We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Food”
Review of Kangaroo Cafe

Kangaroo Cafe
Ranked #112 of 2,239 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Vietnamese, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1994, The REAL Kangaroo Cafe (TM) has been providing great food, drinks & reasonably priced tours for singles, couples, families & small groups. At the Real Kangaroo Cafe (TM) we serve Vietnamese, Vegetarian & Western food & all at local prices. Our famous Hamburgers, Mugs (not eye baths) of Tea & Coffee (with real milk too) & the coldest beer in Viet Nam have always proven to be popular with our guests. We come in for some grief here on TA sometimes but you'll notice that it's always from a new breed of tourist, the ones with no cameras. It's a recent phenomena called astroturfing & we wish there was a lot more done to get rid of these fake posters. The best way to tell a fake post is that they're recently joined, post no pics or videos & almost no real info. You'll find our Mob here at the cafe to be fun, helpful & decent too & we really do look forward to meeting you in Ha Noi.
Toronto
Level Contributor
739 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We ate two meals here. One evening we had some local dishes, while the second night we returned to have burgers. The food was O.K., nothing special. The Vietnamese dished were not any better than in many other restaurants and the hamburgers were dry. The service was excellent though and we enjoyed sitting on the second floor overlooking the street below. However, they certainly have attitude and are quite preachy about being nice to their staff and only accepting Dongs even though the dollar is accepted and is the preferred currency everywhere in Vietnam. On the second evening we visited their toilet which was overflowing and makes one wonder about their level of hygiene. There are many other restaurants in the area that offer better selection and value.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    107
    21
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food but not much choice”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Would have liked a little more choice on menu but what we ate was nice. Very friendly helpful staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaddy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Horrible Encounter”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I had the unfortunate experience of meeting the Aussie owner of this place last week. I had been unwell with gastro (but the street food had been delicious and well worth it!) and desperately needed the loo. I called in the the cafe and asked to use bathroom whilst my friend was ordering a coffee. The owner came out and stated that toilets were for customers use only. I explained that my friend was ordering, but he was really quite aggressive, repeatedly stating that the toilets were only for customers. I tried to explain again, and my friend even offered to pay for me to use the toilet whilst she ordered! In the end we left as he was so unpleasant - it was a real shock as throughout our trip to Vietnam everyone had been so kind and pleasant. His cafe was empty and he lost out on our drinks order all through his mean attitude. AVOID!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EnglishAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RealKangarooCafe, Owner at Kangaroo Cafe, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
What actually happened was that I overheard you two & your remark about "don't listen to her just make her tell you where the toilets are"

You were both surprised to see me & started stuttering about using the toilet.

You didn't order anything & yes our toilets are for our customers & we make no apology for that.

Had you not have as rude to my staff it might have been different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
598 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“There are a number of Kangaroo cafes, and one original”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

After a long morning walking in the heat of Hanoi stumbled across Kangaroo restaurant/cafe and struck up conversation with owner Max Hart, ex-pat Aussie. Interesting guy with interesting stories to tell. Wall is cafe is covered in articles about Maxs' life and travel photos of VN which adds to the atmosphere.

We sampled the baguetts and beer, and a couple of salads, well presented and recommended.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

we stumbled on this on our 1st day in the mad city. they serve very good westeren and local food.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Cafe also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 
 

Been to Kangaroo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing