We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Beyond Unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #34 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff at Charming 2 Hotel are a bunch of really helpful and friendly people (Johnny Kieu, Linda, Kate, Mr Vi etc)! Amid all the crazy traffic and incessant horning out in the streets, the hotel always serves to be a place of relief with all the happy faces of the staff, at any time of the day! The staff also gave us good advice on the appropriate cab fares to our destinations, and prices of certain stuff (ie.shirts, tees) to ensure that we don't get fleeced by some unscrupulous people.
I was pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms are very clean and well-maintained! Special mention has to go to the toilet, where it IS VERY VERY CLEAN! =) Nothing to complain here.
Special thanks goes to Charming's porter Mr Vi, who saw us at the Hanoi Train Station. My friends and I saw him running out from nowhere to direct us to our correct carriage for our train ride to Sapa! Super Porter!
I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family if they are going to Hanoi. Cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyangkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,462)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Even though we saw all the good comments on tripadvisor, nothing beats experiencing it ourselves and we must say Charming 2 has really live up to its reputation. Right from the start, we took advantage of their promotion and booked 3 nights directly for one free airport transfer. Rooms were obviously clean and good. In the family suite, there was even free wine (which we were still checking with the front desk to see if its chargable - seems too good to be true). Hotel location was central to where are the action were old quarters. The staff offered daily tips on what we can do (if you are lazy like us that do on the day planning, rest assure you have some of the best advisors in top to help you). When we were trying to figure our way at Hanoi train station, Mr Vi a staff with Charming 2 Hotel saw us and ran towards us. He help us with our luggage and brought us all the way to our cabin... we were like Wow! where did he appeared from and this is what we say top notch service. After we return from Sapa, we went back to charming 2 at 6am and they gave us a free room to freshing up. We paid for a normal 4 seater airport transfer but were plesantly surprised yet again that we had an upgrade to a 9 seater (we don't assume this is part of the normal routine and we hope people don't always expect this from them) but what a way to end the holiday... The small hotel style really gave the personal touch that i don't think you will get at other places. Will definately go back again and recommend my own friends to this hotel. My advice, there is no need to pay for a more luxuriously hotel, this is really good enough and you will definately find this good enough, save your money for other stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desmond_Lim_YX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for our 8 days trip in Vietnam. We were welcomed by their cheerful staff when we alighted from the airport pickup. Welcome drinks and hot towels were served immediately when we arrived and the porters carried our bags without any hesitation. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous and usually "pho" is specially prepared for you if you want it as part of your breakfast. The front desk managers were also helpful in pointing out the directions to our intended destinations and even provided us with local maps. The rooms were clean and wifi was available in every room. Special thanks to Johnny, Linda, Mary , Mr Vi and the rest of the staff whose names we did not get for making our stay a comfortable one. Highly reccomended to those who wish to stay in Hanoi.

Stayed during Oct 2012 with friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Changcai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife Christine and I have this week spent 4 nights, 3 days (Tuesday 23rd, Wednesday 24th, Thursday 25th and Saturday 27th October) at Charming II Hotel Hanoi http://www.hanoicharminghotel.com/charming2.html. We had rooms on both the 3rd floor, back of hotel and 4th floor, front (street) of hotel. This choice of accommodation was the result of much research both on trip advisor and elsewhere. Our booking was made through agoda.com though of course you can deal direct. This was our first trip to Hanoi.
Our experience of both agoda and Charming II Hotel was truly faultless. The Hotel is well placed to explore Hanoi especially on foot, as we chose to do. There is plenty to see and do. The traffic there, of course, being quite extraordinary, yes, but we actually found it quite mesmerising; we stood for ages on our balcony, watching the teeming life below.
One piece of essential advice I would offer is this: make full use of the staff at this hotel both prior to arrival and once there. They know Hanoi and are very happy to share all that is good there. We emailed in advance told them our needs and they were prompt and helpful in their responses. All staff we had contact with proved most efficient and effective, they are also immensely caring. We found them (Sophie, Mary, Kate et al) simply wonderful.
Also make use of their pick-up service (and drop off service) from airport and to airport – we found the service prompt, professional and fairly priced (18US dollars per trip).
Equally, we wanted a trip to Ha Long Bay, (Bai Tu Long), a 2 day 1 night cruise and just the briefest of specifications (do some research yourselves, first, it can make all the difference to outcomes regarding the Ha Long Bay experience) outlined to Sophie and the trip was organised which, by the way, was really lovely – Indochina, I think (through Charming II Hotel) we cruised on Red Dragon 1 junk.
Types of cruises, junks, routes vary and subsequently prices also. We opted to join an 8 berth junk and paid nearly 400US for the two of us. We were happy with the deal and felt the dollars traded delivered our anticipated level of experience; ours was a good cruise, but other reviews vary, regarding a host of factors, but Ha Long Bay is too good to miss!
The rooms in Charming II Hotel we were most satisfied with, the food also, which was breakfast only for us.
In summary our first trip to Hanoi was really rewarding and much of this was down to choosing Charming II Hotel Hanoi as our base and experiencing the services of those exemplary staff within. We are very happy to recommend Charming II Hotel, Hanoi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insightphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Charming 2 Hotel has a really energetic and friendly crew who gives good advice and goes the extra to assist anyone in need. When we returned from Sa Pa, it was wee hours in the morning and in just hours later we are actually heading for another tour. The guys from charming 2 offered us the toilets to freshen up in a room that was just checked out. We absolutely felt at home and the charming staff grows on you for sure! The rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast spread was good, the team is sincere and affable. We were charmed by Linda & Kate's team. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a wonderful little hotel with staff who work so hard to please. They really made our stay wonderful! I would particularly like to mention Kate's excellent email replies, Linda's enthusiasm, Johnny's local knowledge and Mary's kindness with our children. We loved our suite at the front of the hotel. It was quite a good size and, although on a busy street, fairly quiet because of excellent double glazing. A truly charming hotel! We would really recommend a couple of things nearby: Try the hot chocolates and/or algar yoghurts at Pho Co, 2 Hang Dong Street. Have a massage at SF Spa two streets away. Go to see some Jazz at Binh Minh Jazz club - amazing!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on floor 7 or 8 for the views and being slightly quieter. However, this is very qu...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanghaisimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at charming 2 hotel. Our stay was made easy with friendly & very accommodating staff. A clean, spacious room (free wifi, free bottle of wine, fruit each day & free water each day). Our room was at front of hotel on very busy street (all streets in old quarter are busy) but we didn't hear anything because of glazed windows. Room had queen & single bed, with the usual trimmings - DVD, safe, mini bar - there was even a desktop computer. Breakfast included. For a budget/midrange hotel we were very happy with everything & would recommend. However, a hotel a bit closer to restaurants would have been good, especially since we had to carry a toddler around (that was just tiring for us!).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crea8ive_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#121 of 597 in Hanoi
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#48 of 597 in Hanoi
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 597 in Hanoi
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
0.3 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 597 in Hanoi
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing