We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Viet fusion food”
Review of Green Mango

Green Mango
Ranked #85 of 2,258 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Offers a fine-dining Asian nouvelle restaurant; the open-air patio for semi-formal dining and lounge seating is a fine alternative to 'breakfast in bed'. Our lobby replete with an exquisite bar, while the wine lounge and VIP rooms on the second floor await your intimate evenings, business dinners and special events.
Woodford, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Viet fusion food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal here, great ambience, and nice dishes blending western and vietnamese styles. In this part of the old quarter, this is the one I would come back to after trying several others about. Great wine menu with a number of wines available by the glass. Excellent service, and in Vietnam that is saying something. Loved the duck pring rolls, a real highlight.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    360
    146
    46
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Green mango restaurants = amazing dining”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

After dining at Green Mango Hoi An and enjoying the dining experience, we had to try Green Mango Hanoi. And boy, did it live up to expectation. Had the Tomato Cups and Italian Hero which were delicious. Loved the food so much we dropped by for breakfast the following morning - French toast and another serving of the Italian Hero. Staff were friendly and the service was amazing - even learnt a few new Vietnamese phrases during our visits to Green Mango! Will definite eat Gershwin when next in Vietnam!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food, nice garden view”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

only ordered fresh spring roll and grilled chicken rice and hanoi beer. both dishes are very tasty, fair price. spring roll is very simply made, but taste really good. different types of vegetable combines together well enough.

Helpful?
2 Thank queenpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paia, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We actually chose this restaurant because it was very close to our hotel (Hanoi Elegance Ruby) and we wanted something close since we had just arrived in Hanoi. We're happy that we discovered it because we had a wonderful meal with excellent service. We had a seafood Pho which was beautifully presented and delicious. We also ordered a curry that we loved too. It's a little bit pricey by Hanoi standards but we felt it was well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great apart from the steak”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate here 5 nights. The food is lovely and there is no rush between courses. Good wine selection. The outside of the restaurant does not do it justice. The staff must have been to a training session that nobody else has been to in Hanoi they are very good. We had one disappointing meal and if it was your only meal I can understand some of the poorer reviews. My husband ordered the rib eye steak and I had the filet mignon. Yes we ordered then medium we'll but they were still pink in the middle and filet is tender however you cook it. My filet was the end piece and was so tough I couldn't eat it, in fact I couldn't cut it, looked nice but was poor. My husband's rib eye was grey in colour like it was cooked on low heat no colour at all on it and was like a piece of rubber. So I recommend this restaurant but stay away from the steaks! Goats cheese starter is lovely!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank claire_marshall34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Mango also viewed

 

Been to Green Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing