We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service I've ever experienced” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #30 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best service I've ever experienced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

6 of us stayed here on our way through Vietnam for a total of 3 nights broken up by a trip to Halong Bay (highly recommended). The staff are superb with all the reception staff speaking very good English. They are incredibly helpful and eager without being pushy.

Breakfast was good and again the service was quick.

They helped us with taxis, directions, recommendations and allowed us to leave our bags when we went off on our trip. All of this for a bargain price.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. If you're looking for five star luxury go elsewhere. If you're looking for a bed, bath, breakfast, great location and service with a smile then look no further.

Special thanks to Mary for checking how our holiday was going once we had departed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,214
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
370
1,013
224
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Addicksforwver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were picked up at the airport after the long flight from the UK. The driver was there waiting for us, so no waiting around or having to haggle with the locals.

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were made very welcome with a drink and then shown to our rooms. Our room was spacious - we opted for one of the more expensive rooms -, clean and easily accessed by lift. Fresh fruit was supplied each day.

I do not think that you can escape from the noise in this area - it is a busy area, but frankly it did not keep us awake. We stayed at three hotels in Hanoi and I do not think that any of them were totally noise free.

The staff were great and the place had a feel of it being family run. An excellent breakfast was included in the price.

This was good value accommodation - and when the owner takes the trouble to ask if there is anything that he should be doing that would improve his hotel you know that they really do care.

Room Tip: If you can afford it opt for one of the executive rooms - they are not executive by Western standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicksforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Charming 2 in Hanoi for 6 nights, but actually our time with them spanned almost 2 weeks because of side trips to Halong Bay and Sapa that had us coming back to visit our favourite hotel staff. The hotel itself has everything you could need - rooms with super comfy beds, an alarm clock with light, a place to put your luggage, a desk with an actual desktop computer to use (we had a laptop with us but still liked using the room computer!), mini fridge, a fully stocked, clean bathroom with an actual tub & shower curtain (a first on our trip), fantastic a/c and a big TV. We stayed in one of the standard doubles that just had a very small window over the bed but didn't really feel we were missing out. The hotel breakfast was very pleasant and plentiful. They also provide a large plate of fruit each day in your room which is a really nice touch.

But what makes this place really special are the lovely staff working there - people like the manager Johnny who greeted us with a big smile when we arrived just after 5AM on our first day, all the wonderful ladies Kate, Mary, Sophie (and there were so many others but I can't remember their names!) and the friendly young men helping us at the door. Each day we were greeted by name when we walked downstairs and felt genuinely cared for by these people. Unlike some hotels were you feel pressured to book tours or transport with them, we never did. And though we knew we probably could have saved a few dollars if we'd gone direct to anther tour company, we still chose to book with the tour office in the hotel because they made life so easy. We booked our incredible tour to Halong Bay with them (and the hotel stored our extra luggage while we were away) and also our train rides to Sapa (they provided a complimentary taxi ride to the train station and had one staff member accompany us to ensure we got on the right train!). We also booked our airport transfer with them before we left Hanoi. Probably the thing that really took their service over the top for us was that every time we returned back to the hotel to pick up or store our luggage (this was after we officially checked out of the hotel), they still greeted us by name and with smiles and then offered to let us have a room to freshen up or sleep in for a few hours to recover from our long trips! After a sleepless overnight train ride back from 3 days of trekking in Sapa, the manager Johnny was again up waiting for us at 5AM to return and graciously let us sleep in the extra room for "as long as you need it!" We were so grateful and completely blown away by the service we received even after checking out. After spending a month in Vietnam where we'd become accustomed to being hassled and overcharged everywhere we went, it was a real breathe of fresh air for us to stay at a place where we actually felt cared for.
We were already enjoying Hanoi for the food and bustle of the Old Quarter, but our stay with the lovely staff of the Hotel Charming 2 really made us fall in love with the city. I know we'll never stay anywhere else in Hanoi but here!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
293 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Rooms, facilities and breakfast are above average two-star hotels and so are the room rates. A big disadvantage is the noise not only from the streets but also from within the hotel. The so-called soundproof rooms (booking.com) are not soundproof at all a ventilation fan in each room provides ample access for all the noise on its way into your room, some machinery coming on and off every 12 seconds during the whole night blew my mind (and head) apart and last but not least the cleaning staff in the corridor added up to a really terrifyng experience. I can recommend this hotel only to the deaf, the hearing impaired or people who are fond of sleeping with earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank globusat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinhHanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear travellers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make ourself better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
We would like to send the author of this review our deep appology for the inconvinence you encounterd during your stay with us.
Listenning to your comment ,we have updated our sound proof window system to avoid noice at our best.the pumping machine that caused sound has been fixed already.We also train our house keeping staff to keep quiet during work.We believe with our hard try ,the service here will be enhanced day by day.
We still hope to welcome you back one day,We will try our best to bring you the most comfortable stay.
Many thanks again and Best Regards,
Manager
Minh Pham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were pretty basic, and small. Try to get one with a window. We stayed in one without and it was pretty enclosed. The one with the window was much better. The room was clean. The bed was nice and big due to it being two singles together. The breakfast was very nice and large. Staff were very friendly and happy to help with tours or day trips around Hanoi.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

In our current times, replying to inquiries make a big impact to customers. Unfortunately, they lacked in that area which was very disappointing. However, when we got there, service was superb! Their front desk staff/operations team were very accommodating. Their rooms were very small. I found the bed very hard too. The toilet was not so clean and had smell. I did not like the breakfast at all. I hope their management can do something about it.

For the price that we paid, i don't think it was worth the money. We have stayed in another hotel which was way cheaper, better location and better breakfast.. plus inquiries are replied quickly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinhHanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear travellers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make ourself better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
Following your comment,We have updated our in room funiture.Toilets are checked to be sure for the best cleaness.More improvement with new dishes for your breakfast.The sales department is insured to quick respond to our customers.
We hope with our constructive attitude,We will improve our hotel day by day better.
Once again,a big thanks to the author and We hope to welcome you back in the future
Best regards
Manager
Minh Pham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent in hotel just one night but we experienced great service from staff. They are amazing. No problems for everyhing... Money exchage in a minute (with good rate), taxi service from/to airport only 18$ in one way, boarding pass printing avaulable, map for Hanoi downtown delivered.
Hotel itself is in Old Quarter close to lake and shooping streets. A few restaurants around wit "european" food. Breakfast in hotel with wide choice and refillin everything. We were going to Ha Long Bay after stay in that hotel but we left some piece of our luggage free of charge in hotel for 3 days. Nice surprise in a room - was decorated for our honeymoon celebration with flowers, baloons and bottle of wine.
Room itself big with complimentary fruits and water but not so modern that's the reason of 4 no 5 points.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#29 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#55 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing