We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mega helpful, cheap, free breakfast, free beer!”
Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #38 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mega helpful, cheap, free breakfast, free beer!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We found Hanoi Hostel while in Ho Chi Minh City as we needed somebody to pick up our bags (which we would post to Hanoi), and Candy from Hanoi Hostel was happy to help. We arrived in Hanoi Hostel yesterday with our bags waiting for us (a month after posting) and were greeted with happy smiles and a free breakfast. The dorms are really nice and cheap, with good air conditioning and free breakfast. One of the two hostels has free beer from 6pm - 7pm also on their rooftop bar... can't be bad :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    62
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
45
112
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I certainly had a good stay at Hanoi Hostel, the staff were kind and friendly the beds comfortable and I enjoyed the breakfasts (included) and the free beer happy hour in the bar. All in all a very good value hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Life, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The trip started when we took a mini bus from hanoi airport to the city and took a random taxi from where the bus dropped us off, we showed him the address and asked how much it would be, and he said meter! meter! So I thought, okay, meter, it should be okay, so we got in the taxi, then it was my gf that realized that he was driving around in circles (we researched that it would cost no more than 40,000 dong), when we got to the hostel the meter said 100,000 dongs, yes, one hundred thousand dongs, I was wondering why there's a number on the meter that was ticking like crazy when during the ride (later I looked closely it was the distance meter, a 2km ride from his taxi it was like almost 10 km, they jibbed the meter so it was going Michael Schumacher style!), so we got the desk staff at the hostel to help us argue with the driver (the staff said the driver was very aggressive, I think I could be more aggressive though), then we settled for 50,000 dongs (still very overpriced). Thanks the staff for that!!

The staff showed us our room on the third floor, private room, it wasn't the newest, but quite cozy and comfortable, one double bed and one single bed (so two of us used the single to put out luggages), there's a sky well when you look out the big window, so we could hear the other floors, but it wasn't loud so it was alright, we had a tv and air con (coldddd), wifi on the first floor, free beer at happy hour everyday, free breakfast on the top floor, nothing much to complain, can also buy water on the first floor, would visit again if in Vietnam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

They have 2 hostels. At the moment nr.1 is better option. Heard that dorm in nr2 was dirtier and the rooftop bar there was under construction. Dorms in #1 have aircon and are clean. Rooftop bar serves free beer from 6-7pm. Staff is very friendly and overall it was an excellent stay.

Sleep quality rating is down, because the propaganda sounds starting on the streets at 6am.
Dorm beds were smallish for a 2m guy

Room Tip: hostel #1 at hang ma street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaagup T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The highlights of our stay here would be the interaction with their hostel staff and friendly backpackers. Before we arrived in Hanoi, the communication with their manager was smooth. Ms. Candy helped offered options like tours and accommodation. We availed their airport service pick-up since we will be arriving almost midnight. However, there was a little mix-up with the number of passengers for a 4-person car. There were three clients picked up but I guess we were all expecting not to be transported together or with other passengers. We still paid $18 for a mini-van with three other passengers. In the end, we were all transported to our booked hostels/hotels. The dorm room has 6 beds and a toilet/bathroom inside. They could improve the maintenance of the toilet/bathroom through regular cleaning and inspection of the bulbs and water system like the shower.
Breakfast was regularly served with fruits in season and 4 slices of bread with omelette. There was also coffee, tea, and bread spread like butter and fruit jam.
The staff at the reception area was very helpful in providing as maps and directions to the areas we wanted to go to. In our experience, even with directions and the map, we still got lost because the streets of the old quarter was probably designed to help you appreciate old architecture and interact with locals by getting lost and asking help in finding your way.
We felt at home in our hostel because of the company we were in even without the other hotel-ish services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying here on 2 separate occasions over the past year and a half and couldn't recommend it more highly! The rooms are very clean and huge and the dorms are great too! I did a ha long bay trip through here (I have done a tour through another place also) and it was great, everything they promised they delivered (which can be hard to find). The drinks prices here are cheap too. But the best thing about this place is one of the girls that works here, her name is Candy Tep and she is a legend and now a good friend of mine! She has excellent English and is very helpful whether it comes to cheap street eateries (definitely ask her for recommendations) or places to see and she is very funny!! I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place to anyone :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Hanoi Hostel 2 for four nights. (3min walk from Hanoi Hostel 1.)
We can only write positive things:
- very friendly and helpful staff (they book everything very qiuckly for you, if you ask them (scooter, train tix, taxi...)
- big double bed rooms with aircon & fan and clean attached bathroom
- fast and well working wifi and three computers
- tour arrangements are great and low price (halong bay/monkey islands 3d/2n!) [we met people booking in other famous backpackers, who payed for 2d/1n the same price as we did for our 3d/2n trip]
- breakfast is good for the price you pay (omelete, toast, fresh fruits, tea, coffee, homemade jam, butter)
- you get free beer (bia hoi) every evening from 6-7pm
We would really go there again and recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#194 of 586 in Hanoi
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bluebell
Hotel Bluebell
#51 of 367 in Hanoi
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#10 of 601 in Hanoi
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#12 of 367 in Hanoi
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Property: Hanoi Hostel
Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing