We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Ranked #119 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Set in the back streets of the Old Quarter the May De Ville comes as a huge suprise when you first arrive through the chaos that is Hanoi's Old Quarter traffic. The staff are excellent in all ways and our room was spotless.and the location was a great spot to base from.They booked us a couple of trips 1. Day Trip of Hanoi which was ok and 2. A Day trip to HaLOng Bay which was a very long day on a bus. If you dont like rough coach trips dont do it.. Was very tiring and a bit disappointing. The hotel however cannot be faulted and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkerry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 716 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

Well located in the heart of the old quarter, near to all that is happening, lovely vibe and buzz around the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swingbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The rooms were great and very cheap, nice and clean, spacious and very well located in Hanoi. we were outstanding with their welcome and assistance with all of our needs. Nothing was too much to ask

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsual776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

May De Ville Old Quarter is a 3 star hotel with a 5 star attitude. We stayed here for four nights total and had a very pleasant time.
The rooms are on the smallish side but tastefully decorated and kept clean. The location is in the middle of the Old Quarter and close to much of the action in Hanoi. The breakfast served each morning was fairly average but you can ask for fresh eggs cooked to order and on some days, have fresh pancakes as well. It's also one of the only places in Vietnam that we consistently had hot water available to us. This may not be a big deal to some but after a full day of grime in the city a hot bath is quite nice.
For sure there are cheaper places to stay at in Hanoi but for a midrange hotel in Hanoi you can't do much better than this.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefrownclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Spent 2 days and 1 night at this place just before the Chinese New Year.

A clean, well kept hotel, with impecable service. Within walking distance of the Ho Hoan Kiem lake, the night market smack bang in the Old Quarter.

Highly recommended, would certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaDeo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We truly enjoyed the May de Ville in the Old Quarter, for its fabulous location, because you are in the heart of the action; for the incredibly caring & friendly staff; for the impeccable and comfortable rooms. And also for the free wifi we had in the rooms and the lobby, which was so much appreciated. I'd certainly return!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QC-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Very convenient to the old quarter and major attractions in Hanoi. Walked to all attractions from the hotel.

Hotel has free Wifi, computers in the lobby. Free bfast but the dining room could be a bit cleaner. Room is nice, but small. Got a deluxe room, but didn't that it was very deluxe. Service is fantastic. Housekeeping very clean but not spotless, there is some wear and tear in the rooms.

Downside is the hotel is pricey compared to others in the area. Rooms are expensive by Vietnam standards, and tours/taxi more than if booked through other places in the area. However, was willing to pay a little more for the organizing and service provided by the great staff.

Taxi from airport was $18, they waited until our delayed flight arrived and saw my name on a sign right after walking through customs. 45min - 1 hr to the hotel depending on traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#77 of 597 in Hanoi
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#95 of 597 in Hanoi
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
#162 of 597 in Hanoi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#132 of 597 in Hanoi
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Light Hotel
The Light Hotel
#129 of 597 in Hanoi
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#94 of 597 in Hanoi
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel

Address: 43 Gia Ngu St, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $54 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the most crowded streets in the Old Quarter, within walking distance of the central business district and major local attractions, May de Ville Hotel experiences both the modern, high-speed urban lifestyle as well as the unique, charming and impeccable elegance of Hanoi. Features include nearly 96 well-appointed rooms with city view, IDD telephone, air-conditioning, LCD televisions, etc. Modern and cozy bathrooms with bathtubs or showers, hair-dryers and accessories are freely provided. For international travelers, May de Ville Hotel with the helpful and friendly staff is more than a luxury hotel - it's somewhere that will make you feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing