We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recharge time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #86 of 671 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a great stay at the royal palace hotel after trekking in sapa and long bus trips to halong bay. Great value for money and close to the action. They sorted out our washing and gave us a nice room to rest up for a few days. Try the cafe next door, Hanoi social club.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Larryhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 460 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed before and after our trip to Ha Long Bay. Good location on an alleyway in the Old Quarter. Big rooms, plenty of space, very clean, fast internet. Friendly, helpful staff. The cheapest rooms have no windows, so unless you're on a really tight budget spend a few bucks more for a window. The room on the 8th floor has a private balcony which is very cool. Breakfast is not buffet, but is cooked to order and includes a good selection of various eggs, etc plus juice and fruit.
A couple of suggestions to mgmt: put a bottle or 2 of free water in the room, you shouldn't have to buy water to brush your teeth. I know there is water in the lobby but it is a dispenser and there's no way to get it to the room. Also, instead of iced tea mix in the room, I'd suggest 2 tea bags.
We thoroughly enjoyed out stay and would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room #801 is great for family with kid(s). 2 beds (1 queen, 1 double) and private balcony overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetblast25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great hotel to stay at at an affordable rate. Hotel staff especially, Huy is very helpful. Hotel is an a central area in lots to do and places to eat. Rooms were clean, well kept. Staff was very helpful in helping obtain a sim card for cellphone, booking train travel and assisting with advice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This private hotel is great for the price range. The staff are lovely and try and go above and beyond for you. The rooms are nice, big and clean. The breakfast is not a buffet, you choose an item from their menu and it is made within minutes and on your table. This is not a Accor or Starwood hotel, it is a private little hotel in Vietnam - so a little rough around the edges.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_to_the_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Palace at the end of Feb. Originally booked 2 nights only but as we incorporated a trip to Halong Bay & an overnight cruise, we returned to Royal Palace for a further 2 nights. The hotel swent some confirmatory emails prior to the trip which was encouraging & also arranged for airport pick up for $18. The booking was for Deluxe Double Room with big window on high floor at $40 per night. However when we arrived there was no room at the hotel & the manager walked us around to Lucky 3 - just around the corner from Royal Palace on Hang Bong St. Ok, it was a bit of a nuisance but Lucky 3 is comparable to Royal Palace so it was not a big issue.

The next day our luggage was moved back to Royal Palace but I couldn't get the deluxe room so instead had an 'internal' room with no view. Actually the room was really nice. Very spacious - large, comfortable bed & really nice bathroom. Also there's a pc in the room with free net access. Warning though - the speeds are painfully slow. As the room was purely a place to get our heads down, the lack of view wasn't important.

The hotel is in a great location in the Old Quarter, close to many restaraunts & easy walking distance of Hoan Kiem lake. Also in easy walking distance of Hoa Lo prison (Hanoi Hilton), Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Ho Chi Minh Museum, & One Pillar Pagoda. Also a nice walk to Dong Xuan market.

The hotel is not in great surroundings as it is situated down a narrow street with a bike workshop opposite but don't let that put u off. Also the breakfasts aren't great but its probably par for the course in the majority of small hotels in Vietnam. The manager is very friendly & helpful, as are the staff. Manager also speaks pretty good English. Out of the hotel turn right at the corner & about 40 yards down on the right hand side is a nice little café which does some lovely bia hoi, nice to drop in there after a hard day's sightseeing for a couple of beers & rice & morning glory.

We booked a Halong Bay cruise overnite on a junk through the hotel. It cost 139$ per person & included transport to & from Halong & cruise overnight including meals on board but not drinks. The cruise was excellent - had a brilliant guide by the name of Van. He's a real good guy, so if u get him as a guide you'll be in good hands..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed there two nights and found it great value for money. The staff was very helpful, flexible and eager to make your stay enjoyable. We upgraded to a front room to get a window for 8usd extra. Worth the money but expect street noise from the alley below where theres a quaint little scooter-wash place. The hotel has minor beauty flaws like water seeping under the bathroom floor into the bedroom but the bed was comfortable and the breakfast ample and cooked to our liking. The location is on the other side of the lake from the busiest tourist area but it's an easy walk if your want to go there and right next door to the hotel is the Hanoi Social Club with amazing eggcoffee, delightful cakes and room to chill. Would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Royal Palace Hotel was a pleasant experience mainly because of the kind and friendly staff. It would be impossible not to be impressed by their warm and welcoming hospitality. The hotel falls short with the breakfast menu which could be easily rectified - it is not up to the standard that I have come to expect in Viet Nam. Also, the hotel left me at Hanoi airport when I had expected a taxi to be waiting to deliver me to the hotel which is the deal when you book for 7+ nights - I hired my own taxi but the hotel refunded my taxi fare on departure which was proper. One more tip for travelers: don't book into the cheaper rooms - I strongly recommend that you pay the extra US$10 per night for the better class rooms as they have windows and are far more comfortable. I will stay there again and look forward to returning to Ha Noi because I just love the city and the beautiful people in it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Hanoi Royal Palace Hotel 2
0 mi away
Lotus Boutique Hotel
Lotus Boutique Hotel
#34 of 671 in Hanoi
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,428 reviews
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi

Address: 18A Quan Su, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 671 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $37 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROYAL PALACE HOTEL HANOI IS BRAND NEW LUXURIOUS HOTEL in the heart of Hanoi's historic Old Quarter. The Royal Palace Hotel is a luxurious boutique hotel that offers elegant rooms including some with views of the city and large balconies. We pride ourselves on offering the best service to our customers. Royal Palace Hotel was built from 28/01/2009 to 15/03/2010. The Royal Palace Hotel was designed and built with high architectural standards. It is among the Hanoi Old Quarter's top ten luxurious hotels and has an excellent view of Hanoi. The Royal Palace Hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing accommodation in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities. As an added bonus, Royal Palace Hotel is currently offering a special 45% Grand Opening discount on all rooms and Free Taxi pick up at Hanoi Aiport to Hotel if you book over 3 nights (until 30th December 2011) . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing