We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Ranked #111 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Perfectly wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Our fourth visit to Hanoi in five years turned out to be our best, thanks in large part to our month-long stay at Hotel May de Ville.

We find the May de Ville to be a spectacularly good value, given its location in the heart of the Old Quarter, the comfort of its rooms, its impeccable housekeeping, heavenly bedding—and especially its helpful and gracious staff.

Management and staff are thoroughly professional, and keenly attentive to the needs of their guests. We appreciated their help with taxis, reservations and recommendations. The generous spirit of the place begins at the door, where young doormen were always on hand to welcome us with a smile. Breakfast was good and service was unfailingly friendly.

For Hanoi-lovers like us, we enjoyed being just two blocks from Hoan Kiem Lake, close to the shopping district of St Joseph’s Cathedral and within easy access of the French Quarter. For trips out of town, a travel agent is available at a desk in the lobby.

The May de Ville’s rooms and lobby are comfortably furnished with the same careful attention to detail that one finds throughout the hotel. The rooms are bright and clean, with highest quality bedding and linens.

We are already planning our next trip to Hanoi, and we’ll be staying again at the Hotel May de Ville. We are happy to give it top grades in every category.

Ron and Jayne Fraese
1030 NW 12th Ave #117
Portland OR 97209
USA
(541) 991-7890

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruin7260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    238
    107
    29
    15
See reviews for
97
272
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

I had never been to Hanoi before but staying at May De Ville Old Quarter during my past trip last month is now one of the factors (besides Hanoi itself) that makes me absolutely want to come back. It got the package: incredible staff and service, the location, decoration, and most importantly the comfort that it gives you while staying there. Located in the center of the city and close to the attractions and sites, it makes you feel convenient and comfortable being even a wayfarer (even though Hanoi itself is small). I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that plans to visit Hanoi and I myself would definitely come back choosing this place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhuho1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

This was a very nice hotel in Hanoi - very clean and upmarket. The only problem was that it was a bit far from the shopping area and when we were there in November there was construction going on near the hotel which was quiet disturbing - but u cant fault the hotel for it

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonb019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Been to Hanoi many times and this is best value hotel that I have stayed in so far. Brand new and clean. GREAT LOCATION. On a quiet street named Gia Ngu which is just about 1 min walking to the Sword Lake. Easy access to facilities and shops. No complains whatsoever about room or hotel. Will return to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganSharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

I'm a young and adventurous Canadian who's been to many different countries. I've traveled to Vietnam so many times and this has to be one, if not the best Hotel I've been in. The staff is very well-trained and professional. The room was at its cleanest condition after every time I went out and came back. The lighting and room design is very well-thought out to create a nice balance between luxury and comfort. The daily breakfast and lunch was excellence. All I want to say is May de Ville's all around convenience will make your time in Hanoi a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesGreen200582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Being one of the first customers. Our family of 3 fell in love with Hanoi – staying in a lovely hotel named May de Ville was one of the best decisions of the holiday. We stayed in Hanoi a week and couldn’t have asked for more from the staff. Everything is possible with their smart organizing, active mind. The room is very cozy and clean with gorgeous bathrooms, comfortable bed. The breakfast was so-so. It is really impressive that this hotel got staff who is not only doing good at certain things but also concerned about learning and improvements. From the room attendants, to receptionsists to lovely smiling Trang. They did their best to make things nice for us. That willingness makes me can forgive any minor negative and I feel that I’m gonna come back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DErtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#72 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#93 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#83 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#135 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#105 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel

Property: May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Address: 43 Gia Ngu St, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the most crowded streets in the Old Quarter, within walking distance of the central business district and major local attractions, May de Ville Hotel experiences both the modern, high-speed urban lifestyle as well as the unique, charming and impeccable elegance of Hanoi. Features include nearly 96 well-appointed rooms with city view, IDD telephone, air-conditioning, LCD televisions, etc. Modern and cozy bathrooms with bathtubs or showers, hair-dryers and accessories are freely provided. For international travelers, May de Ville Hotel with the helpful and friendly staff is more than a luxury hotel - it's somewhere that will make you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing