We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junk, yes a junk”

Bai Tho Junks - Private Tours
Ranked #323 of 822 Tours in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bai tho junks. Very Special for organizing luxury junks cruise in Halong bay Vietnam.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Junk, yes a junk”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a disappointment, after thoroughly enjoying the south we endured the halong bay trip. The junk was a disgrace,3 adults sharing a room with just a curtain separating bedroom & toilet, rock hard beds, no soap or airconditioning in the powderoom. What a rip off!!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Jenbo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    20
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalmeny, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't be conned, this company is a pack of con artists, don't waste your money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I booked this tour 4 months ago and paid $700.00 dollars AUD. They picked us up from our hotel
in Hanoi, then after nearly 4 hrs travelling we reached Halong Bay we were so excited.
We were then told to sit at an outside cafe, we sat there for an hour and a half, I went and saw the
French manager,Pierre, who couldn't or wouldn't tell us what was going on.
Finally they boarded us on to small shuttle boats and we went out to our Junk which by the way is
now painted White.,not as the photos look.
They served us lunch,which was average to say the least,we asked to go to our cabins, which they took us to, we had to find and carry our own luggage the staff just watched us.NOT GOOD.
We started to unpack, we had Deluxe 201, lovely, with balcony, beautiful bathroom, better than
expected, next thing over the loudspeaker, they called everyone to the top sundeck.
Then the fun started, they wanted us to transfer to a small 1 star crappy junk, I said NO WAY, as did the rest of the couples,one couple from Switzerland had booked the Presidential Suite,
he did this as a surprise for his wife $1200 USD for 2 nights.
We argued for 4 hours and would not leave the boat, it was a disgrace, I was so disappointed' the only reason we came to Hanoi was to visit Halong Bay.
We ended up ringing our tour company, they gave us a full refund and we drove back to Halong Bay, without seeing anything, stressed to the max, 8 hours travelling.
We thinlk what happened as there were only 5 couples staying 2 nights, they wanted us off the
boat as it wasn't worth it to the company.The manager Pierre was useless, they don't care that they ruin your holiday, they just want your money, then try and con you with rubbish about
officials, its all a GIANT CON, as the junk went out full the next day.HOW?????????????????
We should have been on it the next day so be VERY AWARE<THIS COMPANY IS A CON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Take a very experienced travellers advice STAY AWAY DO NOT BOOK WITH
THIS COMPANY> VIETAMESE CON ARTISTS AT THE BEST>
We all left, not just us also the other 4 couples from other countries we could all see what was
happening. BE AWARE OF THIS COMPANY.
They go under VICTORY STAR CRUISE or BAI THO CRUISES. CON ARTISTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank Buddy298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“zero organisation and no respect to their clients”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

at teh beggining they took our passports away - when we asked in order to what, they said to check us...that waiting was for 2h!!!!!!!during that time every other boat left,but not ours! The next day we couldn't do planned things beacause short time - but it was already next day, so supposed to be lots time. The lunch was at 10.30am!!!!!!!! all food includes lot of sea food !!!!the staff is impolite, rude and noisy at 5am. So maybe better chooseother company not this one!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Elutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You don't get what you pay for”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Firstly, the positives. The food is very good, and certainly plentiful. The bathrooms are modern and spacious, and the rooms very nice. Most of the staff were wonderful.

Unfortunately, the tour sold to us by our travel agent, and sold to other passengers by their travel agents, did not match what was delivered. Caves, described to be the most beautiful in Vietnam, were not seen. We were told" we don't go there any more". On the last day, we were told there would be no tour, as listed in our itinerary, and we would just have to sit on the boat.
Several passengers complained. The first English speaking member of the crew we approached turned her back and walked away. We demanded to see the tour director, whose defences were that " last night I told you that you weren't having a tour" and "you should see all my emails" ( with complaints), and then his aggression mellowed to " I have to do what the compamy says" He also blamed our travel agent, who we emailed, and the travel agent received comfirmation from the company that we should have had a tour that day! I'm really glad my staff don't handle complaints in this manner!
Unfortunately, the water in the Bay was turbid with pollution, and floating plastic bags and stryofoam were plentiful. It was 21C in the water, and there is no coral.
If you visit Halong Bay, Only go for one night. We saw some effort to collect rubbish, so things may improve in the future.
If you want to see wonderful limstone cliffs rising from crystal clear warm water with amazing marine life and coral, go to El Nido, in the Phillipines.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Valueandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
194 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“OK...for a junk”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Arrived on a foggy day and after a 4 hour drive from Hanoi, passing some gloomy cities, in Halong Bay. Unfortunately the harbour authorities did not gave permission to go on board of the junks. Panic...because a lot of tourists were now stranded and all looking/calling arround for accommodation for the night. Luckily, after a wile they gave us the authorisation to go on board so we could have lunch. This lunch was not the max but still OK. Some (small) portions of seafood like (re-)stuffed crab and two large shrimps each, accompanied by a small buffet with vegetables and rice.
After lunch we went to our cabin. This was rather on the small side, but hey, you are on a junk, not on an ocean steamer.
Still a little bit more shelves on the side would be a great help to put your things out of the way and...from the floor.
After a 3 hours search for our captain, who was already went to shore, thinking that there would be no sailing today we went of for a shortened boat trip than planned. We observed the rock's arround us one by one when they appeared out of the mist, pity but no on e to blame here.
Diner was of the same level as was the lunch, nothing special.
Crew was nice and accommodating, no complaints here.
Bed was comfortable and we slept quite good. The bathroom was the best part about this junk. It was very clean, looked brand new and was working perfect, we even had a rain shower !!!
This excursion was the least part of our Vietnam tour, mostly due to the weather conditions.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bai Tho Junks - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bai Tho Junks - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing