We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, very good rooms, funny location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
Ranked #80 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
분당
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, very good rooms, funny location”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

and swiming pool closed toooo early i don't like that

but breakfast...Best breakfast in Vietnam

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VK121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelChertouh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear VK121,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi and your time to review on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to know that you are happy with our services and facilities. We will continue to work hard to meet our guests’ requirement.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Warm regards,

Michel Chertouh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    163
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
51
21
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Loved the long pool, and glass elevators. Nice spa area as well

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear crowneanaheim,

Thank you very much for writing this wonderful comment about our hotel.
We are pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay.

We will continue to work hard to meet our customer’s requirement.

In the mean time, Crowne Plaza has just announced a region wide sale, with 30% off our rates including breakfast for 2 and free internet. With our best internet rate guarantee, now is the time to take advantage of our rates and book your return break to our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Michel Chertouh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I am on an extended business trip in Hanoi and I'm being put up in this hotel, which is ideal because it is very near my working place. It is however, quite far from the town center but what I like about the place is its peace and tranquility. Hanoi can be quite a noisy place with the cars and taxis and motorbikes sounding their horn all the time, I repeat, all the time. So I am glad that being further away from the bustle of the city, it is a nice and quiet place to stay in.

Food-wise though it is not so great as compared to even the smaller hotels I have stayed in other cities. Breakfast is the same every morning and it gets tiring after being here for more than a week. The food in general, whether breakfast or dinner, does not give me the zing, or make me want have more. I haven't tried the nearby eating outlets but they are quite widely available.

The staff in the hotel is nice and very friendly. However, I have two complaints:
1) I caught the flu the second day I was here and asked for a doctor. I was directed to the closest "sports" hospital but on arrival there was no reception in the hospital and no one there speaks English. I left without getting help or being offered any assistance. Its hospitality, pun unintended, was atrocious. The hotel should have directed me to a place more visitor friendly.
2) The hotel offers me a free service of 2-piece laundry a day. One of the days, I was too fatigued to have remembered to call for collection. I requested if they could take in 4 pieces the next day. I was not allowed. Would have been a plus and would have gained much favor from me if they did.

But all in all, it is a decent and comfortable place to stay in. Service and response it pretty quick. They fixed my air conditioner and replaced the safe battery in no time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank maeghanlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Ladypurplelily,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi and your thoughtful comment.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the services and facilities offered. We will continue to work hard to meet our customers’ requirement.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Michel Chertouh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Front desk & dining service were great, even by high Vietnamese standards. The front desk arranged tours for my parents, and even gave us a sim card for us to call the driver when they needed a pickup. In the dining hall, the food was fresh and plentiful. We constantly had at least 1-2 people waiting on our table full-time. Very, very attentive without being overbearing. The rooms were also quite nice, but standard for a 4 star business hotel.

The location however is a major drawback. Quite far from the old town and not a good base for visitors. This side of town is more relaxed and quiet, which is nice at night. This is very much a business hotel - which could be perfect for your needs. Make sure that your clients are nearby though, as traffic can really eat into your time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelChertouh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Explorer333,

Thank you very much for writing this wonderful comment about our hotel.
We are pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay.

We will continue to work hard to meet our customer’s requirement.

In the mean time, Crowne Plaza has just announced a region wide sale, with 30% off our rates including breakfast for 2 and free internet. With our best internet rate guarantee, now is the time to take advantage of our rates and book your return break to our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Michel Chertouh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I don't know why this hotel is rated so well. The service was absolutely awful, and the location is really far from any sights. We stayed here because my partner had to stay here for business purposes. We were repeatedly annoyed by the bad service. There wasn't one thing that we asked for that was taken care of smoothly, be it an order for a glass of wine or a new reservation or a request to have breakfast at the empty tables by the windows as opposed to the ones in the dark corner. I felt quite bad for the staff because they were clearly poorly trained. If the management reads this review, I'd like to tell them to please put more effort into training their staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana_Z_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelChertouh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear PPP_SB ,

Thank you for your stay with us at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi. We would also like to say thank you for taking time to post this review on TripAdvisor. All comments are valued and appreciated.

We appreciate your comments about our breakfast services. We will pass your comments to service team so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Michel Chertouh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Crowne Plaza is a very nice hotel, accommodations and facilities-wise. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent beds and an "interesting" bathroom (if you've stayed in the hotel in Hanoi, you'll know what i'm referring to). Hotel is very clean, brand new and one of the more luxurious ones in Hanoi, complete with a pool.

The lobby may not be exactly stunning but the flower arrangements are nice. The only problem is that in this luxury hotel, you have to pay for wi-fi connection. There is free wi-fi at the restaurant but the connection is poor and if you want to surf the net in your room, you have to pay.

The personnel at the front desk needs to be taught to be more efficient, there was a lot of mix-up about our reservations which were made months in advance and although we requested for an extra bed in one room, we were told there was none (how is this possible?)

Also, the location is far from ideal because it is around 50 minutes away from the center of Hanoi so you end up spending quite a lot on van rentals or taxis. There are no restaurants near the hotel either, so you usually end up eating at the hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel to tourists. Although it is certainly a nice hotel, you will be better off staying at boutique hotels in the Old Quarter for easier and more convenient access to the attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelChertouh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Stephanie A,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi and your thoughtful comment.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the services and facilities offered. We will continue to work hard to meet our customers’ requirement.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Michel Chertouh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

A typical 5 star hotel. Good room, perfect bed (for me) with pillow menu (but never tried, provided pillows are good enough). Club lounge is nice. The staffs are very accommodating and friendly. Although the reception area may be busy at times with only 2 staffs available and you have to wait for more than 10 minutes to get your turn and you may have some interruptions while they are assisting you. Quite away from downtown, nothing to see around the hotel area. Apart from the location, the hotel is good.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gathz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelChertouh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Gathz,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza West Hanoi and your thoughtful comment.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the services and facilities offered. We will continue to work hard to meet our customers’ requirement.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
Michel Chertouh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
2.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
#208 of 588 in Hanoi
114 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 588 in Hanoi
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#88 of 588 in Hanoi
1,417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi Residences
5.2 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 588 in Hanoi
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza West Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza West Hanoi

Property: Crowne Plaza West Hanoi
Address: 36 Le Duc Tho Street, My Dinh Commune | Tu Liem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#39 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#71 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza West Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi offers modern and tailored business solutions for the discerning traveller with a selection of accommodation. Guest can choose to experience our Club Floor service, be pampered in our recreational and spa facilities and enjoy locally inspired dining experiences. Our dedicated Meeting Centre offers responsive, seamless solutions from start to finish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza West Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza West Hanoi Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing