We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #30 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our family flew in from Kuala Lumpur to Hanoi. In KL, we stayed at the Pan Pacific KLIA. Let me tell you that the service of the 5 star PanPac absolutely cannot measure up to the service at Hotel Charming 2 in Hanoi. Both services were efficient.

In PanPac, it was cool, detached and aloof. In Charming 2, it was warm, happy, enthusiastic and sincere. Mary, Sophie, Linda, David, Vi, Johnny and company - when you ask them for anything, you just feel that they are not only happy to oblige, they give you the sense that nothing is too much to ask for.

Our trip was pretty much last minute bookings. When I contacted IndoChina Junk to book a 2 night cruise for the period from 14 to 19 December [I told them any 2 nights would do], I was informed by email that all their junks were fully booked and they could only offer 1 night.

I then contacted Charming 2's manager, Johnny, and within 12 hours, he was able to reply with a booking for 2 nights on Dragon's Pearl 1 with IndoChina! Now, how good is that!

Charming 2 provided us with free airport pick up in an airconditioned 7 seater van as we are staying for more than 3 nights. Getting the airport pick up is a good idea after reading all those stories of high pressure from cabbies at the airport, this being our first trip to Hanoi.

The hotel is centrally located in the Old Quarters. We took a family room on the 3rd floor. The room is spacious. There is a bit of road traffic noise in the morning but that is very much a part of Hanoi and you get used to it after a while. The room has a balcony which overlooks the street which is nice. The aircon is cool and the shower is hot and strong.

The room even has its own in-room personal computer for you to surf the net. Now, how good is that. Even the 5 star hotels in KL do not have that.

The room fridge is stocked with a plentiful supply of bottled water, big and small, as well as beer and sodas. Here's the best part - the prices of the drinks in the room's bar fridge is cheaper than the prices in the coffee shops in town, unlike hotels all over the world where the room drinks are usually twice or 3 times outside prices. So, don't bother going out to buy water from nearby mini markets.

Here's something else different from most hotels' buffet breakfast. We have had breakfast here 3 mornings and the dishes offered have changed each morning. They also offer hot pho, the famous Hanoi rice noodle soup.

When we went off for 2 nights to Halong Bay, we borrowed a pair of slippers and a bottle opener from the room and forgot to tell them. They never even mentioned it when we checked back in on our return from Halong Bay. Contrast this with PanPac KLIA where I called room service to borrow a bottle opener. The guy who delivered it refused to leave it with me [no doubt afraid that I'd nick off with the $1 opener, even though I was staying in the suite there], and he stood there and made me open all 3 bottles of beer at one go. I will have something to say about this when I review the PanPac.

The Charming 2 is not a 5 star big hotel. It is a boutique hotel. It is small, warm, friendly and if you are in a strange city and you want to feel really at home with people who would do their darnest to accommodate your every wishes, Charming 2 is the one for you. Would I recommend it? Absolutely! If I return to Hanoi, would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Pick rooms with balcony. Higher floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,215
    216
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
369
1,014
223
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the Hanoi Charming 2 hotel for 2 nights on 1st and 2nd Dec 2012. We really enjoyed our stay there. The location of the hotel is really central allowing us to explore Hanoi on foot whilst we were there. The room was clean and had everything we needed - including a really big bed! The breakfast was also good, offering lots of different choices. The best thing about this hotel though were the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially Mary who worked at reception. It felt like nothing was too much trouble for her.
After we left the hotel, we travelled to Halong Bay for a 2 night boat trip. The hotel were happy for us to leave out luggage there whilst we were away and when we returned to collect our luggage, they offered us the use of a room to have a shower and get ready for our onward journey. I would definately recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Returned back from Vietnam a week ago and I was lucky enough to have stayed in Charming II Hotel whilst in Hanoi. The overall experience was great with hotel staff being very friendly and happy to help, clean rooms, free wi-fi and breakfast. The hotel is in a great location and close to everything and staff have maps on hand with some of the best attractions and will gladly hail a taxi and send you on your way (if unable to walk). Linda, Mary, Sophie, Johnny and the whole crew were great to talk to and were there to give you the best service all day, everyday and to make you feel very comfortable. At one stage I had to go to a doctor due to illness, Linda and the crew got me into an english speaking hospital in a matter of 30 minutes. Best hotel I stayed in while on my trip and best service i've ever received. Cheers Charming II Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrissy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

These guys know how to do it right! All the reviews you read on Tripadvisor (apart from a few where I feel the reviewer is one of these "impossible to please" types) rave about the service at this hotel and they are right to! Just amazing service and delivered with a smile from absolutely all the staff from the guys who rush to open the door for you, to the incredible reception staff and all the way to the cleaners! And these are not the fake smiles you get for 5 seconds at the expensive hotels - no, these are genuine and friendly from some of the nicest folk you'll meet in Vietnam. The hotel is perfectly positioned in a relatively quiet street in the Old Quarter but near to all the sights you'll want to see in this part of Hanoi and some good restaurants too. It's very clean and neutrally decorated and the rooms have good computers so you can file your photos as well as send emails back home. It really is a home away from home where everyone remembers your name and goes out of their way to help you enjoy your time in the city. They look out for your interests too, and when I was about to be ripped off by a local taxi one of the reception staff came out to the street and skillfully persuaded him to lower his price! In the end it was hard to leave this safe haven but I'll always remember it fondly. My thanks to all the staff but especially the wonderful Mary, Sophie and Johnnie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faraway939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Hanoi Charming Hotel was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Vietnam, due to its excellent service, clean comfortable rooms, fantastic location and friendly staff. The staff helped us plan large portions of our trip quickly and effectively which was extremely helpful as this was our first independent trip overseas and were always happy to assist with directions and recommendations. The rooms were clean, spacious and excellent value while the breakfast was delicious. It was really sad to have to say goodbye at the end of our stay and I will definitely stay there if I return to Vietnam. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies are nicest as the street views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is superb!
From the airport pick up, to the check out, it was nothing less than sublime.
Location is fab, right in the Old Quarter amongst the action, but quiet at night to have a good sleep. The decor is done just right, from the lobby, rooms and the bathroom.
Breakfast is fantastic, everything you could ask for. Fresh and unlimited. I had a hankering for the tasty mangoes, which they had run out of, but they ran and got me a whole one, beautifully sliced too.
The staff are what sets this place apart.
Thanks to Kate, Mary, Sophie and of course the lovely Linda, you girls are legends!
Highly recommend staying in this hotel, you won't be disappointed.
Thanks Hotel Charming II, you are just that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceRoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I should have written earlier but didn't. We just stayed at a crappy 5-star resort in Krabi and it just made me want to rush home and write about how wonderful Chaming 2 was. We arrived in August, feeling quite unsure of what to expect and we left in tears because it was so difficult to say goodbye. Mary, Sophie and gang made us feel like family.

Coming from a Southeast Asian country as well, I was quite unprepared for how different the people of Hanoi were. It made me interested in reading about their history to figure out why they were so closed off! But that was never the case at Charming 2. In that sense, this team really carried out their work with the utmost sense of professionalism and dedication... To obliterate that perception every time I stepped through its doors.

Charming 2's location is pretty good... Just walking distance from the best phó in town and also the best 'bun cha' ever!! It's a bit of a walk to the lake but that thing is overrated!! The entrance faces a
The side of an old, run down temple so you don't walk out looking at yet another shop but just a little stall, an old yellow stone wall and a gorgeous tree in its compound. Okay... I'm exaggerating when I say gorgeous but it has character.

The rooms are very good and my kids loved running downstairs to fetch new DVDs to watch when we hid from the heat during the early afternoons. The porter had previously worked in my hometown and spoke perfect Malay. Breakfast was okay for the price you pay.

I really miss you, Charming 2!

Room Tip: Get the large family suites... It's a few more dollars but you get the front balcony view and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sathaskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#33 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#14 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#63 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#108 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing