We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
Ranked #61 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Hotel location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on both ends of a tour of Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. The location is wonderful in the old quarter and yes it is noisy but you are in a Hanoi, so hopefully peaceful and quiet is not in your plans. The room is an adequate size. The breakfast is also nothing fancy but filling with plenty of hot tea, coffee and juices. The staff amazingly friendly and helpful. We had a late flight out, so when we checked out, baggage storage was offered and a hot shower in a free room when we returned to freshen up before our flight.
I think previous poor ratings are mistaking a 5 star review with a five star rating. In North American terms this is likely a 2.5 star hotel but for the price and location truly worthy of five stars on trip advisor. The Ritz, it is not but a great stay option in Hanoi.
They also had the best WIFI of anywhere we stayed in our three week trip.

Room Tip: Airport pick and drop off service worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    92
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
181
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel was chosen according general rating in different travel and acommodation websites. All reviews were true. Please don't have extremly high expectations and you'll get eveything you need. The location is great - in the Old Quarter, where you can find everything you need. The loby was nice, smiling young lady, very friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and well equiped, wi-fi etc. (we've tried twice and two different rooms; ok, beds a little bit hard, but I like it). Of course the room with windows to the main street was a little bit noisy, but acceptable (it is Asia). The service was helpful there - few trips were recommended by the hotel and everything was exactly as promissed (nice day trip to Ninh Binh region and of course overnight Halong Bay cruise, highly recommended, we had a great time). We would definitely recommend Hanoi Symphony Hotel for the price we paid and service received.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitalijus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The location is great, the room is spacious enough n the kids love it very much...but the breakfast has limited choices. Nothing regret about the service because everybody is helpful there. Because of the typhoon, we missed our trip to Halong Bay, anyway the staff suggested a good place for replacement, worth it. Thanks a lot, we love our stay there n will definitely pay a visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLH241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compiegne, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel has made my trip comfortable and convenient due to the strategic location within the old quarters. 5 mins away from Hoam Kiam lake and many Hanoi local delicacies stalls like Pho around the hotel. The room is clean, equipped with wifi (excellent connection) and tv with international channels ( HBO, TLC etc). The highlight of the trip is the overnight Halong Bay cruise highly recommended by the hotel owner, we had a great time there with kayaking at the bay and squid fishing at night. Hotel owner and his staffs are another highlight for our trip as they are very helpful and sincerely provided lots of local tips for us to move around Hanoi city. We would definitely recommend Symphony Hotel for the price we paid is really worthy for such a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NhaJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

There are a lot of 5/5 reviews for Symphony hotel which led us to book it for our stop over in Hanoi. However we have found the hotel to be subpar for the price relative to other hotels in Vietnam.

Our experience was certainly not reflective of the 5 star reviews common among other travellers. The room was small, the bed was hard and the room was not very clean.

However the staff were very friendly, helpful and full of advice about tours. The location is great, just minutes walk from the lake and plenty of activity all around. The trouble is from reading the 5/5 reviews our expectations were very high and we have had cheaper hotels with more space and cleaner rooms since this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

After being unhappy with our prebooked hotel in the old quarter, we took a wander and found symphony hotel. We spoke directly with the manager, who was happy to give us a room at short notice, and organised an ugrade for the second and third night (we wanted a balcony)
Rooms are clean, nice oriental decor, small but with enough room for everything.
Location is great, right in the heart of the old quarter. I cant stress how helpful the service was, recommending everything from restaurants to spas and even our halong bay cruise (Galaxy cruise - absolutely wonderful!)
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was an excellent stay, good kind service, pleasant area, comfortable room, nice breakfast. The staff was very helpful, smiling and kind. I certainly recommend this hotel, also because it is situated very well, in the heart of Hoan Kiem district.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#53 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Moon Suite Hotel&travel
0.1 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#39 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#55 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#34 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Symphony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Symphony Hotel

Property: Hanoi Symphony Hotel
Address: 01 Hang Hom street, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 84-4-3938 1788, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Symphony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Symphony Hotel is situated in Hanoi's historic Old Quarter, a 5 minute walk from scenic Hoan Kiem Lake and the Opera House. It offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi. Air-conditioned rooms at Hanoi Symphony feature satellite TV and an in-room safe. A refrigerator and hairdryer are also provided. The Hanoi Symphony Hotel has travel desk to help guests with trip planning. There is a business center available and laundry service is provided. Guests wishing to eat in can do so at the Hanoi Symphony's restaurant and cafe. Hanoi Symphony Hotel is 10 minute walk from Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and Van Mieu. It is approximately a 40-minute drive from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Symphony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing