We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #76 of 565 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good place to stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I have a great place staying here. Good and friendly staff. Stayed for 3 days there and definitely its good. It is walking distance to all the things you wanna go in old quarter, if you want to see the view then choose a room with city view. Always make sure u book for city view because some tourist might be confuse when they see a room without a window, Room was good and maintain although some say its old but for me its great, simplicity and cleanliness is the best thing on it... with regards to tours, i havent book to them but all i can say is if u need a tour then definetely theyre the best choice, staff would really extend more help for u. And it would be easier coordination between the tour guide and the hotel staff so u dnt have any problems..I would recommend this place...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    132
    40
    12
    13
See reviews for
49
169
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed 4 nights; good location and reasonable price esp during "tet" holiday. Friendly staff but very pushy to sell their own tours!!!
For a "3 star hotel", the service seemed comparatively 2 star. We were in a room on the inside of the hotel, larger rooms seemed to be those at the front of the hotel with window...(no window in ours- so, no idea of weather and at times felt claustrophobic).
Bathroom was good and modern. Breakfast was okay but more 2 star in quality - ordering from a set menu..... cereal for example would come with milk and heaps of sugar added (if u like a healthier breakfast, request that they don't add sugar!). From the moment of check in we were more or less told to meet them the next morning after breakfast to arrange a tour with them- hard sell took on a new meaning. We had other more urgent things to do and booked a tour via tourist information.... on learning about this a long debate with Mr Hue was had and we were made to feel guilty for "not being loyal to the hotel"... for that very reason I wouldn't recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room so you get daylight!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel is in a bit of an edgy location, but quite safe, and within waliking distance of everything in the Old Quarter. Hotel itself is very acceptable, and our deluxe room was large and comfortable, with a King-sized bed. Good value for the money. Staff is consistently friendly and extremely helpful. The Manager, Mr Huy, has excellent English, and was very helpful in making tour, travel and other accommodation arrangements. He suggested changes to our original plans to avoid inclement weather and the closures associated with the Chinese New Year. Any commissions that the hotel receives as a travel agency were well-earned, and saved us significant aggravation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The staff were so nice and made us feel very welcome! We got all the help and service we needed before and after arrival. We had a good dialouge through mail. The staff arranged both a pick up from the airport and booked our trip to Halong Bay. Mr Hue escpecially was very helpful and indeed serviceminded. He help us with several practical issues during our stay. Because of him and the rest of the staff it was always very nice to return to the hotel!

Initially we booked two rooms for four nights when arriving in Hanoi. Because of the nice accomodations and the wonderful staff we decided to book the same hotel also for the other two nights on our return from Halong Bay and afterwards when returning from Hoi An on our way back to Bangkok. Again they arranged safe and comfortable pick up at the airport based on mail during our stay in Hoi An.

The rooms were all very clean and comfortable. Since we were staying in three different occasions we got to try several rooms. We liked the junior suite the best because of the balcony and the big window (even if it was a bit cold the last time we were there with only some 10 degrees outside!!) The last time we returned it was nearly like coming home!
The location of the hotel was wonderful. We were in a walking distance for everything, the old quarter, the lake, lots of restaurants and also the war museum and the Ho Chi Min mausolee.
We would really like to come back to this hotel whenever in Hanoi again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Palace Hotel whilst on a stopover to Australia and found it to be excellent and will return again in two weeks time when I fly back to the UK.
The room was spacious and clean and very quiet considering its central location to the busy old quarter. Having a personal computer in the room was an unusual and much appreciated bonus. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and let me check in earlier than advertised.
Breakfast is very good for the price and I can definately recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I will say that the hotel itself seems to have gone down a level, from what I remember from my visit last March. The bathroom towels were worn/old, and the shower didn't drain properly.

I do want to state that Huy, the front desk manager, went above and beyond the normal service, as he assisted my brother and I with various reservations/suggestions...

Don't miss the Hanoi Social Club restaurant, just 3 doors away, for various scrumptious dishes, unreal muesli, and wonderful coffees/teas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globaldiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Right after we made our booking, we have arranged our airport private car pickup. When we arrived, we were greeted with a welcoming drinks and nice watermelon. Something most hotel are missing nowadays.

The hotel manager took me to view the rooms available before checking in. I decided to upgrade my room to the one that is facing the street. Since the hotel has an elevator (beware that some hotel does not), so I picked the top floor and it was quiet and peaceful. This made you relax after hearing the beep beep and honking in the streets of Hanoi. If you are not comparing this hotel with other 4 to 5 stars hotel, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet. Since elevator is available, so don't worrry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mohdrafie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#39 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Hanoi
Hotel Nikko Hanoi
#73 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#55 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#91 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi

Property: Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi
Address: 18A Quan Su, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 565 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROYAL PALACE HOTEL HANOI IS BRAND NEW LUXURIOUS HOTEL in the heart of Hanoi's historic Old Quarter. The Royal Palace Hotel is a luxurious boutique hotel that offers elegant rooms including some with views of the city and large balconies. We pride ourselves on offering the best service to our customers. Royal Palace Hotel was built from 28/01/2009 to 15/03/2010. The Royal Palace Hotel was designed and built with high architectural standards. It is among the Hanoi Old Quarter's top ten luxurious hotels and has an excellent view of Hanoi. The Royal Palace Hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing accommodation in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities. As an added bonus, Royal Palace Hotel is currently offering a special 45% Grand Opening discount on all rooms and Free Taxi pick up at Hanoi Aiport to Hotel if you book over 3 nights (until 30th December 2011) . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing