We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly charming little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #34 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed for three nights in July 2014 and there are not enough positive adjectives in the English language to describe our stay in Charming Hotel 2 in Hanoi, it was delightful from start to finish. Linda, Mary, Tracey and Kate were so friendly, charming, giddy, fun and helpful as were Tony and the other male staff whose names I don.t know. We were welcomed with fresh fruit juice, warm smiles and cold cloths on our arrival, we were treated like valued friends and not hotel guests. The staff were so willing to give advice and listen to queries. We booked the trip to Halong Bay with them and also the sleeper train to Hue with no problems.
We had breakfast there each morning which was very good and substantial.
The bedroom were spotless and the bed decorated with rose petals. The bed was extremely comfortable. The en suite was a good size with both a bath and shower. There is flat screen TV and computer with free WIFI in each room.
The hotel is located in the heart of the old quarter in Hanoi and close to the lake with lots of excellent street food and restaurants nearby.
What crowned it for us was that the girls on reception guessed we were celebrating ( although this had not been mentioned to anyone) and presented us with a beautiful bouquet of orchids on the day we were leaving. I have never experience service like this even in 5 star establishments, all the girls gave us hugs when we were leaving and Tracey stayed on past her finish time so she could wave us off. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and sincerely hope I will be back in Hanoi so I can stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cullion6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,462)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel earlier this month, and had the most amazing experience!! Linda and the staff there made it feel like we were staying with family, and were the most helpful people we have come across. My friend arrived in Hanoi minus her luggage, and Linda and her team continually tried to locate it with the airlines whilst we went to Halong Bay. They went over and above and we can not thank them enough.
The location was perfect, and great walking distance to everything.
The room was superb, breakfast was fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel, and will be staying there every time I visit Hanoi. Thank you again!! From Mel & Leith

Room Tip: We had rooms 301 and 401 which had great balconies to watch the chaos in the streets.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We just left this sweet hotel today. We had a lovely 3 night stay at Charming 2 Hotel. Location was excellent - right in the heart of the old quarter. The hotel is a little dated and the walls are thin, but I think you'd get that everywhere in Hanoi. What they do with the space in the rooms is amazing - I was surprised to see how well they fitted 3 beds in the 1 room without making it feel tight. The breakfast was simple but extremely tasty and lovely! BUT!!! 1 thing that makes Charming 2 stand high above all the rest is the OUTSTANDING customer service! WOW! I have never had customer service like it before. The staff at Charming 2 go out of their way to make you feel comfortable at all times. All staff knew all our names (children included) within the hour of us being there. None of the service was fake as it is in some hotels - pure honest devotion to their customers - they care! Special thanks to Linda, Mary, Tracey & Kate - girls - you should be proud of yourselves! Thank you once again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oliscali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wonderful stay in this guesthouse with our 2 families. In total we were eleven. Staff is incredibly helpful in finding transport, restaurants, things ot visit. In short: to make sure that this is your best stay ever. Located in the old Hanoi streets, the hotel is really central. Rooms are clean and breakfast is excellent. Great value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lieven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently spent a few nights in this " charming" little hotel. Our first two nights were great, then a night away at Halong Bay then back to the same hotel, where we were treated like long lost friends. Kate had helped me book train tickets and the Halong Bay trip. She also recommended other hotels for our trip and arranged various pick ups for us. Also Tracy, Mary and Johnny were all so helpful and friendly too. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with complimentary drinks and fruit and very strong wifi. If ever I get back to Hanoi I will definitely stay there again and will recommend to any friends I have going. Thanks guys, it was lovely to meet you all.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DebsLanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I loved everything about the Hotel Charming II. The rooms are clean, comfortable and up-to-date, the breakfasts are amazing, and as other reviews have mentioned, the staff is incredible. Mary helped me through a lost-luggage crisis and was unbelievably patient when my jet-lagged brain could not figure out the hotel safe. The entire staff was quick to help with trip details or hail a cab; at one point the doorman saw that I was having trouble crossing the street (so many motorbikes) and actually came to my aid. I felt very comfortable here as a solo female traveler. The location is also solid. The hotel is quiet and cool, but step out the door and you're in the middle of the old quarter and right around the corner from all the shops. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cailin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The staff here made our stay incredibly comfortable, despite the worst circumstances! When my travelling buddy became ill and we had to cancel our trip to Ha Long Bay, the staff helped us to negotiate with the tour company to get a refund and provided us with translated instructions for the pharmacy! We needed to stay another night in Hanoi and although they were fully booked, they arranged a comparable room for us at their sister hotel, paid for taxis between the two and even sent one of their porters with us in the cab to ensure we got there ok. The staff at the sister hotel (Holidays Hotel) were great too. It was the best service we could have hoped for and meant that what could have ruined our holiday, didn't! We can't wait to stay here again when we reschedule our Ha Long Bay trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#118 of 597 in Hanoi
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#48 of 597 in Hanoi
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 597 in Hanoi
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 597 in Hanoi
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing