We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #30 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Hanoi”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a fabulous experience staying at the Charming Hotel 2. Thoughout our 9 day stay all staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and to make sure our visit was enjoyable. Mary, Sophie and the other front desk staff are fabulous, the service is very attentive and cannot be faulted. The rooms are very nice, light and modern with good decor and furnishings and great linen, and the housekeeping each day is excellent. Breakfast is good and there is also free wifi and fruit and water. There is a handy laundry service too which is very good value and the staff will always offer assistance with places to visit, taxis, transfers and so on. The hotels location os very good, in the heart of the old town with lots to see nearby as well as shops cages and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend. We felt sad to say goodbye!

Room Tip: Hanoi's streets can be a little noisy so rooms higher up are good. This would apply to all hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAA003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,014
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent more than a week in Vietnam. Cruised through Halong Bay, trekked in Sapa, caught the sights and sounds of Hanoi. Weather was perfect, views were breathtaking and the awesome staff of Charming 2 Hotel made our holiday extra memorable. Our special thanks to Mr Johnny, Ms Mary, Ms Sophie, Ms Linda, Ms Kate, Mr Vi and the rest of the crew! You made us feel so welcomed even when we arrived back from Sapa in the wee hours of the morning! Great job and I wish more travelers will get the chance to experience your warm hospitality! 5 stars all around!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moppet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and were taken care of by the super friendly staff. Breakfast was good. The wifi was strong. The laundry service was very convenient and the folks at the front desk were awesome - particularly Mary. They helped us find places to visit and provided copious assistance when we had to change our travel plans to Hue. If I could, I'd bring this staff with me everywhere I traveled. As a footnote, we met some travelers from Australia who stayed at the Charming 2 many days before us and they too raved about the excellent and friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in the hotel during our recent trip to Vietnam. Located in the Old Quarter and so is easy walk to the lake and french quarter.
Staff service was excellent. They made an effort to remember our names and were always very attentive.
Upgraded us to a suite room for the initial 3 nights (with a balcony). The bed wasn't great and made a lot of screehing noice, though we kept on forgetting to tell the staff about it.Provided 2 bottles of water and fresh fruits every day.There was also a desktop with complimentary Internet in the room.
The other room for 1 night later in the week was better and had a larger bed than the suite room. Same facilities as before.
Breakfast was a la carte and nice. Though it might become monotonous for a longer stay, we had no problems with the variety and were more than satisfied.
Overall a good choice and we won't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngarg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of out trip in Vietnam, and although there were no major issues, there was nothing special about our stay. Overall, were quite underwhelmed with the room and amenities based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews. The room itself was clean and spacious although a bit dated. The room door always had a tiny gap at the top which was no major problem as it still locked up fine.We also had a small balcony facing the street which would have been lovely although we couldn't fully enjoy it as it was drizzly when we stayed. There was also a desktop with complimentary Internet in the room. The bathroom was a bit cramped and the shower doubles as a bathtub so the water kept spraying onto the toilet and floors even with the shower curtains shut. Water pressure in the shower was a bit weak. Toiletries supplied were basic as you would expect.
Breakfast is a la carte and you can choose anything you like from a list of about 10-15 items including pho, fruits, pancake/crepes, bacon, eggs, toast etc. We didn't get to try everything but the crepes seemed to be re-heated and not freshly made, as did the bacon. Staff were helpful although checkout took a while (about 15 minutes) as only one staff member was at reception. The location is convenient for walking around the Old Quarter and the lake.
Overall, no major complaints but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinhHanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear travellers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make ourself better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
Especially thanks to lostwanderer 12 for your contribution idea for us and sorry if any inconvinence you encountered during your stay with us .We have updated all of our rooms ,toilets ,service and staff to better serve our customers.We wish to welcome you back in the future to bring you the most comfortable stay.
Your Best Regards,
Manager
Minh Pham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on Avon
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for a total of four nights and took trips to Sapa and Halon Bay. All the rooms we had were clean and comfortable, with fresh fruit, water and internet access provided. On our Sapa trip we were escorted right to the waiting train by a staff member, and met at FOUR OCLOCK in the morning by another. We were given a room to catch up on sleep before being allocated another room. Our homeward flight was late in the evening and they gave us a room in the late afternoon to shower, change and rest in, We can't praise the staff highly enough and they made our stay in Hanoi very special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our trip in Vietnam, couldn't fault it at all the hotel was very cheap but the standards were fantastic. The rooms were excellent. The staff were so friendly and helpful. It was my birthday whilst over there and they overheard us talking when we returned in the evening I had flowers scattered all over the bed, lovely touch. Highly recommend this hotel if in Hanoi. Location also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#33 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#62 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#106 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing