We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoa Lu -Tam Coc tour with Ly was amazing”

Vietnam Awesome Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.00*
and up
Halong Bay Day Cruise to Sung Sot Cave and Ti Top Island from Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Awesome Travel for Awesome Travelers, specializing in some private as well as customized tours to suit your desires and expenses. Come with us you will enjoy our local charm in Vietnam.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hoa Lu -Tam Coc tour with Ly was amazing”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our day with Ly who was a fantastic tour guide. She went to the effort o learn everyone's names and took a genuine interest in every single guest. The tour itself was fantastic and highly enjoyable. Lunch was a little disappointing but didn't impinge upon us having a great experience. Thanks again to Ly for our wonderful day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cameronwhiteperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    115
    14
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do this on Day 1 in Hanoi”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived in Hanoi with our two teenagers at midnight with mild culture shock. At 11.30 the next day we were collected from our hotel by our guide Nye. This was more than a fantastic street food tour that lets you know what's safe to eat and what's not - Nye also taught us several other essential things, including how to cross the road safely! She made us feel comfortable as we wove our way through the mysterious and chaotic Old Quarter, sampling what felt like a dozen or more dishes and drinks till we were all bursting. (Do NOT eat breakfast.) Our favourites: sugar cane drink and egg coffee - we returned later in our holiday for more of each. Thanks Nye!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines Junction, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful introduction to Hanoi and Vietnamese food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We did the food on foot tour and it was amazing. We did the tour the first night we arrived in Hanoi. What an introduction! Trang (pronounced Chang) was our tour guide and she was so friendly and loved showing us around. You can tell she really likes her job. We went to so many great little places and tasted many wonderful things. She shared so much with us about the Old Quarter, Vietnamese cuisine and the cultures and traditions of enjoying good food in Vietnam. It was a perfect way to start our one month trip in Vietnam. Looking back it was one of our favorite evenings. GO!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LGorecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Food on Foot Tour: must do!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

No need to spend time reading several reviews, just do it! Especially if you are new to Vietnam. The Food on Foot tour will help you to know what and how to eat, as well as providing a good evening’s entertainment. Our guide, Lily, was professional, very upbeat, knowledgeable and took great care of us. Only 3 on the tour the night I went, and it can be fun with more people too. I liked the food at all the places we went, and Lily sent an email later so we could remember where we went and what we ate. Going through a dark local alley was so interesting as it is something I would never do on my own and it allows you to see what is behind all the storefronts. You learn about much more than just food, and the guide will be helpful for other things to (such as shopping).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank whirledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food Tour!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

If food is what you want, you can't go wrong with this tour! Our first night in Hanoi we decided to take this tour and our guide was Mr. Ha! We had a small group, our party of 3 and an English couple, and chose the premium seafood tour. I can't believe the amount of food we got for the small price we paid! We took 3 food tours during our two week trip through Vietnam and this one topped them all and was also the cheapest!

I've never eaten prawns/shrimp this big in my life and I'm from Texas where everything is big! My mom is still raving about the roll your own rice paper rolls (with Hanoi style fish) we had at one of our stops and my personal fave were the fried spring rolls with crab, prawn, and mayo...creamy deliciousness! Nothing too weird was served, but I'm sure if we had asked for it, it would have been no prob. There was also plenty of rest time at each spot to let your food settle until the next round was served. Beer was included as well as some local rice wines. Ha, our guide, wrote everything down that we devoured so we could use it as a reference for the rest of our trip. Finishing off the food tour was a nice egg coffee which was the perfect dessert. Ha even had it delivered over to us because the place was closing before we could get there. At the end of the tour (which went around 5 hours) he even paid for a cab to get us back to our hotel safely. Top notch service and top notch food!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaclynSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Awesome Travel also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Awesome Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing