We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine people, very helpful, great stay!”
Review of Hanoi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #39 of 362 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Genuine people, very helpful, great stay!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted with a huge smile and they knew us by name when we walked through the door. Actually they greeted us that way every time we spoke! They were excellent and very patient with directions!

They offer tours and those are advertised on the walls but not once were we asked to buy one.

Great location! 10 minutes from the lake. We were in room 203 and had perfect full service wifi. The owner (I assume he owns it) is awesome and loves getting to know his customers... He speaks great English and so does the rest of the staff and he is fluent in French.

Huge yummy breakfast every morning! Fuel for the day!

Awesome stay! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyindandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    62
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
45
110
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saluda, North Carolina
Level Contributor
288 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hanoi Hostel as well as the two trips we booked through them (City Tour and Halong Bay). The price was definitely right at $15 a night for a private room with AC, cable TV, free wifi (computers in the lobby as well), and a minibar! (But no bathtub as it says on the website.) The price also included breakfast, which was watermelon, a banana, tea, and coffee and then either eggs and toast with butter and banana jam or ramen noodles. Candy and some of the staff members were really helpful while others seemed clueless and need better training. (I told them our toilet was broken twice and it was never fixed; eventually my boyfriend fixed it.) Also they lock up the hostel around 11pm so if you want to get in after that you have to bang on the metal doors! They never told us they locked up either; it would have been nice to know that before going out for the night. At the Hang Ma hostel they have a nightly happy hour with free beer. We only went once because there was only one other person there when we did. In fact, the hostel seemed quite dead and we never saw very many people at all. There isn’t really a good common area for people to hang out in. But I hope more people will stay at Hanoi Hostel in the future as it has a lot of potential.
For photos check out http://growninsouthernground.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/hanoi-hostel-hang-vai/.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iselynjenniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked the private family room 2months before my Vietnam trip, and started e-mail with Candy, the owner of this hostel, she always answered my questions patiently and very detail .

Finally we book both sapa and halong bay trip here, overall are quite good for the trip.

Candy&Mike are really really helpful, they always tell us where we can eat the delicious food, where we can exchange the dollar. And all the staff in the hostel are friendly.

Overall, really a excellent hostel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a great hostel on the fringe of old town (Hang Vai location). We had a huge double room on the second floor with big ensuite bathroom, tv, air con, window, all for $15/night. Breakfast was included and consisted of eggs, toast, fruit, tea/coffee. We also booked our Halong Bay tour with them, the delux boat, and it was amazing. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Stay here!

Room Tip: The double on the second floor is good, forth floor has lots of stairs, but is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great location in the heart of the old quarter. Lots of street side restaurants nearby, cell phone shop across the road that sells top up cards, and a cute street cafe across the road with amazing Vietnamese coffee and strawberry iced tea! Must try! The staff were incredibly friendly, allowing us to check in at 9am, store our bags there and use their facilities even after we checked out and waited for our 7pm train. They helped with taxis, orientation, and finding restaurants.

They had three computers in the lobby for internet and skype. And free beer between 6 and 7. The staff were really friendly and interested in our travels. Rooms were clean, looked after, good bedding, and HUGE lockers beneath the beds. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

For me this wasn’t a hostel… it is just a home away from home in central Hanoi… Mr Mike and Candy all their staff like family members…when I arrived there in the morning I told Mr Mike about my duration of stay and intended places to visit and left for the city solo tour.... when I came back in the evening there is a printout of all my tour programmes with full details..,Halong Bay , Perfume pagoda, Sapa, Bac Ha market etc etc.. and I enjoyed every bit of it above my expectation… and even they guided me for some other interesting places to visit nearby which r not in my list or unknown to me..….Mr Mike and Candy and their efficient and energetic young staff are ready to help at any time in any matter…hostel is .very clean and comfortable..nice breakfast..….for me it was a wonderful experience ( comparing with some bad experience in some other places ) and next time my choice will be Hanoi hostel without any hesitation… …in fact missing the Hanoi hostel…keep up the good work Mr mike and Candy…hope to see u all soon…

Room Tip: i stayed in a dorm...beds r strong , good support and not crying when move around while sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed there twice, at both addresses and in three different rooms... I can say without a doubt that this was my most favourite place to stay in Vietnam! Thank you Candy, Mike, and all your wonderful staff for making our stay(s) most enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justsopresentable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nexy Hostel
Nexy Hostel
#12 of 362 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 362 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#8 of 362 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 362 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#21 of 362 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hostel

Property: Hanoi Hostel
Address: 91C Hang Ma Street | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 362 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are HANOI HOSTEL 91C HANG MA STR. The best hostel in hanoi. We get CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENT IN 2012, 2013, 2014. You will have:• Free breakfast• Free Wireless internet connection• Free Hanoi city Maps & advice• Free Coffee & Tea all day• Free Luggage storage• Free individual lockers & locks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing