We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top place to go for lunch or dinner in Hanoi”

The Gourmet Corner Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 2,201 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the top floor of Hanoi La Siesta Diamond hotel, the Gourmet Corner restaurant boast the finest view of Hanoi from the 12th floor, overlooking Hoan Kiem Lake, the Red River and the ever-growing skyline of Hanoi. The Gourmet Corner food menu is the combination of Vietnamese and some Western favorites. Our Vietnamese food options mostly are the dishes from the North. In northern Vietnam, a colder climate limits the production and availability of spices. As a result, the foods are often less spicy than those in other regions, especially the middle part of Vietnam. Black pepper is used in place of chili as the most popular ingredient to produce spicy flavors. Also, coriander is used commonly in most dishes. In general, northern Vietnamese cuisine is not bold in any particular taste - sweet, salty, spicy, bitter, or sour. Most northern Vietnamese foods feature light and balanced flavors that result from subtle combinations of many different flavoring ingredients. PS: Please be informed that your reservation request by email will be answered within 24 working hours or later depend on our work-load at that moment. Any urgent booking request should be made through the phone call. We are sorry for any inconvenience may cause.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top place to go for lunch or dinner in Hanoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel and thus went to the restaurant every day, for breakfast but also some dinners and drinks. Enjoyed it a lot - very nice & professional staff, good food and a superb view on Hoan Kiem lake and the inner city. Highly recommended when visiting Hanoi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    375
    89
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great place to enjoy a meal, friendly service and the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at the Elegance Diamond and have to say we really enjoyed the Gourmet Corner as a restaurant of choice in Hanoi. The menu is not huge but does offer a good variety of local and western food.
It pays to book as is small and intimate. Loved the view as is on the 12th floor. The service and attention to detail were fantastic and we tried many of the local dishes, could not fault any of them.
The Bamboo beef was especially good but like others have said the staff make this place. Felt so welcome each time as all staff took the time to talk with you and always had a smile for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahmekyah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, and Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a relatively small intimate restaurant on the top floor the Hanoi Elegance Hotel. The food was simply amazing. You have a relatively wide variety of items from which to choose. Some western food but a fair amount of Vietnamese food. I honestly think that there is anything bad on the menu. Love the Pomelo Salad and the fish here. I had breakfast and dinner at this restaurant. The buffet style breakfast is the most elegant buffet that I have had. So much to choose from in a manner that was elegantly and tastefully presented. The view from the restaurant of Hanoi is really breathtaking. I plan to eat here again in the future when in Hanoi.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahmekyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Based upon the #4 rating in all of Hanoi, I was very excited to eat dinner at this restaurant. While I will agree that the atmosphere is great...I wasn't all that impressed with the food. The food isn't bad by any means, but the menu is limited and I have had more satisfying meals at other places in town.

I was disappointed with my experience here...perhaps my expectations were too high based upon the previous reviews. The place is fine...it certainly didn't have the 'wow' factor and I would not eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank machogrande123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OCTOBER 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a find. We arrived in Hanoi quite late and the restaurant at our hotel was closed, so we took the advice of the reception staff and went to The Gourmet cvorner at The Elegance Diamond Hotel where we managed to get a wine (finally) and something to eat. Staff very helpful and even when it started to rain we were moved under shelter. Tuan (which means good looking) and Phuc (which means good fortune) were delightful waiters and were stoked with the gifts we gave them. We became regulars and ate and drank copius amounts of wine there for the 4 nights we spent in Hanoi. Gorgeous view of the city whether on the deck or inside the restaurant. Probably one of the nicest restaurants of our trip as you could have a wide choice of traditional or western food.
Deb & Sharon

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spr0cket99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Corner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gourmet Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing