We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
Ranked #132 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Powassan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

A few buildings to the left of the Marilyn Restaurant, across from the magnificent cathedral in Hanoi, a narrow alley about six feet wide is filled with locals sitting on tiny colored plastic stools, eating food prepared in the laneway. Turning left after 20 or 25 metres, one is now in a larger alleyway, still too small for cars. It is here that one finds a few small hotels tucked away -- including the Splendid Jupiter Hotel (which has a flashing sign advertising itself as the Riverside Park Hotel). The room materials have a third hotel name upon them! Despite this confusion, the hotel was quietly efficient. At least half of the staff speak English, and all are courteous and friendly. I was greeted with a pot of tea in the small lobby before being taken up to my clean and tidy room. A safe for valuables, working AC, an HD TV with many channels, and an old PC with free internet were in the room. The computer wouldn't connect to the internet for me, and after a staff member checked it out, I was brought a laptop so that I could do my e-mails. There was plenty of hot water with wonderful pressure at all times of the day. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise from the quiet alley outside. I slept well. A small restaurant in the basement served set-meal breakfasts (included in the room cost), which were selected by pointing to pictures in the non-verbal menu. I'm a big eater, and there was no problem with me choosing a glass of OJ, pancakes with bananas and syrup, eggs and toast, and a few cups of coffee. I enjoyed my 3-day stay, and recommend this hidden gem to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    86
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
115
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

prejudice to all! and all the wonderful staff! Iusco are family stayed in May 2012 with all our family and we felt like our home! the staff young and friendly! wonderful kids who have made our stay comfortable! the rooms are very comfortable and very clean. international breakfast and Vietnamese. greet them all with great affection!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milemanuanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very disappointed after reading the good reviews here on Tripadvisor. The rooms are of low standard, feels old and a bit run-down and the shower was terrible. We even found a cockroach in our room! In addition, quite bad breakfast. One morning we ordered banana pancakes and when the staff arrived they put down plates with just pancakes and syrup, without saying anything about the missing bananas. When we asked, the answer was that they had run out of bananas - why not mention this when we made our order?

Good location though and the price was very low.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights and found it a decent hotel. The rates are reasonable, the breakfast is good and the people are friendly. As with most hotels you are going to get charged more if you book tours/taxis with them rather than a travel agency, this is normal. The room was very decent, clean yet slightly small and the bathroom was clean yet with a dodgy shower head which was slightly annoying. Overall its a very decent hotel which needs a couple of fix ups here and there. One of its high points is its location in the old quarter. It is down a small alley near a big church and there is not as much traffic noise in this location. Overall I recommend this hotel - 6.8/10

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angus-AWAFILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piaseczno, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March 2012. We had realy nice room, breakfest was excelent, staff were very nice and helpful.
Hotel is situated in good place, wery close to the center.
We spent there realy good time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time in Hanoi and we carefully selected this hotel based on reviews, location etc. And we have to say, it was a really good decision. First of all it is really close to the cathedral, the hoan kiem lake and great restaurants. Second of all, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, the bathroom was okay and the breakfast was really nice. But third of all, the staff was absolutely wondefull!! Especially Tuan! When we arrived he was really helpfull and thinking along with us (not to pushy) on what we could do the upcoming days. And when we left and we checked out at 12.00, we still had a day in Hanoi before we took the nighttrain to Sapa. He offered us to keep an eye on our backpacks and when we come and pick them up, we could have a shower before leaving to the trainstation. Really nice! We really recommend this hotel, the price and quality are really good in balance.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nbmsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at the Splendid Jupiter (aka Splendid Star 3, Churchview Hotel, and a couple others I can't remember) for 4 days/3 nights. The hotel is nicely located in the Old Quarter near St. Joseph Cathedral off the main road. You will probably have to walk with your bags to the hotel as taxis cannot fit down Tho Xuong. The staff was nice, spoke enough English and were helpful in showing us places to visit in the city. Our room was pretty big with a queen and a double bed, which was nice after a tiny hotel room in Singapore and everything appeared clean. The mattresses were quite firm but, surprisingly, gave me a great night's sleep. We did have a problem with a leak in the ceiling of our bathroom when we stayed there and though the staff tried to help, the leak was never fixed and we were not moved to a new room. Breakfast was included in the price and had some tasty Vietnamese and American options. For US$22/night I think it was a pretty good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubbs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#160 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#174 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#100 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#180 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Wings II Hotel
Golden Wings II Hotel
#477 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Jupiter Hotel

Property: Splendid Jupiter Hotel
Address: No. 16 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu str. | Hoan Kiem dist., Hanoi 8443, Vietnam (Formerly Riverside Palace Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid Jupiter hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph’s Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel’s neighborhood to suit any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing