We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
39
55
22
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
39
55
22
8
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 132 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had 2 nights here and used the hotel as a base to travel to Sapa and Halong Bay. The staff were very accommodating with keeping our luggage and providing us with breakfast and showers when we arrived back from Sapa before being picked up to travel to Halong Bay. It is in a great position in Hanoi in the old quarter with puppet theatre just around corner. We had a room at the front of the hotel which had a good outlook onto the street below and one at the back both were suitable for our short stay. Breakfast was OK, not a huge selection but ample when you consider it is included in your stay.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCat073
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Have a tighter budget? Difficult to choose a hotel? This hotel is worth considering!
Right smack in the old quarter, surrounded by little shops, renovated, helpful staff, breakfast included and a hotel offers a laptop in the room with FREE WIFI!
Don't be mistaken, there is still room for improvement in terms of renovations (bathroom sink, enlarging the elevator) but overall, no complaints during our stay!
The breakfast is worth waking up for but get there earlier before it's gone!
They also arranged our airport transfers, local transportation, even our 2 day, 1 night Ha Long Bay tour! Just ask and they will provide...we LOVE Hanoi Royal View Hotel!!!

Thank you Anna and staff! You guys are SUPER FANTASTIC! Will definitely stay with you AGAIN if we are in Hanoi!

Room tip: Ask to upgrade your room (during low season) they usually will do this for you for a very minimal charge and it's worth it (you can either get a room with a balcony or a balcony + living area)
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tontoGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

[Please note travel dates: 11/23/2011 - 11/27/2011, am compiling reviews from agoda to tripadvisor as well.]

This hotel is very well kept and clean. We booked the royal view room (which does not have any view of the lake...faces a stretch of bustling street instead), stayed 4 nights, in the old quarter district. We were happy with the amenities, fresh and clean towels daily, daily fruit basket, daily housekeeping two flat screen tvs with all the hbos & nat geo & etc, with a laptop and wireless connected, lounge area and toilet was spacious, i guess it was all good. service was excellent, there's always someone smiling and greeting u at the lobby and opening your doors and were able to assist with our queries.

bfast was not that great a selection, quite local fare but still it was more than sufficient. it is located along a stretch of streets that sold shoes, bustling but street noise is kept out as we stayed at higher floors.

downside was that for certain mornings there were loud renovation noises from the next building (starts exactly at 7.00 am) but this was ok for us as we were usually up early and out most times. the noise usually stops by around 4 or 5pm.

Sightseeing/Attractions Tip:
water puppet theatre is within 5 mins walk (to left of hotel) and hoan kiem lake is opposite the water puppet theatre. places to eat: sago, city view all walking distance from hoan kiem lake

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLEE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Hanoi Royal View Hotel. This is our third stay in Hanoi and we've previously stayed in 4 hotels. Our main purpose of this trip was to eat, I had a craving for Vietnamese food.

Location:
The hotel is located in the old quarter (shoe street) walking distance from the lake. Getting around is really convenient and most places are walkable. 1 min walk or just down the street is Green Tangerine and across from it a bar that serves cheap beer and great coffee.

Rooms:
The rooms are small and not terribly well maintained. But this is typical of an old quarter hotel. We've noticed a few "big" hotels have popped up in the old quarter but they seem to lack charm. There was no view of any kind and definitely not royal. The room had no windows except a tiny one that looked into the staircase. The beds are extremely firm/hard and gave us both a sore back. Note to bring your own toiletries, they toiletries provided are very basic. The walls are very thin, you can hear pretty much everything happening on the floor and downstairs.

Service:
What most old quarter hotels lack in fancy rooms they make up with fantastic service. Unfortunately this hotel lacked that interest. Right from the point where I called to confirm my reservations, they have repeatedly tried to sell us a "package". When they realise they could not tell us a tour their interest level in us also dropped. We were somewhat invisible. Having said that, there was an exceptional bell boy who was always ready with a smile and helpful whenever he could. He made all the difference in returning to the hotel.

Food:
The breakfast at the hotel was dismal. Most of the food is left on the table looked dried out and unsanitary. The yoghurt was left on a plate without an attempt at keeping it chilled. The pho (which is usually the highlight of breakfast for me) was decent. The meat however I avoided.

We didn't pay for the hotel on this occassion so I can't comment on whether it was good value for money. I am assuming like most hotels of this standard in the old quarter it was decently priced. I doubt I would ever stay here again, there are much better hotels in Hanoi at this price point.

Room tip: Might be quieter on the higher floors.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheChubbs9123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our family of 5 comprising 2 adults and 3 children stayed at this hotel over 4 days and in between our Ha Long adventure (where they stored our luggage without charge) in late September in their Family room consisting of 2 single beds and 1 queen. The hotel is fairly new, clean and modern though don't expect a "real" window. As space is very limited in Hanoi, we were able to touch the wall to the next building by opening our window. Balcony rooms are available though I believe only for rooms located at the front of the hotel and definitely not for Family rooms as my request for one (with additional payment offered) was answered by this advice.
The beds at this hotel were one of the hardest experienced throughout my travels in Vietnam at numerous hotels. House Keeping was exceptional and trustworthy. Wifi was complimentary though this is often the case in hotels throughout Vietnam. The breakfast buffet was average and caters for both Western and Asian taste buds.
The one thing I cannot fault about this hotel is the staff who were extremely helpful and genuine with their advice and recommendations.
The hotel also offers tour services which we did not utilize after witnessing an enquiry from another guest who was subjected to a rather pushy experience.
The location of this hotel is spot on. Located within the "shoe" street area of the Old Quarter, the Lake is located within a 1 minute walk with access to restaurants and other retail businesses plentiful. It was a pleasure just to sit in front of the hotel and watch the hustle and bustle of Hanoi in front of your eyes.
I would stay at this hotel again purely based on the location and high level of service displayed.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SleMto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews