We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous street food tour”

Vietnam Awesome Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.00*
and up
Private Halong Bay Cruise to Thien Cung Cave and Ba Hang Village from Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Awesome Travel for Awesome Travelers, specializing in some private as well as customized tours to suit your desires and expenses. Come with us you will enjoy our local charm in Vietnam.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“fabulous street food tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friend and I did this tour the first day and it was a great introduction not only to the food, but also the culture of Vietnam. As others have noted, Ha is an excellent guide, something I realized even more after spending a month in Vietnam and having some downright terrible guides. He really cared that we understood everything he said and that we had a comprehensive experience.

We also appreciated the fact that he spent about double the listed time of the tour with us and even took us down an almost claustrophobic alley to show us how people live in the Old Quarter. If you're staying in the Old Quarter, you must consider this tour!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank engphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    113
    14
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Travel is really AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We signed up for 3 tours with Vietnam Awesome Travel.

1. Food on Foot Tour (with Mr Ha)
- Joined this walking tour on our first night in Hanoi and spent 3.5 hours combing the streets of the Old Quarter with Mr Ha and enjoying all the local delights. The places that they brought us to are highly rated so you can expect a clean and hygienic environment with food that is to-die-for. Mr Ha also introduced the history of the Old Quarter and brought us through some dark back alleys to see how the locals live. We covered EVERY SINGLE Vietnamese speciality in that tour, from appetizer to mains to desserts, so by the end of the tour we were so stuffed we could hardly move. Would highly recommend this tour as it offers a great introduction to authentic Vietnamese cuisine.

2. Hanoi City Tour (with Mr Ha)
- Did a private Hanoi City tour with Mr Ha and covered attractions like HCM Mausoleum + Residence, Temple of Literature, West Lake, Museum of Ethnology and the Army Museum. Learnt alot from Mr Ha's introduction of the history and background. Private tours also allow more flexibility as you can decide on the itinerary.

3. $1 Sunday Morning Walking Tour (with Mr Anh)
- Met Mr Anh at 6 am for a walking tour around the Old Quarter. Despite the pouring rain, it did not douse Mr Anh's enthusiasm as he brought us through the weaving network of back alleys and streets in the Old Quarter. Finished off with a bowl of Pho and a cup of Vietnamese coffee. We also spent some time chatting with Mr Anh over coffee, but being the busy man that he is, he could not afford to stick around for long. This special tour is only offered on Sundays and would highly recommend it if you are able to make it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank simin147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Experience Hanoi like a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

A tour like no other. You definitely gotta join!

On sunday morning, i met my tour guide along with other tourists and went exploring every corner of Hanoi old quarter to see the way people live. Also, get a chance to taste the exotic local dishes.

Pictures refer to my personal blog:
http://adventurousstevano.blogspot.com/2012/11/hanoi-one-dollar-sunday-morning-tour-3.html

Helpful?
3 Thank slw1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great intro to Hanoi foods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The evening food on foot tour with Awesome Travel was a great way to discover what is available in Hanoi. Ha our host took into account that one of our group of three was vegetarian and one was an adventurous first time o/seas teenager. Foods and cultures were explained along the way. The dishes were chosen well at several different establishments. He also recommended a number of Restuarants close by to where we were staying, which we tried out on the following days. I recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys their food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The only way to do "street food" in Hanoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had wanted to explore the Hanoi street food scene but we were unsure how to go about it until we found out about this company from some other travellers whilst on holiday in Vietnam. We then looked them up on the web and booked an evening tour for when we returned to Hanoi. It was so easy to arrange.

Our guide Michael met us at our hotel at the arranged time of 6pm and for the next 3 hours walked us around the Old Quarter of Hanoi. We went into little places we would never have dreamt of going on our own and ate things we would never have been game enough to try on our own!

Michael's English was excellent and he was so helpful a obliging, when we saw a lady selling Jack Fruit he stopped and bought us some to try. Some of the food was a bit strange, I was very dubious about coffee with egg, but it really was like the creamiest coffee ever, absolutely delicious and the cafe was down a little narrow laneway we would never have found.

There are other tours on offer by Awesome Travel but we did the basic one which was $25 each for the evening and it was so worth the money and Michael was just excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzannahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Awesome Travel also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Awesome Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing