We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of noise !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
Ranked #136 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of noise !!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The situation of the hotel is really good, close to the lake and the old quarter of Hanoi. People of the hotel are quite helpful and try to do the best for their customer. But, breakfast was rather bad and it was very cold on the roof...
In fact, the real problem is the noise, inside and outside the hotel. The church is ringing every quarter and especially at 5AM. A very tiring stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    86
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
115
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skanor, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Very friendly staff, very good location with most attractions/activities within walking distance, internet on the room. Sometimes shortage of water. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brolunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Great hotel, could not be in a better location, French quarter is absolutely the best part to stay in the Old Quarter (some parts are pretty grotty and noisy).

We had a (LARGE) family room for $63, sleept 4 easily with great views over the cathedral. Best things, in a back street so very quiet, great views of the cathedral, excellent staff (low key, friendly even when woken at 5 am) and genuinely pleased to have you staying, new hotel, very clean, very fast internet in room and very well priced. Plenty of really good restaurants in the area, Nga Tho has the most good restaurants in a small area of any place in Hanoi. Gave us free trip from the airport, free bottle of wine, (VERY) early checking when we can back from Sapa, nothing was to much. All in all would be very happy t recommend.

Downside, hard beds (but hey this is Vietnam) and the breakfast isn't the best, but with French Cafes on Nga Tho who cares.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freigericht, Deutschland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Very nice hotel with a good price and close to Hoan Khiem lake. Located in a little road without cars and only some steps to the old cathedrale. The staff were extraordinarily frienly and helpfull. They offer good trips and tickets (really valuable even you are short in time). They took us for free to the railway station and the guy carried my luggage to the train. The room was very good equiped with a flat screen, DVD and PC with internet access. It was always very clean. The breakfast on the roof top with a nice view over the city was good as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wcavaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed at this hotel from December 4th to 13th. I worked in my room much of the time and was pleased to find that the wifi service always worked with a good signal. One of the really nice features is the air conditioned room with windows that shut out most of the outside noise. I was met at the airport and brought to the hotel. The morning breakfast on the roof was quite nice. For the money you can't beat this hotel. The people at the desk are extremely helpful like finding a taxi when needed. I give this hotel a four star rating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carrierjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed here because some Australian friends we met were staying here. It was a lot better than the hotel we stayed in when we first came to Hanoi. The rooms are quite large and the price was very reasonable. They had air conditioning and The bathrooms were also a very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their rate for changing money into dong was better than any other hotel and very convenient.

Overall this hotel was a great and I would suggest it to anyone traveling in Vietnam. The location close to the cathedral also made it very easy to find or to tell taxis where to go to.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejerkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Stayed at the Church View for a couple days after a motorbike tour of nothern Vietnam, then for another couple days after a jaunt down to Hoi An. The hotel is immaculate, with clean and nicely furnished rooms for extremely reasonable rates by western standards. Bathrooms are great, fixtures are high quality, water pressure good. Nice TVs and desktop computers in every room. Wifi on every floor. Matresses a little stiff but that seems to be the norm in Vietnam.

Staff was excellent, helping us with coordinating taxi rides to and from the airport and excursions to a spa and restaurant recommendations. Nice rooftop patio for morning breakfasts with a great view of St Joseph Cathedral and the square below. A little tricky to find but everything in Hanoi is a *little* tricky to find. Use the church as a landmark and you'll be good.

Altogether a great place to stay with exceptionally friendly staff who all speak English very well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeMotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.5 mi away
Golden Wings II Hotel
Golden Wings II Hotel
#479 of 586 in Hanoi
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#101 of 586 in Hanoi
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#164 of 586 in Hanoi
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#180 of 586 in Hanoi
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#112 of 586 in Hanoi
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Jupiter Hotel

Property: Splendid Jupiter Hotel
Address: No. 16 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu str. | Hoan Kiem dist., Hanoi 8443, Vietnam (Formerly Riverside Palace Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid Jupiter hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph’s Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel’s neighborhood to suit any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing