We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good experience!!!”
Review of Vega Travel

Vega Travel
Ranked #4 of 837 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vega Travel really become a truly tour operator, a reliable destination address to ensure your lasting unforgetable experiences in Vietnam. Well trained for sustainable eco-tourism industry and years of traveling, tour guiding experiences and abilities to read tourists’ thought to fulfill their expectation at root and roof regarding the young or the old tourist or eventhough hard to please. Working for three - dimentional target, Vega Travel ’s tour operators trendingly organise your relaxing, incentive trips especially new short and round discovery tours, create your enjoyment at strange lands in pristine nature and basical traditional culture, sustain and light the local destinations up!
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not good experience!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We did the Hoa Lu – Tam Coc tour with Vega Travel, First of all the price was really expencive 80 USD/pax for one day tour, I thought that the price was proportional to the quality of the tour, but it was not the case. The guide didn't speak a good english and he was not well informed, the tour was poorly and the restaurant where we ate was the worst in the whole vietnam. I don't recommend this tour if you have more time you can organize the tour by yourself. You can economize a lot of money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Rosanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,677
    183
    29
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is okay”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I couldn't compare Vega Travel to another travel agency, so it is really hard to tell wheater the standards of the service was enough good or not. The thing is, that Halong Bay is really amazing, so you will be extremly happy after the tour in some way or another.
What I can tell, that we couldn't see a ship in the bay AT ALL, which is on the pictures in every travel agency, Every boat is the same and is at the bad shape. Don't have high hopes about the ship!
The rooms were not clean - but i think this is the situation with the other boats, because there are a lot of tourists come every day to see Halong Bay.
The food were the worst that I have ever tasted in my journey in Vietnam. The drinks ( e.g. water, beer) are extreamly expensive, bring some water with you!!!!!!!!
But the tour guide was really great, share lots of info. about the vietnamese people, and we had one hour kayaking tour, which was the best thing in my life. Above all, we allowed to kayaking more alone,.. If you want to kayaking alone I warn you, you can lost very easily , it happend to us,... but it was so much fun. Summing up everything: the accomodation was bad, the kayaking was good, and the memories is great.
i think 2 days trip is best choice to see Halong Bay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quality for Money”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My family (2 adults, 2 kids) had two great experiences with the agency. First we went to Sapa, then Halong Bay. Both journeys were well planned and great executed by the company.
They two guides we had were fluently in english and had a overall great knowledge about the areas and Vietnam in general.
Sapa: we had a private tour since our youngstes is 4, the guide delt fine whit our pace, and showed us interesting things along the way. The hotel Vega use in Sapa has a fantastic breakfast and large bedrooms.
Halong Bay: Vega has their own boat with a capacity for max 16, which make a fine intimate atmosphere. The food on the boat is super. And in general the agency has an impressive ability to logistic (bus meet boat, boat meets minor boat meets knaoes etc.)
I think the agency is own by three partners, where at least two of them also are involved in the operation eg. take turns as guide, sit at the office even clean windows at their office in Old Town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinBille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“well organized with great guides”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we are a family of 5 who have recenty done the bac ha market/sapa trek and the 3day/2night halong bay trip both thru vega travel. Sapa was the highlight of Vietnam for us. The market was amazing and the overnight trek was challenging but such a great experience. The local women were a great help with the girls especially in the steep slippery sections of the trek and we didn't mind buying souveneirs off them at all. Scenery was spectacular, hotel we stayed in at Sapa was great as was the homestay. Kong, our guide is who made the trip though. Great with English, funny and cheeky... Would definately recommend this trip. Halong bay was also terrific..
Hotel in CatBa very flash with great views from balcony. Beach is quite nice too and only 5 minute walk from hotel. Our trip had to be modified due to stormy weather and our guide did his best to make sure we didnt miss out on anything. Food on boat was delicious and plentiful.
We stayed at Vega/Nova hotel before, inbetween and after trips and the staff we very friendly and helpful. It was great to get early check in from overnight Sapa train. Thanks Viet and team.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel1552251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good tour company”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked both a Ha Long Bay Tour and a Sapa Trekking Tour with Vega. The people at the office were very, friendly, took time to explain the itineraries and let us store our luggage in an upstairs room while we were away. Both tours were organized very well and both times we had nice guides who spoke good English and seemed to enjoy answering everybody's questions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wout F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vega Travel also viewed

 

Been to Vega Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing