We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best kind of hostel/dorm experience.”
Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #39 of 384 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the best kind of hostel/dorm experience.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

perfect hostel for you solo travels stopping in Hanoi. i found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms and beds were sufficiently clean, and the "happy hour" lends itself to being a great place to meet other travelers. it's not a party hostel like i hear the Backpacker Hostels are, but on a friday night i found a handful of people to go out to some bars with me. the only tough part was related to the location. i found it hard to find places to eat around here. there were street food spots but i find street food tricky when you dont eat meat! it's really not that far to find food but not really within a 5 min radius.

Room Tip: the wifi router is right outside the mixed dorm, so strongest service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    62
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
44
112
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nice stay and location. I stayed in Hang Ma and the rooms were big and clean. The staff is really friendly. They had a helpful attitude when I had an accident and really worried about me.
Lan Anh, the girl in the front desk, is one of the most helpful staff I've ever meet. They have the cheapest price in activities also. The hostel is not full of people and is not that noisy and social as others, but I recommend it anyway!.
The breakfast is okay, but the woman who prepared it is sooo unfriendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiorella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed there 4 nights, got mixed up with the dates I booked but they quickly sorted out for me, very helpful staff, printed out a boarding pass for me too. Great free Vietnamese coffee and decent breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days and loved it! The staff is very friendly and provide good advice on trips to halong and sapa (and decent prices for trips!) rooms are very nice with each bed having a lamp and outlet. $5 for a free breakfast and all day tea and coffee, can't beat that!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

For me Hanoi Hostel was a perfect place for my stay in this chaotic city. I liked the very friendly staff who helped me with everything. They supplied me with information, fotocopies for my china visa, bus tickets and many many smiles. Then there is a pleasant rooftop terrace where you meet all the travellers for the 6 a clock gratis beers. And the beds are comfi as well as the warm shower!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank guidocx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been here for 3 nights. Great position: near everything; kind and professional staff, clean rooms!! They have also arranged for us a trip to Ha long Bay and it has been a wonderful esperience. Excellent quality\prize.

Raccomandato a tutti!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

First of all, there are 2 Hanoi Hostels, so double check where youre staying at although both are just a street away from each other. My gf and I stayed at Hang Vai in a 8-bed mixed dorm.

The good:
+Very cheap
+Free beer (only in Hang Ma though, and beer is dirt cheap in Vietnam anw)
+Good location (its in the old quarter, a few hundred meters north of hoan kiem lake)
+Lockers provided under bunk beds and beside each bed
+Surprisingly one of the best beds I slept in throughout Vietnam. Clean and very comfortable!
+Staff were helpful and arranged for our pre-dawn taxi to the airport for us
+Breakfast was made to order

The bad:
-One of the guests in our dorm lost cash. Despite locking the dorm door before leaving, someone had gone through her bags.
-Hostel was quite old and run down tbh but I guess you get what you pay for. Lockers were dusty and some were broken.
-The dorm's attached bathroom was quite dirty, but worse, the shower was no good. You could only choose to have hot water or strong water pressure, but not both at the same time. Quite a dilemma during our stay in winter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bluebell
Hotel Bluebell
#50 of 384 in Hanoi
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#21 of 384 in Hanoi
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nexy Hostel
Nexy Hostel
#11 of 384 in Hanoi
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#14 of 384 in Hanoi
1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.5 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 384 in Hanoi
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Property: Hanoi Hostel
Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 384 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing