We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great view”

The Gourmet Corner Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 2,196 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the top floor of Hanoi La Siesta Diamond hotel, the Gourmet Corner restaurant boast the finest view of Hanoi from the 12th floor, overlooking Hoan Kiem Lake, the Red River and the ever-growing skyline of Hanoi. The Gourmet Corner food menu is the combination of Vietnamese and some Western favorites. Our Vietnamese food options mostly are the dishes from the North. In northern Vietnam, a colder climate limits the production and availability of spices. As a result, the foods are often less spicy than those in other regions, especially the middle part of Vietnam. Black pepper is used in place of chili as the most popular ingredient to produce spicy flavors. Also, coriander is used commonly in most dishes. In general, northern Vietnamese cuisine is not bold in any particular taste - sweet, salty, spicy, bitter, or sour. Most northern Vietnamese foods feature light and balanced flavors that result from subtle combinations of many different flavoring ingredients. PS: Please be informed that your reservation request by email will be answered within 24 working hours or later depend on our work-load at that moment. Any urgent booking request should be made through the phone call. We are sorry for any inconvenience may cause.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Cannot understand the last reviewer's negative comments as we found this restaurant to be suburb. 12th floor views across Hanoi were available to most tables, with an open air Terrace bar also available. We found the food to be very good value for money and the presentation was stunning. The service was also outstanding! Our waitress was friendly, spoke good English and was very attentive.

As a family of four with two teenagers, we chose the Gormet Corner to have our last meal in Hanoi and were pleased we did. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,317
    375
    89
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were staying at the Metropole Sofitel and wanted to have dinner in the city so we scanned reviews of places nearby and saw this restaurant with a wonderful track record of reviews. At first, unsure if we were in the right place, as soon as you exit the elevator at the top floor, you are greeted by a warm staff, and wonderful skyline views of the city (we didn't notice the outdoor deck until after dinner - great area for a sunset drink). The place is small but open which gives it an intimate feeling. Our server was very kind and the ambiance relaxed, inviting, and elegant. Great food at great prices - so Very happy we stumbled upon this gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaeAmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing views, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant as guests of the hotel below, and highly enjoyed the panorama views of the Hanoi skyline as well as the lovely fresh food. Highly recommend the spring rolls (all 3 varieties) and the beef pancakes. Snow was a wonderful waitress who provided lots of advice on basic Vietnamese words and local attractions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoombesyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great location, the food is OK, good services.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent last night in Hanoi at the gourmet corner restaurant as we stayed in the hotel where the restaurant is. The breakfast has been beyond expectation. I really enjoyed the breakfast, however the dinner was rather average.

We have been eating really good food in Hanoi, especially I enjoyed much more with the essence cafe which is same company but different restaurant.

We had a starter of pancake with rice paper that was nice but again the sauce is exactly same as other restaurant offered...no creativity.

The main was sliced beff cooked in bamboo with soup and rice. The soup was not warm at all. The beef was...not special just because it cooked in the bamboo.

My children and husband enjoyed the food. So maybe I was not so lucky, but when I was reading a menu, it did not click any food menu will be beyond expectation.

It is shame that it is a great location and good services (but again not very good, as the main course came when we are still eating the starter). But the food needs more creativity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoielegancehotel, General Manager at The Gourmet Corner Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about our restaurant on this travel site. We are very happy to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed our daily offered buffet breakfast. We will certainly share your kind compliments to our team of staffs as that would be a great encouragement for us all to work harder to better our service. Meanwhile, we are deeply concerned about your observation of the dining experience in the Hanoi Gourmet Corner Restaurant which was not as good as your previous experience at our same owned Essence Café. We will certainly look into the issues which you have kindly pointed out and improve further.

It is our great pleasure to have a little talk with you before you left our hotel. And, we highly appreciate that you have provided us a constructive comment. However, we would also like to apologize that we have not met your expectations in some areas of our services. It is our goal to ensure that each guest is having a memorable and positive experience in our restaurant and we obviously have fallen short of this goal in your case. We hope that this is just a mismatched case and do not dissuade you from coming back to our restaurant. We will certainly improve ourselves and carter the best possible service to you if we have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A little oasis of style & sophistication (price conscious need not apply)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Like other reviewers I cannot speak more highly of this little gem, with one exception: it IS NOT expensive, it is cheep for the experience you will enjoy (more on this later). My wife and I are avid foodies and spent days combing through the best Hanoi had to offer from street food to the best available. This place is our pick. The atmosphere is reminiscent of many Michelin star venues we have visited; muted lighting, million dollar views of the city skyline, attentive, knowledgable & respectful staff all backed by an open to view upbeat kitchen. Menu is a great combination of interpreted Vietnamese classics and western classics with Viet style. Wine list is simple but hits the must haves (we are new world fans so selected a white from Chile and a big red from Australia). Not sure who is the driving force behind the menu but there is clearly some well trained French influences highlighted by the perfect emulsion sources and delicate/perfectly executed desserts. Now price. I am sick and tired of reading reviews of people saying that some Asian restaurants are "expensive". If you are from the west, or any generally affluent background, expensive implies say US$150-250? We had 3 courses each, 2 bottles of wine and a cheeky third dessert for the princely sum of US$80. Yes you can eat in Hanoi for US$2-4, but how is that relevant when you are talking about a high end venue? Do yourself a favour, if you want a once in a lifetime experience whilst touring this city, visit the Gourmet Corner. Do me a favour: If you're a backpacker, retiree on a fixed income, or just tiring to do Asia on a budget then don't seek out these restaurants then complain when the bill is higher than you can get elsewhere. How much to you pay for an experience? It's not just about food costs. Even while I was there I overheard 2 groups of older Australian's (they were very Cath & Kim for those Aussies out there) complaining about the prices being expensive..... Here's a novel idea.... Perhaps you can't afford it? Anyway there it is. Thanks for reading.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Terri and simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Corner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gourmet Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing