We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie Heaven”

Vietnam Awesome Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.00*
and up
Halong Bay Day Cruise to Sung Sot Cave and Ti Top Island from Hanoi
More Info
$104.00*
and up
Private Halong Bay Cruise to Thien Cung Cave and Ba Hang Village from Hanoi
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Private Tour: Day Tour of Mai Chau from Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Awesome Travel for Awesome Travelers, specializing in some private as well as customized tours to suit your desires and expenses. Come with us you will enjoy our local charm in Vietnam.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went on a Food on Foot tour operated by Vietnam Awesome Travel on November 12 in Hanoi Old Quarter. Our energetic guide was Chinh and with a group of 6 people we visited 8 family run restaurants in the Old Quarter. We ate until our bellies were beyond full! We sampled the best pho bo, noodles with fried eel, grilled fish rolls, drink made of sugar cane and kumquat and egg coffee. It was a most memorable experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    917
    115
    14
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Street food at its best!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Part of a group (max 8 persons) walking thru the Old Quarter of Hanoi experiencing 5 different restaurants, plus a cafe, that one would probably not find easily on your own. We went to:
1. 12 Dinh Liet Street - bun cha (vermicelli noodle with grilled pork) and nem ran (fried spring rolls). By far the best stop on this tour, and we went back several times subsequently for a quick meal, cheap cheap! (2 people eat for $5)
2. 13 Gia Ngu Street - mien ga (glass or tapioca noodle with chicken) and xoi (sticky rice)
3. 24 Nguyen Huu Huan Street - Quan Viet - roasted duck and duck salad
4. 47 Ma May Street - Bo Xuan Xuan - Bo nuong (grilled beef and vegetable on a little bbq run by sterno-like fire starter), great little place, but watch the grease spatter!
5. 25 Hang Bac Street - orchid restaurant - grilled fish in little rice paper wrappers with condiments, this was very good too. Accompanied by coconut rice wine, which is a commercial product, rice wine fermented inside a coconut shell, so is quite smooth and has the definite flavour of its container.
6. 58 Nguyen Huu Huan Street - cafe Sen - for Vietnamese coffee (cafe Sui dat, cafe dat, cafe phin), good to sit outside and watch the city go by.
Ha was very knowledgable about the area, and his English was quite good. We had an enjoyable time, come hungry and be prepared to walk a little, including up steep stairs inside the restos.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ecowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great fun night out”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We met a group of friends whilst on a Halong Bay tour and decided to meet up on our lady night in Hanoi to do a street food tour. Glad we chose this. Trang our host was brilliant, knowledgeable and great fun. We only booked 2 hours before and they were able to accommodate a (very lively!) private group of 8. We went to 6 different locations and she would have taken us to more had we not been full! Highlight was the fried locusts (for the comedy aspect) and the beef with noodles for utter deliciousness!

Highly recommend, fabulous fun.

Helpful?
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Do this!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This tour is a MUST for any visitor to Hanoi. Perhaps some of the best food you will ever eat in your whole life, in places you could never find on your own, Food on Foot offers a unique culinary experience and safe, tasty approach to the mysteries of Vietnamese street food and local specialties. You will learn about so much more than just food and drink. Do yourself so favor and book this tour for the beginning of your Hanoi visit. You'll be glad you did!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Adventure!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Make sure not to eat too much before you head on this tour because you are going to experience A LOT of delicious food. And if you're lucky, Chinh will be your guide.

Chinh took myself and one other person on a culinary adventure through the streets of the Old Quarter. I managed to tick off just about every type of food I had wanted to eat, plus a number of additional ones I wasn't even aware of.

I highly recommend this trip to anyone who is passionate about food. It's a winner!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Awesome Travel also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Awesome Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing