We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a 5 Star Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #76 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This is a 5 Star Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I'm giving this 4 stars because the location was great, the staff were so nice that it hurts, the room was nice, the bed was good, the A/C worked well and they had breakfast included in the exceptionally reasonable price of $27 per night. It's definitely a 5 star for $27 but there are things to consider if you are a light sleeper.

I'm am a light sleeper and my problems started when I went to close the windows so I could turn on the A/C and go to bed. That's when I realized that the windows were already closed and they were incredibly thin. I went to bed and tried my hardest to get a decent night's rest with the constant horn blowing outside which is the norm in Hanoi. I could hear noises in and out of the hotel all night and then the REAL noise started at about 5am. First a bird that felt like it was actually on my face it was so loud, then the motorcycle washing station approximately 15 feet from my window, horns, noise, yelling, etc, etc. I've heard that this isn't uncommon in the old quarter of Hanoi, but definitely tough. Bring earplugs if you even think you might need them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessSummer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    132
    40
    12
    13
See reviews for
49
169
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

How Tran, known by her english name "Flower" should be re-named "Star." She is what makes this hotel a 5 star experience. She speaks perfect English and makes every effort to assist you. She arranged our train tickets to Sapa, pointed us in the direction of every sight to see in Hanoi and not just for us. We saw Flower give excellent customer service to everyone at the Hotel.

The hotel itself is clean and is located on a quiet street in the old quarter. You can walk to the lake, all shopping areas and it is a safe area to be in. Our room was clean, quiet and had a nice bathroom, TV and computer.

The Hanoi Social club is just a few doors down and I highly recommend dropping by there too.

On the down side, the Hotel is short staffed, so Flower works VERY hard. But she does so with a smile. Her colleague named We is also wonderful. When Flower wasnt there, We was working just as hard to be helpful. The kindness they both had was what made our stay here special.

In short, this is a great budget hotel that over delivers on customer service. We and Flower are superb!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This place was very pleasant to stay, it is a nice clean hotel in a good location. The rooms have computers in them, or atleast the one we were in and the price seemed fair. However it was the friendlyness and helpfulness of the staff that prompted me to write a review. Huy in particular went above and beyond to help me track down and retrieve a lost passport. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMac1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Was our 1 st day in Vietnam, they were quite welcoming .Good room with good enough air con (ESP at night ) .....but so do lots of other places. Breakfast was adequate- no harm done. We found the staff nice and constantly showing us albums of tours etc. Bathroom was novel & not all worked.Was ok.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 8 th floor- you pay for a balcony, but end up babysitting 10 air conditioners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good location and friendly accommodating staff. We asked for a quiet room on a high floor and they gave us a room on the 6th floor. Hanoi can be very noisy so a quiet room is hard to find. The room had complimentary water and wifi. The bed was extremely hard and it wasn't very clean. The sheets and bathrobes were discoloured. The walls could do with a splash of paint too. Breakfast was good and the service was excellent. We paid bottom rates to stay so overall were happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishMinnie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was an odd mix of nice staff, good location, but the rooms were just okay. Didn't live up for what is seemed like on the website. We booked an 8 day tour to Sapa and Halong Bay with them. It was mostly okay but they messed up our train ticket to Sapa and we had a really bad ride there; however, they fixed it for the return and gave us a rebate. They were very friendly but the breakfast wasn't very good and the showers and bathrooms could use a little repair. But again, that's most hotels in Vietnam!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brooklyntraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We've just spend two weeks in Vietnam an I have to say that the choice of this hotel was purely random at the beginning.
We booked only one night and were supposed to move almost every couple of days till the end of our journey.

Since we are not really organized, we arrived there with a lonely planet guide, back packs, and no real direction to follow.
This is when we stumbled upon Huy, this nice smiling guy standing at the reception desk.

Whatever you want, you can ask. From simple requests up to tour organisation.
We went to Ha long, ninh binh, tam coc, sapa, with his support. Cabs, train tickets, hotels, tour companies, Huy is booking everything, advising wisely for everything, running around for you, sending guys to pick you up if you need any assistance in some place, well... amazing.

Trust isn't the easiest thing to give, but try it, you'll see by yourself.

The hotel by itself is a fairly good place, very clean. Nice rooms, fully equiped and clean. Good decent breakfast, what else would be needed ?

One of the biggest advantage is its location.
There are many similar hotels in the old town but this one is well located. At the boundaries of the old town which remains accessible in no more than 5 minutes by foot, in a small street that help to have much quieter rooms than anywhere else. 10 minutes max from the ho hoam kem lake gives a good access to busses and many tour operator connexions.

10 to 15 minutes max from the central rail station with all the possible departures to north or south....well. A convenient pleasure.

Highly recommanded !

Room Tip: 701 - last floor, big balcony, great view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#37 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Hanoi
Hotel Nikko Hanoi
#76 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi

Property: Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi
Address: 18A Quan Su, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROYAL PALACE HOTEL HANOI IS BRAND NEW LUXURIOUS HOTEL in the heart of Hanoi's historic Old Quarter. The Royal Palace Hotel is a luxurious boutique hotel that offers elegant rooms including some with views of the city and large balconies. We pride ourselves on offering the best service to our customers. Royal Palace Hotel was built from 28/01/2009 to 15/03/2010. The Royal Palace Hotel was designed and built with high architectural standards. It is among the Hanoi Old Quarter's top ten luxurious hotels and has an excellent view of Hanoi. The Royal Palace Hotel provides you with a comfortable and relaxing accommodation in well appointed rooms furnished with the latest facilities. As an added bonus, Royal Palace Hotel is currently offering a special 45% Grand Opening discount on all rooms and Free Taxi pick up at Hanoi Aiport to Hotel if you book over 3 nights (until 30th December 2011) . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Royal Palace Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing