We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, large modern room, excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
Ranked #70 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value, large modern room, excellent service.”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Be prepared to be a little shocked by the street RD III is on. We were scammed by a taxi and dropped at the end of the street on a very hot afternoon and thought we must be in wrong street. The hotel is on the edge of the Old Quarter but only 10 minutes walk from most attractions. Rd III quickly became a haven from the madness of Hanoi traffic and after only two nights extended our stay to cover 3 nights after return from Halong Bay.
Staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast in the tiny dining area was simple but OK. Overall for the modest tariff RD III was an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a small balcony and view over street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    98
    30
    8
    13
See reviews for
42
165
72
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Rising Dragon III was a great hotel to stay in. I had emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before myself and my boyfriend were due to depart for our trip to Vietnam. We asked if they could email a price list and the cost of a pick up from the airport (airport pick-up $15- this was great when you arrive into a new country). They did just this. They gave us 4 options, prices ranging from $45- $80 we went for the $60 room. When we arrived the staff took our bags and welcomed us with a fruit juice, while we waited to check in. We checked in for two nights (ended up staying 3 nights) Check in was quick and easy.
The room was very spacious, with a kitchenette, private bathroom and a separate bedroom with a balcony overlooking the old town.The room was very clean and we got 2 complimentary bottles of water, a bottle of wine, fruit and free internet in the room. You could avail of the mini bar of course, but like any other hotel you pay for what you take (everything in the mini bar was cheap). Breakfast was included which was tasty!

The staff were very friendly and the manager Mr Sun couldn't do enough for you.

We booked our trip to Halong Bay in the Hotel, we did look around for other offers, but we found the Hotel price reasonable and they were easy to deal with.
They also booked us onto a flight to Da nhang! They held our bags while we went on the 2 night and 3 day boat trip (recommend A Class boat trip!)

We booked a third night with the Rising Dragon III for when we came back off the boat trip. The room we wanted was not available when we arrived back, however they sent us around the corner to their sister Hotel- Rising Palace, we got up graded and for a cheaper price of $40. This room looked more modern with all the facilities, but with this room it looked like any other 3-4 star hotel room that you would get at home (not that this was a problem at all). The Rising Dragon III room gave the feeling of being in a different country- if you catch my drift- more authentic!

We were given the option to pay in US Dollars, Dong or of course credit card!

Would most definitely go back and stay in the Rising Dragon III Hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Rising Dragon III hotel. The rooms were relatively large and included a small kitchenette, and were larger than other 3 start hotels in Vietnam. The hotel was extremely well located, only a few minutes walk from the market, Lakes, shops and restaurants. The staff, and in particular the manager of the hotel, were extremely helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Given the quality of the service, the facilities and the location the hotel offered extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This is a great hotel. Close to the old quarter. Staff is really nice and helpfull and the breakfirst is good. The hotel is located in a very local street. It is a bit messy, but very safe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krsc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is a smaller hotel, where you are treated like family or friends! The staff could not do enough to help, in the most warm and gentle, genuine manner!!

They helped us buy fruit from near-by vendors so that we could get an idea of costs/value, took us personally to a tailor to ensure we got excellent quality, helped buy material, organised food for us when we arrived back late from a tour, and even brought breakfast to our room when my daughter slept late! EVERY single staff member was lovely!

Breakfast was pleantiful and tasty. The room was lovely - a real haven from the busy city, and having a free laptop and internet IN THE ROOM was a great help!!

Tours organised for us were of a very high standard and at a very reasonable cost.

Basically, Mr Son and the staff at this hotel made our visit to Hanoi, and helped us love the city!!!!

My 7 year old daughter actually cried the morning we left as she didn't want to say goodbye to her friends, and in particular Mr Son!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3G-trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Situated in the old market area - all attractions very accessible - only took between 10 & 15 minutes to walk to most areas. Service at the hotel was wonderful - air-port transfers (made no difference that our plane was 4 hours late) tour bookings arranged, very friendly staff recommending local attractions. Accommodation was great - rooms were very clean & spacious. Have no hesitation in recommending Rising Dragon 111 to any tourist visiting Hanoi.

Room Tip: Deluxe room - very spacious & comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, California
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The first night we arrived in Hanoi, Rising Dragon Hotel received us warmly into the hotel. Son, Hotel Manager, speaks well english and was able to accomodate us what we requested. He and the whole staff made us feel like we are in our own home, that's how well they served us. The price of the room was right for us and the room was well taken care of. Breakfast was great and delicious. We requested some cook rice to take with us to SAPA and the staff was able to accommodate us. Also the day we left Hanoi so early in the morning, Son and the rest of the staff were able to provide us with some breakfast. This service is beyond their call of duties and I just want to commend them for that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherTeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#128 of 586 in Hanoi
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#115 of 586 in Hanoi
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
#131 of 586 in Hanoi
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rising Dragon Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Grand Hotel
Aquarius Grand Hotel
#25 of 601 in Hanoi
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Estate Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Estate Hotel
Address: 17 Nguyen Van To St. | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Queen Ann Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Estate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is Located in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter . Rising Dragon Estate Hotel is really a good choice for foreign tourists and business travelers. Next to Hang Da market, one of the most famous markets in Hanoi, it’s very easy to get some tourism destinations as Hoan Kiem Lake, Night market, the biggest church of Hanoi and many exciting activities as walking around the Old Quarter to feel the lifestyle and culture of Vietnamese. Around Rising Dragon Estate Hotel you will discover a variety of shops, restaurants, bars and cinemas. The area is also the centre of the capital’s cultural life with a host of displays, exhibitions, shows and musical events happening at any one time. Because of its ideal location – in the middle of where everything of importance happens – it is eminently suitable for all categories of visitors, be it businessmen, tourists or families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rising Dragon Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Estate Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing