We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hanoi Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanoi Rose Hotel
Ranked #314 of 651 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in August and found it to be a good little hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the position meant we could walk to the lake easily. The hotel organised an airport pickup for us and everything went like clockwork. There were a few small "imperfections" with the hotel, but for the price we paid and the service we got, I happily overlooked them. If you are after 5 star luxury, this may not be for you - but if you are looking for a good, honest family-style hotel (with an elevator! - what a luxury!)....this place might fit the bill. I enjoyed dealing with Daisy, who spoke very good english and the other staff were lovely too. I would certainly stay here again if we make it back to Hanoi next year. Even though our spacious room overlooked the street, the street was fairly quiet at night. Lots of good cheap (local-style) eateries close by too!

Room Tip: some rooms were small and situated in the middle of the building, therefore no windows. This would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank franklin3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 69 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love this hotel. It's cheap but safe. The staff was so helpful and warm. They made every attempt to make our family feel welcome and comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely excellent. The choices at the buffet were beyond our expectations.

All together this makes the hotel a really excellent value for money hotel to stay in Hanoi - wouldn't look anywhere else as a family - had adjoining bedrooms - for a business traveler or holiday maker.

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anko_lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My group of 5 found the Hanoi Rose after arriving in Hanoi during a blackout and late at night. The staff let us in and let us view the rooms first as we had already turned down another place. It was clean and cool (and had power!). We split between two rooms on the top floor and had no issues whatsoever. The staff was very helpful in locating a private driver to take us to Ha Long. Our initial experience was solid enough that when we returned to Hanoi several days later, we again stayed at the Hanoi Rose. When we ordered Pho for breakfast, we thought it was kinda funny that the server left through the front door and came back 10 minutes later with several bowls, most likely from a vendor down the street. We didn't care, it was good. The only issue we really had was the morning announcements waking us up, but that wasn't the Rose's fault at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Director of Sales at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Mr Bryan,
Thank so much fo your chossing Hanoi Rose Hotel and your time to comment us on Tripadvisor also!
I hope that the trip to Hanoi, and Vietnam in general can make good memoryies in you and your group!.
Welcome you, your family and friends come back to Vietnam. Best wishes to all of you!
Thank so much again :)
Best Regards,
Daisy Doan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After have spend a total of 8 nights at the Hanoi Rose (in 3 separate stays), I can sincerely recommend this Hotel for its excellent central location in old Hanoi, cleanliness, good value and most importantly, a very friendly and helpful staff !
We will choose this hotel again for our next trip to Hanoi, for sure !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Director of Sales at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Mr Michel,
I feel many thanks for your comment and your lovely smile with us!. Please feel Rose as your home when you have chance to Hanoi and remember us!
p.s: Michel is so lovely man that I always smile anytime I see him :)
Best wish to you, Ms Jennifer and your daughter!
Best regards,
Daisy Doan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It's a shame the owners post positive reviews about themselves instead of just cleaning up their hotel. You can tell because they are single 5 star reviews.

Not much good to say about this hotel. Beds were decent and not hard as rocks, but not soft either. The worst part of this hotel was how dirty it was. The floors made our feet black. It would be nice if they actually took a mop to the floors after each guest. I'm not sure the floors have ever been mopped. The halls spelt dusty and smokey. There was also a layer of dirt on the hall floors.

Bathroom had no shower curtain so water sprayed everywhere. Wet floor for hours.

Breakfast was basic. They offered an omelet which was really 2 fried eggs flipped over and cooked. Not a true omelet. If they put a little effort into learning how to make a proper omelet the breakfast might be good.

The family room was so small we didn't have room to put the crib on the floor and still be able to walk around. The pictures they post seem to offer more space than the rooms actually have. Very small rooms.

We arrived early in the morning and they let us check in right away which was nice. When we arrived there was trash in the hall and when we left the next day in the afternoon the trash was still there.

Wifi was horrible. Even standing under the wifi right outside our door it still didn't work.

Over all this hotel just lacks effort. They need to clean, clean, clean and fix their wifi and offer a good breakfast.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, get a room to the back otherwise you get the street noise, 4:30a rooster crowin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5_Around_The_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Director of Sales at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Mr Nicholas,
Thank for your time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and my staff, esp Housekeeping dept for your stay. The interaction with our staff member with regards to your comment of dirty, noise is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service as rooms,and WiFi .Besides, our breakfast also has bread with jam, cheese, chicken and beef noodle, soup, spaghetti noodle, drink and fruits. It is our staff's mistake that not show you in clear what we serve in breakfast. I feel so sorry for my fault of management in order to control service and staff working attitude in a day you stay with us!.
Once again please do accept my apologies and we will fix all entire hotel services for sure.
Thank and best regards,
Daisy Doan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I personally and my family have no complaints. We had the best services we ever wish for! Location, service, meals ... you name it. The room was spotless, comfortable with friendly and helpful staffs and the price was reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KhoaNguyen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Khoa Nguyen,
Thank you for your good reviews about us. We hoped you really enjoyed your trip here.
Please come to visit us when you are in Vietnam.
Best regards to you, your mother and company members,
Nguyen Quang Hung
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I've been travelling around Vietnam a lot and staying at plenty of hotels, I have to say however this one tops them all. The staff was very kind and responsive, proving excellent customer service. The rooms were quite spacious which was absolutely wonderful considering how much luggage I had. And to top it all of the location of this hotel was just marvelous, it’s close to many shops and restaurants and extremely close to the lake. I highly recommend this place to anyone seeking to have a good travel experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoirosehotel, Director of Sales at Hanoi Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear Peter N,
Thank you for your review. We hope to serve you again in the next time.
Best wishes to you and your family
Tony Nguyen
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.3 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#98 of 600 in Hanoi
2,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Rose Hotel

Address: 59B Duong Thanh Street, Hanoi 00849381826, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $19 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Rose Hotel is located in the area of 36th old streets in the center of Hanoi Capital - Vietnam. The Hanoi Rose Hotel is near such major tourist attractions as Dong Xuan Market (1.1km), Thang Long Water Puppet Show (just 650m), Ho Guom (Hoan Kiem Lake 650m), Van Mieu Quoc Tu Giam (Temple of Literature 1.2km), Chua Mot Cot (One-Pillar Pagoda 1.6km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hanoi Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing