We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spark Hotel in Hanoi Old Quarter @ Hang Thung Street”
Review of B&B Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B&B Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #11 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spark Hotel in Hanoi Old Quarter @ Hang Thung Street”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staffs. Room and bathroom are sparkling clean, brightly lighted. Restaurants and shopping are every where around the hotel. Quiet inside the room without those buzzing traffic noises. Very beautiful home atmosphere. Overall great hotel.

low. Penang, Malaysia

Room Tip: center room is smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    115
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
66
244
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Easy walking distance to the main shopping streets, restaurants and bars. Top people employed who can't do enough to help. Rooms and bathrooms great but as usual the Vietnamese beds are very hard. New hotel built in February 2011.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less street noise you'll get, but it's not that bad anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patnsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

After hearing about all of the hotel scams in Hanoi we had decided to book our hotel in advance of our arrival to the city and had arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport instead of getting a taxi that most probably would have taken us to an alias named hotel of a poorer quality for the same amount of money. Unfortuanely when we arrived at the hotel we were told it was fully booked as guests who were due to leave had stayed an extra night due to bad weather in Halong Bay and because of this we were being moved to the Hanoi Spark Hotel. This was a pleasant surprise as the staff on both the reception area and travel reception were both freindly and helpful from the moment we walked through the door. Our luggage was carried to our room which at $30 a night was excellent value for money. We had a twin room, one double and one single bed with a flat screen television and hot shower. Breakfast was included in the price and was made to order in the morning. We had mentioned that we wanted to book a trip to Halond Bay and the Travel Receptionist had then took it upon herself to talk us through the trip that the hotel offered and book this trip for us. It was a brilliant trip and made better by the great service and quality of the Travel Receptionist who had organised it for us. All in all I would highly reccommend this hotel to all backpackers and travellers alike.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I Stayed At This Hotel For 11 Nights (03rd August Till 13th August 2011).
This Hotel Was Opened For Business In February 2011 Hence There Is No Problem
With All The Faciilities - Room/Bathroom Are Clean And Aircon Functioning...
The Staff Are All Very Friendly And Helpful With Information.
Breakfast Is Sufficient - There Is A Choice Of Western And Local Breakfast.
For The Amount This Hotel Charges, It Is Value For Money.
The Best Thing About This Hotel Is It's Location And This Can Save Your Some Taxi Money.
It Is Situated Within Walking Distance To The Lake (About 10 Minutes) And It Is Surrounded By Many Eatries Outlets - Both Street Stalls And Small Cafes With Some
Cafe Names Recommended In Some Of The Tourist Brochures.
Just Around The Corner There Is A Muslim Restaurant And Next Street Is A Northern
Indian Tandoor Restaurant And A Very Nice Small Vietnamese Restaurant.
Some Hotel Guests And Myself Dine At This Vietnamese Restaurant For 3 Nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HockSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goyang, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I had vacation in Vietnam from 20th Jul to 24th Jul, 2011. Three nights in Spark Hotel and one night in Paloma cruise, Ha Long. Spark Hotel supported all accomodation from airport to hotel and tour programs to Tam Coc, and Ha long bay with best offer. Hotel manager Johnny and all staffs are very kind. They offered free upgrade room, and free shower at 8:00 pm after check-out on my last day. Hotel locates very close to Hoan Kiem and Water Puppet Theater. If you have a chanve to visit Hanoi, I strongly recommend "Hanoi Spark Hotel" .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seok_Won_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It may be one of those small hotels in Hanoi but this hotel is very big in service! I booked the hotel thru the net and Jenny from the hotel emailed me back personally and answered all my queries including the tours we were interested in.

Since we took a red eye flight to Saigon and an early morning flight to Hanoi.. They knew were tired. Although it was before 9 when we got there..they put us up in a small room first to rest and freshen up..they offered to move all our things in the family room I requested.

Beds are big enough for two so it's really ideal for a family. Toilets are clean and shower is good. Only drawback is the perennial mosquitoes..saw a cockroach but then I come from the Philippines so I understand. Much as we try to keep our house clean and have an insecticide handy..it can still be challenging. It would be good to remind the cleaners to spray insecticide while you're out.

Staff can speak English and very nice too.

I paid $35/night and it's well worth it. It came with breakfast too which was not bad at all!

By the way we took a cab from the airport. There's an area there where people queue for taxi..take the one that is designated for going to the city.

Took the calypso halong bay cruise ( suggested by the hotel) and it was truly unforgettable experience. Food was very good and so is the service. We took two rooms with connecting door. The trip to halong bay was about two hours.. We stopped only once in souvenir shop and the junk was ready for us when we get there. It was well organized.

Flea market is not that good compared to the big market in Saigon. It's quite tiring to haggle.the small souvenir shops in the area are interesting. Water puppets is worth going. For only $5 or $8, one gets a glimpse of Vietnamese culture.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank isayqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a room facing the street which was great. Nice bathroom. Good bed. Excellent location: close enough to the lake and bars and restaurants in the Old Quarter but on a quiet "local" street. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vickie710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#27 of 587 in Hanoi
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#48 of 587 in Hanoi
1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 587 in Hanoi
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#28 of 587 in Hanoi
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hanoi Hotel

Property: B&B Hanoi Hotel
Address: 16 Hang Thung Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Spark Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hanoi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 years ago, ever since I was a young Tour Guide, I was always thinking about how to set up a hotel/hostel that be able to meet up with all of the international tourists' expectation when they travel to Vietnam. After I have enriched my skill and knowledge in the tourism industry for almost a decade of hard work, together with my big passion in the hospitality industry and the joy of providing the most useful travel information for tourists as well as helping them to facilitate the best & the most valuable travel packages... Tony Dinh / the owner, along with assistance of the two established Sales Manager Ms. Lisa Nguyen and Ms Emma lead the small team of dedicated staff Tom , Mark, David, Anna . Our team will make your time memorable and enjoyable as our slogan says 'Arrive as our guest - leave as our family". For those reasons the B & B Hanoi Hostel & Travel was born. The B&B Hotel has 9 rooms - including well equipped rooms with great view over the lake and city - spreading over 8 stories with a mordern elevator so guests will feel most comfortable as at home. Breakfast is served on the cozy restaurant with warm and helpful staffAll rooms at the B&B are bright, airy and well equipped with airconditioner, 65 channels LCD TV, cool fridges, safety box, IDD phone and private computer with high speed internet access. Cosy bathrooms with tubs or showers, hair dryers and accessories.At the B&B Hanoi Hostel, with our helpful and enthusiastic team will certainly make your stay in Hanoi become a real gem of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing