We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spa shame about ambient noise”

Hanoi La Siesta Spa 1
Ranked #3 of 146 Spas & Wellness in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With the concept of promoting Traditional Vietnamese Therapy, we are proud to give you an opportunity to immerse yourself in this enchanting treatment. La Siesta Spa offers a serene and exclusive environment for relaxing and rejuvenating therapy treatments. Our well trained and skilled therapists will leave you with another memorable experience of Vietnam, where you can experience an total holistic approach for the mind, body and spirit.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice spa shame about ambient noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our Old Hanoi 1.75 hour package. The therapists try very hard and gave a good massage which involved climbing on our backs!

Really good service and relaxing treatment but sadly this was interspersed with noise from below and coming up from stairs as guests checked into the hotel one floor below which disturbed the karma somewhat!

With some extra soundproofing it would be a far more pleasant experience or maybe they could put an additional door into the treatment rooms and reception area to give more distance and block out hotel noise

One thing I did not like was paying up front that kind of seemed at odds with the establishment

Overall though I would recommend. Treatment price was US 55 for just under two hours about a third if what we would pay at home

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minkamonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    50
    9
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High currency exchange rate!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Was looking for a decent place for massage after a week of work. Search online and finally decided to go with this recommended place. Asked for 90mins herbal incense therapy, the receptionist told me it is USD 53.55 after 15% discount.However, during payment I realized she charged in and the amount was VND 1,270,000 which is equivalent to about USD 64.00. The only explanation is they set their exchange rate at VND 21,000 per USD. And honestly, I wouldn't mind paying as the session was good and the masseuse was helpful and friendly but the principle is wrong!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Serene Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoielegancehotel, Manager at Hanoi La Siesta Spa 1, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear astute Readers,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Spa to everyone on this forum. We are happy to learn that we are able to meet your expectation with our Spa therapy. Meanwhile, we believed that there must have been a misunderstanding between us and the reviewer. We have already contacted her to clarify the incident but have yet a response from the guest. Pending on the outcome, we would like to drop few words here so that you all - the astute readers, would positively understand the story.

The guest requested for 90 minute Spa and we were happy to accommodate her inquiry. Our receptionist did quote her as said in the review (USD53.55 after 15% discount of our promotion package). Upon the check out, the guest advised that she would prefer paying by card in VN dongs. We converted the total charge of US dollars into Vietnam dongs which is equivalent to VND1,170,000 and did the transaction without a hitch. The reviewer said our exchange rate was high (USD1 = VND21,000), though we applied the same exchange rate published at www.vietcombank.com.vn. We leave this to your own judgment. More ever, the payment charged was only VND1,170,000 - NOT VND1,270,000 as per the reviewer’s statement.

We highly appreciate that the reviewer found our Spa treatment good and the masseuse was helpful and friendly. But we would disagree to be accusing of violate the principle. It is our purpose to exceed the expectation of all guests who use our services and facilities. We have been successful with this purpose and will certainly pursue this target in the upcoming time which made our properties distinguished from others in town.

We remain available for any further clarification. We are looking forward to being of you all service in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Construction in our ears!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Unfortunately, we have to rate our experience very low due to the fact that there was heavy construction going on directly next door to our room. They claimed it was outside of the spa and no, this is not their fault, but they should have warned us. For 45 min of our one-hour facial we had to listen to drilling and hammering and scraping. NOT relaxing. I would have passed on the treatment had I known construction was going on. It was not cheap. The ladies did a fine job, but if you were going in the next few days/weeks – I would ask about the construction before booking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoielegancehotel, Manager at Hanoi La Siesta Spa 1, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Readers,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our Hanoi La Siesta Spa with other travelers. Though we are disappointed ourselves for being unable to meet your expectation, I highly appreciate that you pointed out the areas that we could improve from.

I totally agreed with you that there should not be any disturbing noise once you were doing the Spa treatment. However, we must say that it was out of our control somehow – it was suddenly coming from the neighboring that morning. Should we have been aware of the noise, we had advised and changed guest’s reservation to another suitable time.

To Paris28, we owe you an apology. We wish that we would be able to talk with you in person to at least say sorry to you.

In short, we appreciate the opportunity to improve the level of service and facility at our Spa through every comment provided by each of our customers or potential new customers. Any positive comment is a great encouragement to our entire team, while any negative experience gives us the opportunity to look at our services and products and try to do better.

Thank you again and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in a near future!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Spa Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a great spa on our last day in Hanoi. Having visited several spas during our three weeks in Vietnam, La Siesta was by far the best. They even supplied us with Pho after the spa. The masseuse was sensitive, helpful and there was no "special" offers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank J0hnB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing spa package at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

One of the best spa package experience I've had. I don't remember what the package was called, but it was their complete package that included a body scrub, body treatment, relaxing body soak, massage, and facial. Package also included tea before and during the package (in between treatments as a break), and a "light" snack of a bowl of chicken or beef pho at the end. The estheticians were friendly and did their job well.

Note that the spa offers a discount for first time visitors. I also got an additional discount since I was there with two other people and we all got the same package. This made for a really affordable package!

Located in the Hanoi Elegance Diamod Hotel, a treatment at this spa was a great way to end my trip to Hanoi.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank enigmajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanoi La Siesta Spa 1 also viewed

 

Been to Hanoi La Siesta Spa 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing