort and service are accorded the highest priority. Located in the beautiful French colonized part of city center, within walking distance to many historical places and fashionable shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your May de Ville City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May De Ville City Centre Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing