We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #34 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Of all the hotels my two friends and I stayed at during our three week trip around Vietnam, Charming 2 was the most enjoyable and pleasant.

Upon checking in we were greeted with welcome drinks (as is the custom with most Vietnamese hotels) before being shown to our room. Decor is tasteful and simple. All rooms come with a computer with fast internet connection and a television. Provided everyday is a plate of fresh fruit, water bottles, tea and instant coffee. My friends and I also received a complimentary bottle of wine.

Breakfast is included, and is served on the bottom floor. The menu includes breakfast pho, crepes, croissants, eggs and fresh fruit, among other things. It is tasty, however you may want to try experience some Ha Noi street food breakfast; the venues of which are only a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. The breakfast staff are extremely friendly, although if you are not much of a morning person, can be a bit overwhelming and cheery.

What makes Charming 2 Hotel stand out is the staff. They were very helpful and went out of their way to make our trip as easy as possible. Whether it was by providing us with a map of the local area and giving us advice on where to eat, what to see or where to buy a swimming costume in the end of autumn, escorting our taxi (by motorbike) to the train station and helping us find our carriage, or providing us with a room in which to shower before an overnight train ride to Sa Pa after we had checked out at midday, the staff provided outstanding customer service beyond anything we were expecting.

I am planning a second trip to Ha Noi i August and will definitely stay at the Charming 2 hotel. Enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,462)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,393 - 1,399 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We initially had only booked for two nights. I arrived very sick with Tonsilitis and the staff could not have helped any more. They arranged a visit to the doctor, moved us to a quiet room and were so caring and thoughtful. We booked a trip to Halong bay after Linda recommended Bhaya cruise and we were not disappointed. On returning from Halong Bay we decided to stay two more nights, to our delight were upgraded to a romantic suite. When I was feeling better the team were able to help with maps and advice on restaurants and attractions. The buffet breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the rooms very clean and lovely. They all remembered our names and I truly cannot describe how welcoming Charming is. It's utterly charming! Linda and Mr David were a standout for service and deserve an award! Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieandtheStrongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived late at night, the entire staff fairly leapt to make us welcome.We came to Hanoi one day before our Viking River Cruise tour started, so this night's hotel was not part of the tour package. We considered going to the Metropole, where we would be staying with Viking the following night, but it would have been more than *five times* as much as the Charming!
The Charming gave us a large room at the front of the hotel. (Not sure if it was the second or third floor). It was elegant, spacious, and clean, and there actually were flower petals strewn on the bed! Our little balcony looked out on the fascinating old quarter of Hanoi, and we enjoyed watching business conducted on the street. A very nice buffet breakfast was included.
We're very grateful to Tripadvisor for helping us find this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey_in_Middletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staff provides warm and personal service, helps with tour advice, speaks excellent English and will recommend non-touristy restaurants where the locals eat. Great place that served a noodle dish with beef and peanuts, can't remember what it was called. Agree with all prior positive reviews, no need to repeat that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaloAlto_Ca_Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel was great, the staff were friendly and the service was 5 star. we stayed in both 701 and 601, 701 had a musty smell about it,. both rooms had a lovely balcony, the wifi was a little patchy at times and we needed to go into the corridor to get a strong connection. The breakfast was sufficient, the pho good. fruit baskets in the room were lovely and they were changed daily, Johnny went above and beyond the call of duty, helping us cross the road for the first time and assisting us to purchase sim cards for our phones. Linda and the other ladies were always there to answer questions and have a chat, when we returned from our Halong bay trip it truley was like returning home.

It was also a good position right in the middle of the action

Would I stay again? absolutely!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo_lin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel gets amazing reviews and it's definitely warranted - the staff are fantastic. We stayed here because we were checking in late and leaving early the next morning so didn't want to spend much on a hotel. The welcome drinks are a bit cheesy but it all adds to the charm of this place. The rooms are simple and clean with free wifi. Given the hustle and bustle of hanoi we were a bit worried about the noise however this wan't a problem on the 7th floor. I'd definitely stay here again if I wanted a cheap stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I liked the idea of it being in the heart of Hanoi's Old Quarter and it suited our budget.
Rooms are clean, quiet & well serviced (fruit and water) and have western style bathrooms.
The breakfast in the morning was substantial and offered western and vietnamese foods.
The staff were consistently helpful with their suggestions on how to navigate Hanoi - where to eat, shop, tour, the doorman even walked us to the post office and helped us mail our gifts back home. After taking the overnight train from Lao Cai/Sapa, we arrived at 5am and just expected to leave our bags at the hotel and come back at 2pm to check in. The staff ( yes they were up and at it) would not dream of letting us go back onto the street (thank god - we were sooo tired). No, we were checked in at 5am, ( and got upgraded for free) we showered and slept in before breakfast - unlike our friends staying at the Sofitel, who had to buy a room in another hotel till 2pm!
BUT the best part of this hotel are the staff - all of them - from the doorman who always wanted to do something/anything for us, to the reception staff who let me practice my terrible vietnamese and became our friends, the cooks - always smiling at breakfast and the managers for ensuring this high standard - congratulations! We can't wait to get back and see them all again.
We compared every other hotel with this one ( we stayed in a few over 6 weeks) and always ended up saying " this ain't no Hotel Charming!"

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms - both were just fine and very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fdaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#119 of 596 in Hanoi
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#48 of 596 in Hanoi
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#5 of 596 in Hanoi
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 596 in Hanoi
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing