We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost the same view as Halong Bay”

Hoa Lu - Tam Coc Day Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour to Hoa Lu and Tam Coc from Hanoi
Ranked #119 of 824 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tam Coc Tours has gained much experience in the field of international and domestic travel. With dynamic, enthusiastic, extensively experienced and multilingual staff, such as English, French and Chinese, we are always willing to help our clients in all circumstances and urgent cases. With an enthusiastic and professional service style, we would like to bring special tour programs to customers from the hearts of our tour operators and staff. We are committed to providing services of the highest quality to customers and ensuring that customers experience satisfaction and unforgettable moments when traveling with us.Established in Ha Noi, now Tam Coc Tours has a network of travel agents, both domestic and international, which ensure quality service and competitive prices. Tam Coc Tours will continue to satisfy the wide range of customer requirements and contribute to the diversification and development of the tourism industry in Viet Nam and Indochina. Our mission is to present the history, cultural relics and beauty of Vietnam and Indochina to international friends as well as to introduce world culture to Vietnamese people. We will continue to enhance our status in the travel market, both domestic and international.Why travel with us ? “We know Because we go”
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“almost the same view as Halong Bay”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

the only selling point / attraction of this place is the lake. The view looks similar with Halong bay. we were taking a sampan ride (2 persons) to tour around the lake (2 hours). the sampan lady stopped aside and asking us to buy souvenirs (which were double the price from the night market of Old Quarters). we refused to buy and her face totally changed.

at the end of the ride, we gave her 50k Dong and she was asking for more. we just paid said no to her.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PuiKuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    118
    43
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Halong Bay on Land.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Book a private tour from your hotel if you can. It may be a little bit more but the comfort of a private car, driver and tour guide is worth it. Interesting drive from Hanoi along the main road which in some places is under repair (common for Vietnam with a stop/ start policy) and very bumpy. First stop is Hoa Lu which was the sight of the first capital of Vietnam. Visitors wander around a small temple complex which has images of the first king inside. What is more interesting is the short walk to the village outside which gives you a very good insight on simple village life and hardworking Vietnamese farmers. You will see the women doing the hard labouring tasks while the men may be drinking coffee. From here it is a short drive to Ninh Binh where you will have lunch and catch the boat. (Take lunch first to avoid the crowds on the river. Also in the afternoon the rowers and river sale people are less aggressive in trying to sell you their products.) You then take a one and a half hour trip down the river viewing spectacular scenery and rice paddy fields. If the river is low you get to go through all 3 caves. After the final cave you can experience some hassle to buy drinks or embroidered souvenirs but if you don't want be firm in saying no. At the end the rower will ask for a tip ( 3 to 4 dollars is sufficient) and if you are wise you will pass this over once you have stepped out of the boat. A nice day out showing some spectacular scenery and lovely Vietnamese people.

Helpful?
5 Thank borneogeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Booked a private tour with Tonkin Travel, prompt reply to your emails and very reasonable price too compared to some other agencies. Can also top up US$5 for a chinese speaking guide. The 1.5hr sampan ride on the Tam Coc river would be very nice if you do not have to constantly dodged those people on other boats trying to take a snapshot of you in order to harass you to buy when you arrive back at the harbour. You will also be harassed at the end of the river before turning back to buy drinks and Oreo. I was advised by my tour guide to give about 20,000dong per rower as tips. 10mins before arriving back at the harbour, the rower will ask you for tips which I think it's so unreasonable and seems like you will not be left alone if you refused to give any tips. Gave 1 of the 2 rowers 50,000dong for the 2 of them and he said I have to give another note to the other rower. Left with no choice, I gave another 20,000dong to the other rower who ended up giving her money to the other rower, so what does he meant by me having to give another note to the other if he ended up pocketing all 70,000dong? Hence, my advice is to give 20,000dong each and not a 50,000 note. When you arrived back at the harbour, the photographers will be all ready to pester you till you buy the photos they had taken of you. My tour guide did nothing to stop them and the 10mins walk back to our van was followed by all these photographers. This is a real tourist trap, so if the government is not going to stop all these touting, I would advise all to avoid this place, not worth the time spent to go all the way there and ended up having a bad experience due to all these unpleasant touts.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank SmurfSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good day with Sinh Tourist”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

At first our guide wanted to change the tour´s program and show us some "beautiful pagoda" instead. We defended Hoa Lu and it was beautiful. Restored but long ago enough to have the climate of being authentic. For the best experience one should read a bit to know who are the figures on the temples´s altars and what was the purpose of the buildings. Next stop was the lunch which was a generous, delicious buffé by the boat station at Tam Coc. The boat tour was very nice. The experience was not even spoiled by the rainy, foggy weather. Yes, here as well you are supposed to buy some unnecessary souvenirs, pay some soda for the rower, leave the tip for him and his "assistant". Go now; they are building a huge boat station... The most difficult part was the road. According to our iPhone it was another road of much better standard
going parallel. Maybe it will be open when You are there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Tam Coc and Average Hoa Lu”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Tam Coc is a must go place.. I would definitely rate this well above Halong bay.. its so much more quiet and remote and peaceful.. Although there are a lot of boats playing this river, these are only row boats.. The locals here are so skilled at rowing that they are extremely efficient, in ROWING WITH THEIR FEET..!! Its amazing to see their skill at rowing these boats with nothing but their feet.. They take you through some natural tunnels, which is an amazing experience.. The natural valley formed between mountain ranges on either side is very scenic..

On the other hand, the temples at Hoa Lu are very average.. Nothing extra ordinary about these temples and so there is not much for me to write about these..

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AshwinGBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoa Lu - Tam Coc Day Tour also viewed

Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
 

Been to Hoa Lu - Tam Coc Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing