We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to Try New Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vietnam Awesome Travel - Day Tours

Vietnam Awesome Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.00*
and up
Private Halong Bay Cruise to Thien Cung Cave and Ba Hang Village from Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Awesome Travel for Awesome Travelers, specializing in some private as well as customized tours to suit your desires and expenses. Come with us you will enjoy our local charm in Vietnam.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Way to Try New Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We did the evening Food on Foot tour with our 2 children ages 12 and 9. We had just arrived to Vietnam the day before so our children we were exhausted and ate very little. The lunch tour is probably a better idea for families.
We made arrangements with Awesome travel to go to the water puppet show before the food tour. Our guide Ha was late picking us up but he got us to the theater just in time for the show. He was waiting for us after the show and we started our food tour. Ha was an enthusiastic guide and we enjoyed learning about the food we were eating and Vietnamese culture in general. We tried a large variety of different foods and he would have taken us to even more places but we were stuffed and our kids were falling asleep. This is a worthwhile tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank free-heelinUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    112
    14
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great night with Johnny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved the mix of street food and cheap cheerful local restaurants LOVED the egg coffee to finish the night. Johnny a humorous and knowledgable guide. I could have given the water puppets a miss but others in our group enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enlightening Food on Foot tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My bnoyfirned and I signed up for this tour through our hotel (Art Boutique) and their strong recommendation. First and foremost, our guide, Yen, was wonderful! She spoke English extremely well and was so friendly and funny. We tried so much amazing food too, that I would probably have been too intimidated to try otherwise. I assumed the portions would be small tastes but each stop was basically an entire meal, so be careful not to fill up too much too fast! For only US$25 this was one of the highlights of our Vietnam vacation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kalisimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible tour, great food, great guide, great company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

On our penultimate day in Vietnam myself and two friends decided to take this tour. Our guide, Yen, was friendly and very communicative and spoke great English, with a genuine interest in explaining the food culture in the streets of the Old Quarter. The small group sizes are a bonus and we found ourselves becoming very close with our other member partly due to the tours relaxed casual nature. The food itself was incredible and the utilization of local knowledge found us visiting places that otherwise would have been passed by. With regards to the portions the tour is excellent with the 8 to 16 courses being dependent on your party's hunger levels. Great customisation was allowed of the tour stopping to purchase local coffee and focusing on foods we ourselves had stated interest in. Overall a great tour made greater by good company would highly recommend to others spending a few nights in Hanoi.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Group with brilliant tour guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We definitely picked the right tour company to book our 3 tours in Vietnam - Vietnam Awesome Travel. Ist, the Food Tour guided by Ching who is absolutely beautiful with excellent English skills, she took us to 5 different eating venues and at each one she was treated with respect and prompt, quality service was given to our tour group. The food was divine so authentic, fresh and catered for the strict vegetarians in our group. Our 2nd full day tour, Hanoi Highlights was with YEN, she was amazing, her knowledge and love of her country was evident throughout the whole day. She was such a sweet girl with a beautiful personality. Her English skills were excellent and she shared with us her deep passion for Vietnamese culture, history and lifestyle. Yen went above the call of a normal tour guide when she saw me in the busy street and took me on an impromptu motor bike tour of the old quarter and surrounding area. This was unbelievable and allowed me to see Hanoi in the way the locals do. Our 3rd two day tour was of the famous Ha Long Bay which was about a 4 hour drive from Hanoi but worth every second. This place the exact opposite of the hectic pace of Hanoi. We were spoilt onboard Indochina Sails. The 5 star food, service and accommodations were unbeatable. Double Happy Hours added to the enjoyment factor. I wish I could live on board this Junk, Indochina Sails number 4. The night was magical within this serene, peaceful bay. All in all, Vietnam Awesome Travel organised 3 outstanding tours that allowed us to appreciate Hanoi's major tourist destinations. They also organised Visas and airport transfers at reasonable rates.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Awesome Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Awesome Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing