We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cooking class”

Old Hanoi Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 2,257 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great cooking class”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked this cooking class through our travel agent Buffalo Tours, and it was the best cooking class we did in Vietnam. Very hands on and it also includes a tour of the local street market.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    41
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved the food and atmosphere, had great food there. Service not bad as well. Good choices of food. Recommend it to anybody wanting good food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Msamelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Greta Dining”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This After a long day of touring, we needed a good meal. We were not disappointed with the Old Hanoi Restaurant.: The setting was great it looked like an old French Villa during the French stay in that city, with , what I suspect, the decor with the period furniture this added to the atmosphere. We had a seven course meal, with the highlight being the rice pancakes with gilled pork and the deep friend prawns. The service was excellent with the grace that I expected. It was a great experience and I would not hesitate to go back at the drop of a hat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Potential is there...”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stopped in to enquire about a cooking class and saw a picture of Gordon Ramsey and was immediately interested. It was also quite cheap @$45 vs. $50-$70 at other places. I decided to have a mid afternoon snack since I just arrived from Halong Bay. I had some sort of sprig rolls which were delicious, but then had some ginger chicken which left much to be desired. I returned the next day for the cooking course. We cooked outside in the gorgeous courtyard and had a wonderful instructor. She was great and very sweet. Our food came out delicious so if we can do it in a few hours the place must be good. Ultimately, I think that your experience will vary and may be determined by who prepares your food. The Gordon Ramsey connection is exaggerated, but I still think its worth a visit and recommend the cooking course 100%

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattman808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Really??? I would not want my name associated with this place!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

First, we were a group 7 people with a reservation. They seated us in a "private" room where the decoration was all but below average. The chairs were beaten and very uncomfortable and, the room was dirty. It was cold in Hanoi that night and the room had no heating so they tried to bring some comfort with a portable heater. The menus were dirty, stained and breaking down. The food was ok, the famous Gordon Ramsey ribs were not impressive and not good. My friend ordered praws to share, it came it out to be a single prawn! And to top it all, a cat was walking around the room during the entire dinner, and urinated on the floor next to our table. Good thing we were done eating by the time it happened. So why would Gordon have his name associated with this establishment is a mystery for me!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hanoi Restaurant also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Old Hanoi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing