We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel”
Review of Green Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Street Hotel
Ranked #268 of 639 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Great location and we have booked this hotel online basing on excellent recommendations from the previous guests. Helpful and super efficient staff, internet can be used in a room for free.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 163 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

Visiting Vietnam for the first time, I stayed at Green Street hotel. The hotel was located in the centre of Hanoi, close to Old Quarter. The staff extremely friendly and helpful, especially the manager who was very jolly and gave me much information for my trip. The hotel staff recommend Hanoi Opera cruise for Halong bay trip where I had the most wonderful time in Vietnam. My room was clean and spacious, the bed comfy, wifi available and free. The bathroom was large with good facilities. The breakfast start at 7am, a great buffet that I think it's a lunch.Green Street hotel will be the first place I come when I return Hanoi

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Green Street Hotel in February, 2012.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It's in the old quarter, in one of the main streets, but it wasn't noisy at all.
Breakfast was very good, with a good variety of options to chose from. It was one of the better breakfasts we had during our trip in SE Asia.
The staff of the hotel were very friendly, professional and helpful. We had no objections concerning the service at all.
The room (standard) we got was pretty dark and humid though. As it was rather cold in Hanoi at the time, around 15°C, and there was no heating in the rooms - taking a shower was quite unpleasant. But what troubled us most were the bed mattresses. They were, presumably old, spring mattresses and you could actually feel every single spring while sleeping. This was really one big drawback and they should change it.
Otherwise, it was a more than pleasant stay and a very good value for money. The best part of this place are for sure its staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rope_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The hotel was very well located in the heart of Hanoi, just 5 minute walk to the famous Hoan Kiem lake, also walking distance to the famous tourist attractions: the Great Opera house, Thang Long water puppet theatre, Fine Art museum…. Rooms were different in size, but in generally very clean and well equipped: LCD TV, DVD player, air-conditioning, safety box, private shower... The hotel staff were so friendly and always ready to help. They have very large knowledge of the city and gave us a lot of useful information: where to eat, where to travel….., some nice restaurant near the hotel which they recommend are great. We extended our stay there for 2 additional nights and they tried to accommodate us quickly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I’ve given very good reviews of many worthy hotels I’ve stayed in, but I can’t even give a passing review of this Green Street Hotel dwelling! In fact among all the Asian countries I’ve travelled with my wife, this is probably the worst accommodation we have put up with.

We were shown a room on 23 Jan 2012 on their level 1 when we enquired about the standard room. After online booking of that hotel, and also within 2 hours after seeing that room, we were told by the thin bespectacled lady receptionist (maybe she is the manager) that the room we saw had been taken up! Her claim seemed unlikely as the hotel business don’t seem so brisk. Though I agreed to wait for an hour while we waited for her to get our room ready for check-in—it was already past the standard check-in time of 12pm—my wife and I got more doubtful of her character when she claimed that during their new year period it is hard to obtain manpower; other hotels (including the one that we just came from on that day) within a radius of 1 km away of similar size has overflowing and friendly staff strength.

When we checked into the room at 1.45pm, we found to our dismay that the room was lacking in facilities that they advertised for a standard room under hotel.com. It was only after we have shown her the stated facilities online, that she agreed to give us a room with the facilities—but we have to wait again for the room to be cleaned up.

The room that was finally given to us in the evening was not only inconveniently located at the highest guest storey (without lifts), but the air-conditioning heating mode in the room was not working! Within a few minutes of calling the receptionist of the problem, power of the air-conditioning unit died totally. That lady staff made a ridiculous claim that in Hanoi there was not a hotel with both heating and cooling modes from an air-conditioning unit. After we corrected her with specific otherwise examples, she changed her initial explanation by saying that our room’s air-conditioning was spoilt. A male staff from the hotel who expressed ignorance at our requests on fixing the air-conditioning was also exceptionally rude to us, and in his smattering of Vietnamese and English seemed to express his desire to cancel our stay.

My wife and I ended up sleeping huddled together on a single bed due to the numbing cold and the protruding springs of the other mattress.

Our growing suspicion that the bespectacled lady staff was a habitual lier and underhandedly practically mean to us was further confirmed the following day. After we expressed the desire to cancel our remaining nights of stay at their hotel if the air-conditioning was not repaired, the same rude male staff turned up at our room within an hour and “repaired” our air-conditioning successfully within minutes simply by manipulating the remote control. Later we learnt that the power to our air-conditioning was centrally controlled by them from behind the reception counter! Anyway with the highest power switches on for the heater mode, the room could still frigidly cold especially at night unless it’s left on throughout the whole day.

Other facilities put up by them were also for façade’s sake. What is the use of having a sink and bathtub in our room without water stoppers, and a computer in the common area that cannot be booted up?

I was shocked that this is the first time our experience in a hotel is not consistent with the ratings and reviews of some other travelers, but our nightmare there was absolutely not fictional. The room that we stayed in was 404.

I’m not a hotel competitor and I’m looking at my experience in contextual perspective with other hotels of similar rates in the area. My wife and I are simply travelers who don’t wish other fellow tourists to be maltreated. Please see my good reviews of some of the other hotels I’ve stayed in of similar pricing

Think twice if you wish to reside in a civilized lodging in Hanoi

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenstreethotel, Manager at Green Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Hi
Firstly thank you so much for your comment that i know your thinking
On your first step you came to our hotel and checked the room, i showed smaller room on first floor, seemed you did not agree with the price at 18US$ for standard room with daily breakfast you said that you would like to check another property around and you were not sure that you wanted to keep the room or deposited for that room, after your steps around 5 minutes we had another customers that they were ready to pay the same price with you for that room, so as anybody we allowed to check in for them, we could not keep the room for customer who did not give any thing to make sure or deposit for the room, so the room will be empty. As you know on 23.Jan.2012 was Vietnamese New Year, so it is so busy and.

After that we got your booking via Hotel.com or Expedia.com, we had the 2 standard rooms at that time, i asked you which one did you like as one was in first floor and one was in the third floor? you choose first one on first floor, we kept the same quality room for you (bigger the previous room but no bathtub), i said you waited for that room as that time was 11:00am, after 20 minutes we had that room, you checked and you said the room had no bathtub, you do not agreed to take that room and you said you had to take the room with bathtub, we were OK although that we was so busy with many other customers who were waiting for us to check – in and check -out, I also said “sorry” with you that if you would take the room with bathtub you had to go up to third floor and still had to wait as our customers had not yet check out (check out time: 12:00 - noon). You said “Agree”. Moreover on Vietnamese New Year most of our staff were off as our government Labor Policy (the staff allowed to get at least 4days off), we had just one House keeper, all our customers who were staying at our hotel they are very kind and sympathy for us when we informed them in advance, but you were not. We tried my best to serve you and answered all your needs, after 1 hour you went out you came back we had the room at third floor for you as your required, you checked in, mostly was OK.

About the Air-conditional, we controlled at the reception area, when our customers in the room we will turn-on when our customers go out we have to turn off as our policy to protect and avoid the fire by electrical fire since it is very dangerous for our business and our customers if there are the Fire at our hotel. Unfortunately your time were staying at our hotel the air-con broken, we tried to contact with some one to repair but on New Year there were no body wanted to come and repair, we explained with you about that and gave for you 1 more blanket and 1 heater to make the room warmer, but you gave many complains and said with “so bad words”, Hence on 23.Jan.2012 was 1st day of Lunar Month and on 1st day of all year as Vietnamese culture it is very very important, with Businessmen they did not want to get any complains or bad words on that Day, but you did that, so our Manager (the man who you mentioned above), they were angry with me he said I should solved as soon as this problem, if you did not agree I had to find another room at another hotel for you. So he shown the angry attitude.

We are running business very well, we make business but we have to keep our prestige on Tourism Market, we just want to serve our customers with our best, but there are many problems that we can not controlled, so you are important customers please help us to sympathy with these problems when we informed you in advance and we can not do any more to solve.
Thank you so much for your time to stay at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just only a few rooms have a window, some of the stuff are very helpful and engaged.
While there is high humidity in this place, some of the bedclothes feel always wet.
But nervertheless the rooms are very clean and good equiped (2 internet computers in ground floor, free wifi).

They might try selling u a taxi to the airport for 16$, but it´s cheaper (2$) with the vietnam airlines minibus.
While there is also a tour agency located in this hotel, u might get a discount for the booked tours.

Maybe the price is too high for what u get.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touring_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We booked the hotel for our first night in Hanoi and ended up staying there for a few more days as the price was good and the location, right in the centre of the Old Quarter, was excellent. The staff was very helpful about changing our booking and they also arranged a trip to Halong bay (3 days 2 nights) which was very good value. They gave us welcome drinks when we got there and it also has free wifi. The rooms and bathrooms (we stayed in 2 different rooms) were a good size and you could not hear the traffic noise. We would stay there again :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyloveswilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenstreethotel, Manager at Green Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Hi Hollyloveswilky
Thank you so much for your time during staying at our hotel. Thank you for your comment to improve our services any more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#96 of 599 in Hanoi
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Street Hotel

Address: No 21 Ma May Street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 639 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $18 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Street Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Street hotel is located in the Old Quarter at the center of Hanoi; a charming neighborhood of French colonial buildings on narrow tree lined streets near Hoan Kiem lake. There are many cafes, restaurants and street stalls offering local Vietnamese and international foods. Shoppers will be happy browsing through the small shops selling local handicrafts, art, books, silk, clothing, jewelry and so much more.The room is decorated with the landscape or human pictures by European style, Vietnamese style or classical style. International guests in Hanoi for either business or tourism will find even our twin rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing