We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #36 of 341 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed in this hostel over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our experience here. We arrived in the early hours of the morning but were able to sit in the rooftop bar with free tea and coffee until our beds were available. We were staying in an 8 bed mixed dorm which was comfortable and practical. There were 4 bunk beds in the room and each occupant had their own locker big enough for a large rucksack, underneath the beds. The bathroom had a big shower and there was always hot water. The beds were really comfortable with big duvets, small tables and bedside lamps. There was free internet in the reception area and Candy and David were more than helpful with booking tours and onward travel - their English was excellent. The location was about a 10 minute walk to the lake and main attractions. Whilst there we left for a few days to go to Halong Bay and it was no problem to keep our luggage at the hostel while we were away. Overall, I would recommend this hostel to backpackers on a budget wanting clean, comfortable and modern accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    62
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
45
110
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

This was the most amazing place we have stayed in. We have been traveling for 3 months with 10 to go and Candy and Mike could not have been more helpful, they were beyond amazing. It was beyond the best place we have stayed, in South east Asia. Thanks again so much Candy and Mike for everything!

Alysha and Keaton

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lysh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

I never write reviews for the places I stay but I have been so impressed with this particular hostel that I needed to write one.I have travelled one month in China & one week in Vietnam so far and the customer service in this hostel has been the best. Candy & Mike have been so helpful on booking tours to Sapa & Halong Bay & giving advice & tips about travelling around Vietnam. They have travelled around Vietnam & taken the tours themselves so they know firsthand by experience on what's it like unlike some other hostels. But the customer service is where they excel. Little nice touches like letting me check out late cause they had room when I had to wait around to board a train later in the day. A towel ready for a shower & coffee made when I arrived early coming back from Sapa cause I didn't have a room booked as I was leaving the same night. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kato1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

There are lots of "Hanoi Hostels" out there, so just for clarification, this is one at 91C Hang Ma Street in the Hoan Kiem District of Hanoi.

The owners, Mike and Candy, are travelers themselves and this is demonstrated in their attention to all the little details that travelers need in both facility and services. The hostel is kept very clean, each bunk in the gender separated dorm rooms has secure storage, a little shelf to store things, a personal light and an ensuite bathroom.

This hostel also has a lovely private room. They put me in this room at no extra charge the night I arrived super late so as not to wake the other guests which tells you a little more about their thoughtfulness.

In addition to the rooms, the hostel has a small kitchen and upper patio dining area, to computers with internet in the lobby, reliable and fast wifi throughout, and goods for purchase like drinks, toiletries, etc.

The real highlight of this place are Mike and Candy. They are awesome hosts. They can arrange your day trips to Sapa, Halong Bay and elsewhere, purchase your tickets, recommend authentic restaurants nearby for the best Vietnamese food, and are also just fabulous people to chat with (I believe they both speak English, Vietnamese, French, and a little Chinese).

I definitely will stay here next time I visit Hanoi and I recommend you check out this little gem too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

I've been living in Hanoi for two months doing volunteer work. In the first month of my stay I was moving from hostel to hostel while I looked for a reasonably priced room to rent in a house. I stayed in 3 different hostels in Hanoi's Old Quarter and this hostel is BY FAR the best. Everything about it is great.
The young Vietnamese couple who owns Hanoi Hostel (Mike and Candy) are so sweet. They go above and beyond to make your stay as smooth and comfortable as possible. They help you with directions, visas, finding good restaurants and shopping, and they'll find you the cheapest rates for any tour (Sapa, Halong Bay, Cat Ba Island, Perfume Pagoda, Hoi An, etc).
I was planning a trip to Halong Bay one weekend with a friend and I went to Candy to book it. She told me to wait to buy my ticket because she heard there was a typhoon coming to the coast. So I waited and everyday Candy sent me an email or a text message to update me on the typhoons' direction. After two days she called me to say the typhoon was heading towards China so I was safe to book my Halong Bay trip. =) It was so nice. Most tour agents wouldn't say a word about a typhoon and just sell you the trip to earn the commission. Candy really made sure my money wasn't wasted on a rainy Halong Bay.

Plus, they make sure the rooms in the hostel are cleaned everyday; you always have plenty of toilet paper, an empty trash can, and clean sheets...sounds pretty simple, but you'd be surprised what kind of service you get in other hostels.
The breakfast/bar is on the roof and is a great place to chill out. Its open all day with free tea. I loved to sit up there and read a book or work on my computer. Its so bright and peaceful.
If you're traveling to Hanoi, you should definitely stay at Hanoi Hostel. Tell Candy and Mike I said 'Hi'. Maybe they'll give you a free beer.... Just kidding. You'll get that even if you don't tell them I sent you. ;)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephanieMMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

When i first arrived to the strange and very unfamiliar city of Hanoi i prebooked 3 nights at this hostel, having no expectations at all... But Candy and Mike (the couple that own the place) invited me with open hands and hearts to their hostel and helped me with absolutely every thing.. I wanted to do my tours to Sapa, Ha Long Bay and Ninh Binh as cheap as possible and they really helped a lot with everything from Visa, airport pickup to trains tickets..
The hostel is clean, brand new, comfortable beds, cheap (5$), safe, maybe the best shower i had in Vietnam, very nice top floor for relaxing and reading (and drinking beers).
strongly recommend this place to everyone who is looking for a cheap and nice place to stay in Hanoi

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjjdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I stayed for 27 nights... and for a reason! I felt so sad to leave. I wish I could live there.
It's SO CLEAN. The sink,toilet, and shower are all separated.. which I find to be pretty rare in Asia for a cheap accommodation. The bathroom and rooms are cleaned every morning. A day is never skipped.
It's very secure.. you get a large locker under your bed and at night the doors of the hostel are locked. They only let in guests who stay there. I have never felt unsafe leaving my valuables in the room or coming back late at night.
It's location in the Old Quarter is perfect. It's a 10 minute walk to Ho Hoan Kiem. Within that ten minute walk you'll find tons of shopping and food and bars.
There are many local bus stops nearby also.
The owners are a young Vietnamese couple who speak English very well. It's a small hostel so they are familiar with everyone who stays there.
They are EXTREMELY helpful and knowledgeable about everything.
They also offer the best prices on Tours throughout Vietnam in comparison to other places who book the same tours.
Anyways, highly recommended, nothing negative to say at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolntruong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nexy Hostel
Nexy Hostel
#14 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#6 of 341 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 341 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#20 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Property: Hanoi Hostel
Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 341 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing