We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere...but”

Old Hanoi Restaurant
Ranked #176 of 2,196 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere...but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to this hotel primarily because of its exposure from Gordon Ramsey's cooking show. The place was beautiful and relaxing and away from the noise and bustle of the old district. The service was attentive and immediate but not in keeping with the reputation of the restaurant - for example, there seemed to be some dispute of who was serving us and the person who eventually got the task broke of in the middle of our order to attend to someone else. The prices were quite high and the food was unfortunately not as good as we had eaten elsewhere for MUCH cheaper. We kept having to remind ourselves that this place had rave reviews and Ramsey's seal of approval. Although the experience was OK, I would not return - there are plenty of other restaurants which are not so fancy with better food - unless of course you don't like mixing with the locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhysw552016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    39
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate here before getting on the overnight train to Hue - and it set us up nicely! The meal was varied and the flavours were delicious, and it was very reasonably priced. That may however have been because the fuse tripped and we were sat in candlelight with no air con! Either way it was a great meal and the staff coped admirably with the setback...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie273_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I traveled to Vietnam in Feb 2012 (I have made if review late so I could only select May 2012) and my sister booked a cooking class at Old Hanoi restaurant. The place was a little hard to find, and as we had booked this outside our tour we had to make our own way to the restaurant. Once we arrived we got a hot drink and sat outside waiting for our instructor. The cooking class was excellent, we did 4 dishes from scratch and there was so much food I could barely walk out of there. We tried and tested some classic Vietnamese cuisine and were provided a recipe booklet to follow during the class. This was a private class which cost $40 each. This included the cooking class with all ingredients and a visit to the local markets to view the ingredients that is used in the recipes.

Recipes were easy to follow and our instructor was very patient with us. There was a slight language barrier but we got through the class easy enough. Also the class was taken outside, so it was a bit cold outside but that wasn't too much of an issue as we were cooking and eating to keep warm.

Highly recommend this restaurant and cooking class.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked this cooking class through our travel agent Buffalo Tours, and it was the best cooking class we did in Vietnam. Very hands on and it also includes a tour of the local street market.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved the food and atmosphere, had great food there. Service not bad as well. Good choices of food. Recommend it to anybody wanting good food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Msamelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hanoi Restaurant also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Old Hanoi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing