We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food, nice view, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gourmet Corner Restaurant

The Gourmet Corner Restaurant
32 Lo Su Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
84944164132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,721 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the top floor of Elegance Diamond hotel, the Gourmet Corner restaurant and terrace bar boast the finest view of Hanoi from the 12th floor, overlooking Hoan Kiem Lake, the Red River and the ever-growing skyline of Hanoi. The Gourmet Corner food menu is the combination of Vietnamese and some Western favorites. Our Vietnamese food options mostly are the dishes from the North. In northern Vietnam, a colder climate limits the production and availability of spices. As a result, the foods are often less spicy than those in other regions, especially the middle part of Vietnam. Black pepper is used in place of chili as the most popular ingredient to produce spicy flavors. Also, coriander is used commonly in most dishes. In general, northern Vietnamese cuisine is not bold in any particular taste - sweet, salty, spicy, bitter, or sour. Most northern Vietnamese foods feature light and balanced flavors that result from subtle combinations of many different flavoring ingredients. You can also drop by for a drink at the terrace bar to see the panoramic view of the lake, the river in the sunset. PS: Your booking email will be answered by our reservation team within 24 working hours. Any urgent request should be made through the phone call. Note: We plan to temporarily close for about 10 days, from 1st June to 9th June, 2016, for renovation. We are sorry for any inconvenience may cause.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, nice view, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This penthouse restaurant does have a nice view of the Hanoi. But it is the food and the service that was truly excellent.

We dined at around 6 pm and we were able to enjoy the sunset. The set meal which consists of a starter (spring rolls and salad), a main dish (we had beef cooked in bamboo), and dessert (local ice cream) was well worth its price (USD 20). The set meal can be shared by two people with average appetites. :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuanangGala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,091
    320
    80
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We ate at The Gourmet Corner Restaurant twice during our stay in Hanoi. The staff, food and atmosphere is absolutely amazing! One of the best restaurants we ate at during our stay. The caesar salad under the vegetarian menu was a bit bland, however this was because it was just a normal caesar salad with the meat taken out (however my next meal made up for this two fold). The vietnamese food is to die for, especially the spring rolls, the noodle salad and according to my partner, the bamboo beef. We had a wonderful chat with the waitress, who was very accommodating and pleased to chat about Vietnam. Overall it is highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank helpchlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Out of all the places we ate in Vietnam (Except for the street food in Hanoi), this was definitely the best. Every meal was enjoyable, and the staff were great. The food came out fast and was so incredibly tasty. We had three entrees, two mains, and two desserts plus drinks only came to $40. Such good value for what we received.
After my experience here I've recommended the Gourmet Corner to friends, who have all raved about it too.
Go there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahdouglas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My friend told me to stay at Hotel Elegance Diamond because the hotel also had an excellent restaurant on the top floor, and I am glad I took his advice.
The restaurant served an excellent spread for breakfast buffet as well as dinner. The staff were very friendly and attentive making the experience much more enjoyable.
Would definitely recommend dining here to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Gourmet Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We went twice to Gourmet Corner during our 4 days stay in Hanoi. One for lunch and another for dinner.
We utterly enjoyed both.
The Gourmet Corner is place at top floor of Elegance Diamond Hotel. We were not staying at hotel which by the way looked like a top notch hotel, as confirmed by TA ratings. Made me regret not having picked it for our stay.
We broke one of our rules of not eating in hotel restaurants, due to high TA ratings.
We can confirm that the top 5 TA ranking is well deserved.
Good views of city while you enjoy fresh, authentic (not dumbed down) vietnamese food with excellent service... And drinkable wine at sensible prices.
The dishes are nor overly elaborate. The focus of the chef seems to lie on producing classic dishes with fresh ingredients and great flavours. Which he consistently achieves.
The prices are more than reasonable for quality you get Nd the very comfortable environment. There are set menus on offer. However dishes a la carte are reasonable enough.
We had lunch four of us for less than $50with glass of wine included.
The fresh and fried rolls were fantastic, bamboo beef and pork hotpot were the best i have ever had.
Waiters were super nice.
Can not wait for more, really.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jose Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Corner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gourmet Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing