We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of Nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
Ranked #83 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is in a suburb far from downtown tourist areas and CBD. Convention center is close though (about 1 KM away), which is why I chose it. Not much immediately outside the hotel - no restaurants or massage places really. That said, taxis are inexpensive and plentiful so easy to go somewhere else and the concierge was knowledgable and helpful with great recommendations.

Airport is about 45 minutes to an hour a way depending on traffic -410k dong one way.

Gym is quite good with treadmills, weight machines and some free weights. Gym was never crowded despite the convention in town. Outdoor pool available but didn't use it.

Breakfast spread was excellent with wide variety of foods - East Asian, South Asian, Western, etc. Was able to get a capuchino for breakfast (not always feasible in Asia). Ate dinner there once though and wasn't impressed. Wasn't bad but nothing to write home about either. Went to a nearby restaurant (15 minute cab ride - came out to USD $5) and was much happier.

Service was friendly. English language capability was acceptable. Hotel clean and very well maintained. Maid service did an excellent job.

Sleep quality was poor though due to thin walls and door between rooms. I'm a light sleeper so I could hear everything going on next door. Just talking or flicking a light switch next door was audible in my room. Finally was able to get some ear plugs and was able to sleep fine afterwards.

Other downside (at least in my room) was the shower head. Only had the rain shower type so made it hard to clean extremeties. Women with long hair would presumably not like it either because can't just shower and skip washing your hair. The water comes down hard from the ceiling. Don't think a shower cap would work (although I haven't tried). Presumably no females on the design staff for this hotel.

So, would I stay here again? Probably not. Mainly because of location. I like to be where the action is or at least where there are more facilities close by. This might change as the area develops but perhaps not because there is a sports complex adjacent - thereby limiting residential or commercial possibilities.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing rear to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiangShanBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazahanoi, Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear LiangShanBo,

Thank you for your stay with us at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi. We would also like to say thank you for taking time to post this review on TripAdvisor. All comments are valued and appreciated.

We will pass your comments to our management team for appropriate actions so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    165
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
51
21
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We were a big group of Golfers staying there for a golf tournament and this hotel was very well organised. Great reception, breakfast rooms and located in a open locality with a few options to eat outside too. The breakfast in particular was a great spread to suite to most tastes. Good for conventions large groups and functions. The Spa is special too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazahanoi, Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Jaytee62,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi recently. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We will continue to do our best to bring the satisfaction to all of our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you need further assistance.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

At the end of day, its all about how you try to listen and willing to assist the customer.
I was pretty much surprise their platinum member recognition (Seriously better than InterCon Hanoi' ambassador recognition!) and treatment!
I stayed twice this month ( Oct 2013) and both stays are wonderful.
With reasonable rate and service like this, I definitely can recommend.
Minor points are the location and some rooms are smoking smell even though non-smoking room.
And also, lotus spa also nice to try.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JJ012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazahanoi, Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear JJ012,

Thank you very much for your recent stays at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi and your precious time writing this great comment.

We are very proud that you enjoyed your experience. We believe that we will continue to deliver even better services to all our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you need further assistance.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

SUMMARY
I have stayed at Crowne Plaza and InterConti properties all over Asia Pacific and they are, without fail, an amazing brand that rarely gets it wrong. I have also had the fortune of visiting several competitors such as Shangri-la, Le Meridien, Hilton, Victoria, Hyatt, and Marriott, so have a bit of a wheelbase from where to judge this stay at the CP in Hanoi. It is precisely because of very good experiences at other CP and InterContis that we chose this one for our stay as we were in transit and required a hotel room just for one night.

THE GOOD
- Staff: The staff was super friendly and dealt with all the self-inflicted problems brilliantly and professionally.
- Restaurant: Great for both dinner and breakfast. Because we were here for only one night, we ordered Vietnamese dishes which were excellent judging by our prior visits to Vietnam.
- Rooms: The rooms were modern, clean, and nicely appointed. Exactly what you would expect from CP.

THE BAD
- Airport Pickup: I had arranged for an airport pickup but when we arrived, there was no one waiting for us. I called the hotel and they had no record of an airport pickup (even though I later showed them their own e-mail confirmation). We took a taxi van from the airport and the driver did not have a clue where the hotel was. He had to stop a few times to ask for directions. Then he smoked a cigarette which took another five minutes. Finally, when we arrived I had to overpay for the transportation because the taxi had 9 seats even though we had really only needed 4. And the hotel was of no help.
- Check-In: The hotel had no record of our reservation. To their credit, they immediately took us up to the club floor probably because they were expecting it to be a lengthy check-in. The manager who was handling out check-in was sweet (probably the damage control director) but it wasn't until we had handed over our passports that they found our reservation. As we had been brought up to the Club Lounge, I expected that they would upgrade us to this floor particularly in light of their mistakes. The nice lady even complimented me on being a gold status rewards member and soon-to-be platinum member. In fact, I have been upgraded to the club floor on numerous occasions. But no, here in Hanoi they felt is necessary to show me what they could have done to apologize but instead proceeded to check me into a normal room despite a long half-hour check-in and no airport pickup. Further, the nice lady gave us free Internet access. But this was because I had to retrieve the e-mail confirmation for my airport pickup from my personal e-mail account so they didn't really have a choice. It took me a long time to find the e-mail because I had to get through both my own and the hotel's firewall. The nice lady asked me several times for the e-mail and it felt as if she was insinuating that I was making the whole thing up.
- Dinner: As already mentioned, the food and restaurant were excellent. But after I signed the bill, I was asked to stay behind because the hotel again had no record of my family's stay at the hotel and our rooms were shown as unoccupied on the restaurant's computer system (90 min after check-in). Very embarrassing to being held and effectively being accused of writing down a false room number which is the same thing as stealing. After calling around for a few minutes, they finally determined that I was not trying to steal and they allowed me to join my family in our rooms.
- Check-Out: I had booked the hotel through a travel agent and the bill was pre-paid. At check-out, the hotel asked me to pay for the rooms again and insisted that I had not paid yet. It was only after I showed them the receipt that they started making more phone calls. This took about 10 minutes but they finally established they were wrong all along. It is very uncomfortable waiting when you are on your way to the airport but are being held up over something that should never have been a problem in the first place. But at least this time the hotel transfer was on time.

FINALLY
Next time, I will go to a different hotel. If it had not been for the continuous problems that were of the hotel's own creation, I would have rated this as 4 or even 5 stars. But at every touch point with the customer, there was a problem. For Crowne Plaza, this is unusual and a first for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazahanoi, Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear DHWShanghai,


Thank you for your stay with us at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi. We would also like to say thank you for taking time to post this review on TripAdvisor. All comments are valued and appreciated.

We would like to show our sympathy with the problem you encountered during your stay. We will pass your comments to service team so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great hotel; staff with fantastic English skills and well appointed rooms made this hotel very pleasant to stay at.

Make sure you are not staying here if you need to be in the CBD (Hoan Kiem District) as it is a bit far. I was on business in the area and by far the best place to stay!

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BM Raffael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazahanoi, Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear BM Raffael S,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi and your precious time writing this comment.

We are very glad to hear that you had a great experience with us. We promise to try even harder to provide best in class services to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel at soonest.

Best Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff greeted us very well during our stay and was also very friendly. The breakfast has wide range of good food to choose from.

The hotel is also maintained in a very well way, just to say excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazahanoi, Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sanjaykm,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi and your precious time posting this review. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We will continue to do our best to provide better services to create a Great Hotel Guests Love.

Look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence RI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a very comfortable, attractive and modern hotel that seems to cater to business travelers from everywhere and tourists from Asia. The staff all seemed very young, but worked very hard to please. Most of them had passable to excellent English skills, and were very helpful in getting me a cab every day. I really needed a cab every day - the location is pretty far away from the center of Hanoi, where I was doing business. A high point was the breakfast buffet - so much food, and such a wide variety! Lots of Asian and Western choices, the freshest fruit, good coffee. If you like to walk from your hotel to the center of the action when you travel, this is not the hotel for you. Hanoi's Old Town is a $20 cab ride away. But for my purposes, as a business traveler, it was a very pleasant and comfortable place to return at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Providence_Artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazahanoi, Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Providence_Artist,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and also for posting this nice review on Tripadvisor. It's great to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. We will share your comment with our services team so they can keep up the great work to please our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

With best regards,
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
#208 of 591 in Hanoi
116 reviews
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
4.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 591 in Hanoi
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#86 of 591 in Hanoi
1,431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi Residences
5.2 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 591 in Hanoi
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza West Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza West Hanoi

Property: Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
Address: 36 Le Duc Tho Street, My Dinh 2 Ward | Nam Tu Liem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#31 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#40 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza West Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi offers modern and tailored business solutions for the discerning traveller with a selection of accommodation. Guest can choose to experience our Club Floor service, be pampered in our recreational and spa facilities and enjoy locally inspired dining experiences. Our dedicated Meeting Centre offers responsive, seamless solutions from start to finish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza West Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing